$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2014 Check-out: May 19, 2014

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
92 reviews
A Perfect Stay for a Perfect Vacation

The staff allowed me to check in early and were always friendly and professional. Clean and... See full review

  • postCynical
  • Dec 29, 2013
Fantastic Weekend Stay

I stayed at The Cumberland for two nights while I was staying in London. The Hotel offered me... See full review

  • Espana Explorer22
  • Nov 10, 2013
The Cumberland is a perfect base from which to discover London's unique heritage. Many places consider themselves "the heart of London", but we have a stronger claim than most, Park Lane, Oxford Street, Mayfair - some of the capital's most illustrious addresses are right our doorstep. 1019 bedrooms including mini suites, apartments and special access rooms, each containing unique works of art. Each of our bedrooms has thick comfortable mattresses, pure Egyptian cotton bed linen, sumptuous bathrobes and 32-inch LCD satellite television. Electronically coded safes are available in every room, which can store a laptop. The Cumberland Hotel has a Non Smoking policy throughout the entire hotel.

The Cumberland Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 89 spacious Executive King rooms at The Cumberland hotel are larger than our Standard Bedrooms and bring you the added comfort of a king-sized bed, with thick, soft mattresses. Extras also include complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Single Room
We have 65 Standard Single rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard single rooms offer a single bed. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Double Room
We have 513 Standard Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk Space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Twin Room
We have 170 Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses. Rooms have very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, 32" LCD televisions, Desk Space and Egyptian linen. Standard Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Double Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 65 Executive Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel bring you the added comfort of being more spacious than our Standard bedrooms and include complimentary bottles of water, Guoman bathrobes and slippers, access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury Guoman toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Executive Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin Room
Larger than our Standard Bedrooms, our spacious Executive Twin rooms provide a comfortable retreat at the end of a busy day's shopping, sightseeing or business in the capital. Facilities include complimentary bottles of water, our luxurious bathrobe and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. We have 86 Executive Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses, complimentary cabled internet access and a 32" flat-screen TV. Executive Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cumberland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.514 -0.159
Area served
London
Nearby airports
International Airport Heathrow- 17.5 miles Domestic Airport City Airport 10.5 miles Closest Public Transport Marble Arch Tube station.
Area description
You'll find The Cumberland Hotel on Oxford Street, with its incomparable shopping, meets Park Lane, one of the most glamorous streets in London. Hyde Park is just across the road, while Marble Arch Tube station - one stop on the Central Line from Bond Street - is right next door to the hotel, putting Piccadilly Circus, the West End and London's wealth of attractions within easy reach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.9 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • University of London: 1.2 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's premier venues for business meetings and other events. With their own private entrance and lift access, our meetings and events facilities are completely separate from the rest of the hotel, but share its striking design and impeccable service standards. Close to Hyde Park, The Cumberland Hotel is also a magnificent setting for weddings - two of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events that seek to impress and inspire.

Dining

The Momentus Champagne Bar
The Momentus Champagne Bar is the place to be in W1. Step from Oxford Street into the contemporary new bar, where high ceilings accentuate the stylish purple furnishings. As youd imagine, this bar has a special ambiance: laid-back and sultry, yet full of life and colour. The perfect setting for after work, pre-dinner or late into the night drinks. Something you could definitely develop a taste for.
Carbon Bar
A unique blend of heavy-industrial decor with West end style and sophistication gives this place a sultry ambiance. Music is provided by our own and guest DJ's, who've headlined at clubs across London and Ibiza.
The Brasserie at The Cumberland
Defined by its relaxed, informal setting, The Brasserie serves a menu of European classics with a distinctly British twist. Drop in for lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to our legendary Sunday Roast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
nearlyabasketballwife
Pasadena, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

in comparison to all the other expensive hotels in London, this was a great steal for a high class hotel. the room was small but really modern and nice and you are so close to everything we were never any the room anyways. not enough to pay attention to the size. the cumberland is where i will stay if i end up in that part of london again. and it is literally right next to the tube station too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Switzerland
Mar 28, 2011

Great Location

Really great location, just around the corner from the tube, close to the oxford st shops, a nice restaurant lounge/restaurant. The room was a bit on the small side, but the shower was large and everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DESIGN GURU
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Mar 11, 2011

The Cumberland Hotel

since I traveled often for business on my last job, I remembered the affordability of the Cumberland Hotel. It has a spacious ,trendy lobby with a pleasant,somewhat uniformed staff.[...] when we arrived at the hotel--there were no bellman around(which acually made the cab driver infuriated). My boss and I hauled our own bags throuhout the hotel and when we arraived at the reception desk, the information the staff printed was incorrect.Luckily I printed a copy of our bookings ,as they were confirmed ,even though they had the wrong information. It wasn't untill I produced those documents that the desk clerk made an effort to speak with his manager, before we we checked in.The rooms was clean and neat (small) but very comfortable.I have noticed that on my last stays , the concierge staff seems to feel they are doing me a favor,if iI ask for something.Overall, this stay wasn't as good as previous ones--but everyone is allowed a bad day.Since working out is essential when one travels, i feel that there fitness area needs improvement--i.e. more benches, more varied weights and better cardio machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

an affordable and satisfying meal is across the road at the "Spaghetti House" which I always assumed was alow end restaurant.I was pleasantly surprised.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location, BAD Customer Service

This hotel was located in a GREAT area. That is about all I have to say positive about the Hotel. First off, they entered the wrong dates of my reservation and so they said I was to check-out a day earlier than what I booked! They then proceeded to barge into my Hotel Room WITHOUT KNOCKING, as I was changing! I had the door bolted and a "Do NOT Disturb" sign on the door. They walked RIGHT INTO MY ROOM WITHOUT KNOCKIG asking me if I was checking out! No privacy, and VERY unprofessional. After I told the front desk what happened, they did not offer any comps....they just did not care. Most of the staff was rude; however, they were helpful getting transportation at the entrance to the hotel. The room service was quick, yet the food was terrible. The W Rhodes restaurant on site was fantastic! Best French food I had while in London, and excellent service. Rooms are VERY small. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Jon
Whitstable
Dec 2, 2010

Fantastic public areas- rooms disappoint

Great location next to Marble Arch Tube, and very impressive public areas - modern with a lot of art and design. Bars and restaurants impress (Rhodes W1 has a michelin star!). Being such a large hotel (1000 rooms) in a prime location it gets very busy - so check-in and breakfast service can be very hectic. Unfortunately the rooms do not match the public areas - despite the multi-million pound refurbishment of this hotel, the room we stayed in (a deluxe double) only had a basic makeover - it was a little shabby and the room was pretty small. Overall, it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 17, 2010

Artistic Modern Hotel

Lobby was very artistic and clean. Elevators small and slow. Close to subway lines and restaurants. Rooms were great for a couple or individual. Orbit representative put me by the wrong subway line so I had to walk 1.5 miles to hotel from where I was supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Norwalk CT
Aug 30, 2009

Hotel cumberland Unbeatable location

Thhe hotel's decor was different but interesting - very, very modern with strange statues and lighting. The staff was extrememly nice and very helpul. We were able to make all our bookings through them. Great with giving us directions to the various sites. Housekeeping was very good as well. We encountered no problems. If we called they were very prompt to respond to whatever we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in the area.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 13, 2009

Overprice, bad service and really dirty

The hotel lobby is very nice and unique. The restaurant food is very good and reasonable. Unfortunately, I have to wait 1 hour for checked-in. They couldn't find the reservation from Orbitz.The room, the hallway and the carpet are so dirty.They don't have enough time to do room cleaning daily. I make a phone call, and the hotel charged me GBP 10 per minute. I never have this expensive charge in other hotels in UK. This will be my first and last to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New York City
Jul 9, 2009

The Cumberland

Went to Wimbledon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Phoenix
Jun 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This was a wonderful hotel as far as location for the price. They should have, however, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
doctorrich
New York City
May 26, 2009

A closet size room - Never again

We were at the Cumberland 3 years ago booked via Hotel dot com and we were very happy. That is why we booked Cumberland again but this time thru Orbitz. The room was the size of a closet not even close to the room we had last time. The original room they assigned us was on the first floor looking out to an alley. We asked to change the room and we were given the same size room but on the 5th floor. The room was so small you couldnt walk around the bed. One side of this mini-full size bed was against the wall. There was no dresser or draws to put your clothes so we lived out of our suitcases. The mattress was so soft we never got a restful nights sleep. We were told we got the room we paid for thru Orbitz. Most mornings at 630 am we would be woken up the the trash collection. The thing good about the hotel was the location, next to the Marble Arch underground. The people at the front desk were not not friendly or helpful. They just didnt care and they would do nothing to help a repeat guest. My wife and I will never stay at the Cumberland again and we will think twice next time using Orbitz to book our hotel. With Orbitz low rates = a room you would never sleep in! we deserve a refund from Orbitz!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top