$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
121 reviews
great location!!!!

Its the second time we have stayed here and it has always been great and would look at staying... See full review

  • happy xox
  • Dec 15, 2014
A nice Hotel

Clean room, courteous staff and friendly staff Location is near tourist area. No need to buy ticket... See full review

  • Jobyn Mystery girl
  • Dec 1, 2014
Hyde Park hotel featuring cutting edge modern design
The Cumberland Hotel entices travelers with state-of-the-art accommodations and amenities, striking decor and luxurious ambiance set near London's historic and cultural attractions. This business-friendly hotel offers a variety of meeting spaces ? from the Ocean Room, an event room that can seat up to 350 people, to 25 other fully-equipped conference rooms. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access, limousine transfer and room service are also available for convenience.

Vacationers savor British cuisine with a twist at The Brasserie, or experience a more intimate dining at the private dining room. Cooked to order meals are available at The Market. On evenings, patrons can unwind with drinks at Carbon Bar or Momentus Champagne Bar. 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Original sculptures, artworks and paintings in hotel interior
  • A stunning large conference venue plus 25 meeting and event rooms
  • Club Lounge with Wi-Fi access, refreshments and canapes 
The Cumberland Hotel Rooms
All rooms, apartments and suites at The Cumberland Hotel are tastefully decorated with elegant furnishing and double-glazed windows, each individual in design and ambience. Guests in all units enjoy use of an iPad while in the hotel. The stylish air-conditioned spaces offer heated bathroom mirrors or walk-in shower, flat-screen TV, work desk, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access. Apartments have guest bathroom, bedroom, dining area and kitchen.
Things To Do
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Handel House Museum (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Selfridges (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Madame Tussauds London (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Wellington Arch (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Royal Parks (0.7 km/1.1 km)
  • The National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Wigmore Hall (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Spencer House (1.3 mi/2.7 km)
  • Berkeley Square Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cumberland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Cumberland Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 89 spacious Executive King rooms at The Cumberland hotel are larger than our Standard Bedrooms and bring you the added comfort of a king-sized bed, with thick, soft mattresses. Extras also include complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Single Room
We have 65 Standard Single rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard single rooms offer a single bed. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Double Room
We have 513 Standard Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk Space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Twin Room
We have 170 Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses. Rooms have very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, 32" LCD televisions, Desk Space and Egyptian linen. Standard Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Double Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 65 Executive Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel bring you the added comfort of being more spacious than our Standard bedrooms and include complimentary bottles of water, Guoman bathrobes and slippers, access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury Guoman toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Executive Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin Room
Larger than our Standard Bedrooms, our spacious Executive Twin rooms provide a comfortable retreat at the end of a busy day's shopping, sightseeing or business in the capital. Facilities include complimentary bottles of water, our luxurious bathrobe and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. We have 86 Executive Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses, complimentary cabled internet access and a 32" flat-screen TV. Executive Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.9 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • University of London: 1.2 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's premier venues for business meetings and other events. With their own private entrance and lift access, our meetings and events facilities are completely separate from the rest of the hotel, but share its striking design and impeccable service standards. Close to Hyde Park, The Cumberland Hotel is also a magnificent setting for weddings - two of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events that seek to impress and inspire.

Dining

The Momentus Champagne Bar
The Momentus Champagne Bar is the place to be in W1. Step from Oxford Street into the contemporary new bar, where high ceilings accentuate the stylish purple furnishings. As youd imagine, this bar has a special ambiance: laid-back and sultry, yet full of life and colour. The perfect setting for after work, pre-dinner or late into the night drinks. Something you could definitely develop a taste for.
Carbon Bar
A unique blend of heavy-industrial decor with West end style and sophistication gives this place a sultry ambiance. Music is provided by our own and guest DJ's, who've headlined at clubs across London and Ibiza.
The Brasserie at The Cumberland
Defined by its relaxed, informal setting, The Brasserie serves a menu of European classics with a distinctly British twist. Drop in for lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to our legendary Sunday Roast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacey the Traveler
Business
Gainesville, Georgia
Dec 28, 2013

Great view, worst experience

The best part about The Cumberland was the view of Oxford Street from our window. Sadly, that is where the good ended. I booked an Executive King but ended up with a very small double. After sleeping on the small bed for a few days, we both had really sore backs. We pulled the covers off and discovered the mattress had been flipped to the wrong side because there were stains on the side you are supposed to sleep on. Staff was extremely rude to us. I was basically called a liar by one of the managers because I decided to extend my stay a few extra days. But the woman that I told I wanted to stay a few more days only booked me for one day. When our key didn't work the next day is when I was sent to the manager and he wanted to know what proof I had that I paid and to give him the name of the woman I told I wanted to stay with, then started speaking to me like I was a lying idiot. The woman from the night before only fixed my keys and didn't give me paperwork. We were finally able to pay for more nights and able to stay but I have never been treated so badly. I was also charged 14% on my card when I was only supposed to be charged 3% for international fees. While the view was nice and it was right next to Oxford Street and the Marble Arch, I will no longer be going anywhere near this hotel again. I also wanted to note that my card locked because of them when he finally allowed us to pay for the nights we wanted in the first place, so with it being locked, my fiance put the room on his card for the 2 extra days. So I spent the money after my card unlocked thinking I had it. Several days after we left the hotel, suddenly the money was taken off my card for the 2 extra days, so we thought we had been charged twice for those extra days. We have to wait for his statement to see if we were charged twice since my card was first declined due to it being locked. We ended up extending our stay for another week, but we went to a different hotel where we were treated much better and much less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk into Soho, many roads of theaters if you enjoy plays or musicals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overbooked
Business
cyprus
May 5, 2014

steer clear.

I've stayed here once before and it was not great but I decided to give them another chance. I travel for business a lot so I've experienced some great and terrible service in Hotels. This is, hands down, my worst experience in a hotel ever. I arrived around midnight for my 3 day stay to be told that the hotel was over booked. I was told that they would try and get me in to another hotel in area as soon as possible. The trouble was that there was at least 20 very irate people in front of me that had also been overbooked and i was last in the queue. I tried to book into somewhere else but most hotels in London were fully booked. I had no option but to wait on the Hotel to find somewhere for me. 2 hours later they finally did. never ever ever again! I could go on about the weak apology and poor service thereafter but let me cut to the chase: There are much better hotels in the area, do yourself a favour and stay in one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 25, 2011

Bizarre and awful

This was honestly one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. Everything was designed to be so artsy and fancy that nothing actually *worked*. The fancy shower door didn't close all the way. The fancy sink splashed everywhere and didn't provide area to put anything. The fancy lit-up paintings in the room had bad bulbs that clicked and flashed. The reception area was enormous and had such bad acoustics you couldn't hear someone if they were talking next to you. The wifi didn't extend into the room (you had to sit by the door) and wasn't very iPhone/iPad friendly. If I wasn't paying for it, the experience would have been so bad as to be comical. I would be remiss if I did not admit that the room was clean and well kept, and had all the basic amenities you would want (including a fridge!), and the staff was polite and friendly. But everything else was just so bizarre and difficult that it was a terrible night's stay. I'm sorry to be so harsh, but I would never return to this hotel, nor recommend it to anyone. They tried to be so fancy that they overlooked the basic human experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doctorrich
Business
New York City
May 26, 2009

A closet size room - Never again

We were at the Cumberland 3 years ago booked via Hotel dot com and we were very happy. That is why we booked Cumberland again but this time thru Orbitz. The room was the size of a closet not even close to the room we had last time. The original room they assigned us was on the first floor looking out to an alley. We asked to change the room and we were given the same size room but on the 5th floor. The room was so small you couldnt walk around the bed. One side of this mini-full size bed was against the wall. There was no dresser or draws to put your clothes so we lived out of our suitcases. The mattress was so soft we never got a restful nights sleep. We were told we got the room we paid for thru Orbitz. Most mornings at 630 am we would be woken up the the trash collection. The thing good about the hotel was the location, next to the Marble Arch underground. The people at the front desk were not not friendly or helpful. They just didnt care and they would do nothing to help a repeat guest. My wife and I will never stay at the Cumberland again and we will think twice next time using Orbitz to book our hotel. With Orbitz low rates = a room you would never sleep in! we deserve a refund from Orbitz!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 13, 2009

Overprice, bad service and really dirty

The hotel lobby is very nice and unique. The restaurant food is very good and reasonable. Unfortunately, I have to wait 1 hour for checked-in. They couldn't find the reservation from Orbitz.The room, the hallway and the carpet are so dirty.They don't have enough time to do room cleaning daily. I make a phone call, and the hotel charged me GBP 10 per minute. I never have this expensive charge in other hotels in UK. This will be my first and last to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angles, ca
May 4, 2009

Not the best place to stay

The rate thru Cheaptickets got us a very small room with interior building view which was bad. They nickel and dime u on everything. The staff not friendly and they hung up on me when I call to confirm my reservation prior to travel. They wash the hallway carpets everyday with odors and chemical vapor throughout the day which put my allergies in overdrive. Location is great, close to everything. Corner Coffee shop is great place to get a coffee, sandwiches and hook on free internet. The site staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny123
Business
Orange County,Ca
Aug 13, 2011

Disappointed

The only good thing about the hotel was the location as it was very close to Marble Arch Tube Station which was very convenient. The lobby was nice but the rooms are very small and there were spider webs in a corner. The hotel is non-smoking but we continually smelled cigarette smoke coming from somewhere and saw numerous cigarette butts on the floor outside our window. Mentioned it to staff but it was never cleaned up. The shower "door" is not really a door but is more of a half wall that does not cover the entire length ofthe shower. Therefore water continually splashed onto the floor causing us to place a towel on the floor every time we showered. Disappointed in the hotel and would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The vicar
Business
Kuala lumpur
Feb 28, 2012

Disappointing

Exec rooms are in a separate building. Advised at check in that better to walk outside down the street to go to room. Good location but service was inefficient and at times annoying. Nothing special. I return to London in three weeks and will not be returning here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JosieT
Business
Dublin
Mar 26, 2013

Not for the family - not very spacious

Whilst the hotel itself was in a great location and on entry to the hotel I was impressed by the lovely aromas and spacious lobby. However, when I got to my two rooms which I had booked for two adults and two children which were emphasized as two ladies with two children I was extremely disappointed. The rooms themselves could only be classed as single rooms given the size of the bed to be shared between two people. Even if you were there is a couple you would find the room and beds very small. In the end we had to arrange for a third room with the two adults having a room each and the two children sharing a room. I also contacted the hotel in advance to explain the situation and sent an e-mail and specifically requested that our rooms be beside each other. Whilst they were on the same corridor they were not next door to each other. When a third room was deemed as required that room was on another floor entirely. Overall we were disappointed with the hotel itself despite it being an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Silky1
Business
Surrey
Apr 24, 2013

Very disappointed

We arrived the weekend of the London marathon and had a room on the 2nd, 3rd and 8th floor. The room on the 2nd floor was very small and at night the nightclub carbon had music blaring which made it hard to sleep. The room on the 3rd floor was ok but very hot and the windows wouldn't open so very stuffy as air con wasn't working. Room on the 8th floor was tiny and hadn't been cleaned properly. It had used cups and glasses with drink still in them and toilet was blocked. We all left being very disappointed after paying over £600 for 6 of us to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top