$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PKB Travels
Delano, Ca
Jul 9, 2012

Awesome hotel

My experience at the Cumberland was amazing. Friendly staff, clean, and close to the underground. I will stay here on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ianphillip
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 24, 2013

Very stylish & comfortable

I love the electic style of the hotel, from the lobby to the headboards in the room that pick-up on the neighborhood architecture. My room was very comfortable, with great matress and linens; I slept incredibly well. Assuming the price is the same, I would definitely stay here next time I am in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eythor Jonsson
Business
Iceland
Apr 16, 2013

great Hotel

We were six guys together in a three room, come to see football and have party. The staff was nice and the rooms good . Bar downstairs was also very good lot of people where. We met people from all countries talked much with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie D
Business
Suffolk
Apr 7, 2013

Great for shopping

Good location for shopping. Helpful staff, great breakfast choice, 2nd time we have stayed and will use this hotel again. Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal situation for all the main shops

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JonnyNi
Business
N.Ireland
Apr 2, 2013

Highly recommended

Was worried after reading a few negative reviews. But I'm so glad I decided to come here on our break in London. The location is fantastic right beside marble arch station. Great access to the central line underground. The hotel staff and cleaning stuff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent cant really fault this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Girls
Business
Denver, Colo
Apr 1, 2013

2 grandmothers and a granddaughter!

Cumberland has a fantastic location, next to the underground, bus stops and tour bus pick up points. Many restaurants and shopping nearby. There was a.breakfast special during our stay which made that option more financially possible. It was excellent and a very nice way to start the day. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be accommodating . Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spaghetti House was right around the corner from the hotel and provided a very local and warm and inviting experience. Quiet , comfortable and very delicious! We saw a few other spaghetti houses throughout London so it must be a chain. It certainly did not feel like one! xoxo

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JosieT
Business
Dublin
Mar 26, 2013

Not for the family - not very spacious

Whilst the hotel itself was in a great location and on entry to the hotel I was impressed by the lovely aromas and spacious lobby. However, when I got to my two rooms which I had booked for two adults and two children which were emphasized as two ladies with two children I was extremely disappointed. The rooms themselves could only be classed as single rooms given the size of the bed to be shared between two people. Even if you were there is a couple you would find the room and beds very small. In the end we had to arrange for a third room with the two adults having a room each and the two children sharing a room. I also contacted the hotel in advance to explain the situation and sent an e-mail and specifically requested that our rooms be beside each other. Whilst they were on the same corridor they were not next door to each other. When a third room was deemed as required that room was on another floor entirely. Overall we were disappointed with the hotel itself despite it being an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repojay
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 10, 2013

Good value and location

Very simple hotel that was clean, nice and very centrally located. A solid deal in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aviator9161
Business
surrey
Mar 9, 2013

good convenient business base

good value for money without missing anything. (as a recommendation, they could change their showers with flexible hoses). otherwise no problems, good wi-fi access all around. extremely helpful and considerate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAFH
Business
West Sussex
Mar 9, 2013

Theatre trip

Check in time was 3pm but we arrived very early and alllowed into our room at 12.30 which was nice giving us a chance to have a rest before hitting Oxford Street, having a meal and going to the Palladium. In room service was good albeit expensive. Room was very nice and bed very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat nearby, All the big stores in Oxford Street, easy communications for getting around London via Taxi, bus or train

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzyknights
Business
Norwich
Jan 22, 2013

Loud Nightclub in hotel???

The location of the hotel for the west end was perfect. Hyde park is opposite too which was an added bonus However the thing that will make me not go back again was the noise from the nightclub situated in the hotel We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the music until 3am. We are both not light sleepers but the noise was so loud. We even put the room heating on in the hope that it would drown out the noise Informed the receptionist the next day and she had nothing to say about the matter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top