$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aviator9161
Business
surrey
Mar 9, 2013

good convenient business base

good value for money without missing anything. (as a recommendation, they could change their showers with flexible hoses). otherwise no problems, good wi-fi access all around. extremely helpful and considerate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAFH
Business
West Sussex
Mar 9, 2013

Theatre trip

Check in time was 3pm but we arrived very early and alllowed into our room at 12.30 which was nice giving us a chance to have a rest before hitting Oxford Street, having a meal and going to the Palladium. In room service was good albeit expensive. Room was very nice and bed very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat nearby, All the big stores in Oxford Street, easy communications for getting around London via Taxi, bus or train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzyknights
Business
Norwich
Jan 22, 2013

Loud Nightclub in hotel???

The location of the hotel for the west end was perfect. Hyde park is opposite too which was an added bonus However the thing that will make me not go back again was the noise from the nightclub situated in the hotel We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the music until 3am. We are both not light sleepers but the noise was so loud. We even put the room heating on in the hope that it would drown out the noise Informed the receptionist the next day and she had nothing to say about the matter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Jan 14, 2013

positive overall experience

The locatiion is fantastic, the rooms are cleaned everyday and the staff are very pleasant. I've stayed at this hotel several times before and always have a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paigeH
Business
WY
Jan 9, 2013

Small with bad internet connection

The room is small for US standards, but ordinary for UK standards. They prommiss free Wifi, but when the signal wasn't strong enough in my room the only option they offered was to talk to the internet company myself. After 2 minutes on hold I decided my vacation should not be spent fixing my internet. I already get enough of that when I am home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
View
Business
Rabat, Morocco
Jan 6, 2013

Room size

We where given the smallest and most basic room available. There is no real discount as such. You get what you pay for. Next visit I will book with the metropole hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior111
Business
Ireland
Dec 15, 2012

Business Trip

My one complaint is with breakfast. Normal Price is £18.95 , which is expensive unless you are getting something special , and you are not. They do a special voucher which they give you at check-in for £11.95 . This appears to be somewhat random. I was offered the voucher once and had to ask for the vouchers the other two times. My complaint about breakfast , sis that for something that they want to charge £18.95 , it just is not that special. They have all the facilities and correct ingredients , but cannot execute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nearlyabasketballwife
Business
Pasadena, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

in comparison to all the other expensive hotels in London, this was a great steal for a high class hotel. the room was small but really modern and nice and you are so close to everything we were never any the room anyways. not enough to pay attention to the size. the cumberland is where i will stay if i end up in that part of london again. and it is literally right next to the tube station too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tientienwoo
Business
Shanghai, China
Nov 26, 2012

Awesome location if you're not looking for something fancy

The rooms aren't huge, but they are clean and comfortable. The staff that I encountered were all friendly and helpful. The restaurant downstairs is often overlooked but the food is fantastic and the place apparently has quite a reputation amongst locals due to the previous chef who was somewhat of a celebrity but the new chef does not disappoint. Both my appetizer and main were excellent, and I am quite an experienced diner. The hotel's location is hard to beat, right next to the Marble Arch tube stop (Central Line) and minutes away from the Bond Street stop (Jubilee Line) as well as tons of shopping and Selfridges, the huge British department with beautiful window displays and quality wares. As I said in the title, it's not a fancy, luxe hotel but I'd stay here again for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss eating at the Rhodes W1 Restaurant, it is as good as any destination dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior111
Business
Ireland
Nov 12, 2012

Business Trip

Like many Road Warriors , the amount of time you spend in your hotel is very small relative to over all cost. There are some things that are very important to make that time worth the investment in my opinion, 1) Good Bed 2) Good Shower 3) Free/Reasonable WIFI 4) Good Breakfast. The Cumberland scores well in all of the above except breakfast . They have a great layout and variety, but the hot breakfast was very disappointing . Other than that great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top