$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopaholic
Business
Brussels, belgium
May 29, 2012

Mother/daughter shopping trip

Situation of hotel is perfect for shopping trip in oxford street and indeed for visiting central london. If the personal touch is what you are looking for then this hotel is not for you. Rooms are very simply decorated but the hotel lobby is really amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St christopher's place not far from hotel with all types of restaurants and bars notably Carluccio's italian resto/deli.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tientienwoo
Business
Shanghai, China
Nov 26, 2012

Awesome location if you're not looking for something fancy

The rooms aren't huge, but they are clean and comfortable. The staff that I encountered were all friendly and helpful. The restaurant downstairs is often overlooked but the food is fantastic and the place apparently has quite a reputation amongst locals due to the previous chef who was somewhat of a celebrity but the new chef does not disappoint. Both my appetizer and main were excellent, and I am quite an experienced diner. The hotel's location is hard to beat, right next to the Marble Arch tube stop (Central Line) and minutes away from the Bond Street stop (Jubilee Line) as well as tons of shopping and Selfridges, the huge British department with beautiful window displays and quality wares. As I said in the title, it's not a fancy, luxe hotel but I'd stay here again for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss eating at the Rhodes W1 Restaurant, it is as good as any destination dining experience.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior111
Business
Ireland
Dec 15, 2012

Business Trip

My one complaint is with breakfast. Normal Price is £18.95 , which is expensive unless you are getting something special , and you are not. They do a special voucher which they give you at check-in for £11.95 . This appears to be somewhat random. I was offered the voucher once and had to ask for the vouchers the other two times. My complaint about breakfast , sis that for something that they want to charge £18.95 , it just is not that special. They have all the facilities and correct ingredients , but cannot execute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Jan 14, 2013

positive overall experience

The locatiion is fantastic, the rooms are cleaned everyday and the staff are very pleasant. I've stayed at this hotel several times before and always have a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aviator9161
Business
surrey
Mar 9, 2013

good convenient business base

good value for money without missing anything. (as a recommendation, they could change their showers with flexible hoses). otherwise no problems, good wi-fi access all around. extremely helpful and considerate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAFH
Business
West Sussex
Mar 9, 2013

Theatre trip

Check in time was 3pm but we arrived very early and alllowed into our room at 12.30 which was nice giving us a chance to have a rest before hitting Oxford Street, having a meal and going to the Palladium. In room service was good albeit expensive. Room was very nice and bed very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat nearby, All the big stores in Oxford Street, easy communications for getting around London via Taxi, bus or train

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repojay
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 10, 2013

Good value and location

Very simple hotel that was clean, nice and very centrally located. A solid deal in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Girls
Business
Denver, Colo
Apr 1, 2013

2 grandmothers and a granddaughter!

Cumberland has a fantastic location, next to the underground, bus stops and tour bus pick up points. Many restaurants and shopping nearby. There was a.breakfast special during our stay which made that option more financially possible. It was excellent and a very nice way to start the day. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be accommodating . Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spaghetti House was right around the corner from the hotel and provided a very local and warm and inviting experience. Quiet , comfortable and very delicious! We saw a few other spaghetti houses throughout London so it must be a chain. It certainly did not feel like one! xoxo

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eythor Jonsson
Business
Iceland
Apr 16, 2013

great Hotel

We were six guys together in a three room, come to see football and have party. The staff was nice and the rooms good . Bar downstairs was also very good lot of people where. We met people from all countries talked much with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ianphillip
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 24, 2013

Very stylish & comfortable

I love the electic style of the hotel, from the lobby to the headboards in the room that pick-up on the neighborhood architecture. My room was very comfortable, with great matress and linens; I slept incredibly well. Assuming the price is the same, I would definitely stay here next time I am in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top