$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JonnyNi
Business
N.Ireland
Apr 2, 2013

Highly recommended

Was worried after reading a few negative reviews. But I'm so glad I decided to come here on our break in London. The location is fantastic right beside marble arch station. Great access to the central line underground. The hotel staff and cleaning stuff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent cant really fault this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Girls
Business
Denver, Colo
Apr 1, 2013

2 grandmothers and a granddaughter!

Cumberland has a fantastic location, next to the underground, bus stops and tour bus pick up points. Many restaurants and shopping nearby. There was a.breakfast special during our stay which made that option more financially possible. It was excellent and a very nice way to start the day. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be accommodating . Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spaghetti House was right around the corner from the hotel and provided a very local and warm and inviting experience. Quiet , comfortable and very delicious! We saw a few other spaghetti houses throughout London so it must be a chain. It certainly did not feel like one! xoxo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JosieT
Business
Dublin
Mar 26, 2013

Not for the family - not very spacious

Whilst the hotel itself was in a great location and on entry to the hotel I was impressed by the lovely aromas and spacious lobby. However, when I got to my two rooms which I had booked for two adults and two children which were emphasized as two ladies with two children I was extremely disappointed. The rooms themselves could only be classed as single rooms given the size of the bed to be shared between two people. Even if you were there is a couple you would find the room and beds very small. In the end we had to arrange for a third room with the two adults having a room each and the two children sharing a room. I also contacted the hotel in advance to explain the situation and sent an e-mail and specifically requested that our rooms be beside each other. Whilst they were on the same corridor they were not next door to each other. When a third room was deemed as required that room was on another floor entirely. Overall we were disappointed with the hotel itself despite it being an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repojay
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 10, 2013

Good value and location

Very simple hotel that was clean, nice and very centrally located. A solid deal in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aviator9161
Business
surrey
Mar 9, 2013

good convenient business base

good value for money without missing anything. (as a recommendation, they could change their showers with flexible hoses). otherwise no problems, good wi-fi access all around. extremely helpful and considerate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAFH
Business
West Sussex
Mar 9, 2013

Theatre trip

Check in time was 3pm but we arrived very early and alllowed into our room at 12.30 which was nice giving us a chance to have a rest before hitting Oxford Street, having a meal and going to the Palladium. In room service was good albeit expensive. Room was very nice and bed very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat nearby, All the big stores in Oxford Street, easy communications for getting around London via Taxi, bus or train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzyknights
Business
Norwich
Jan 22, 2013

Loud Nightclub in hotel???

The location of the hotel for the west end was perfect. Hyde park is opposite too which was an added bonus However the thing that will make me not go back again was the noise from the nightclub situated in the hotel We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the music until 3am. We are both not light sleepers but the noise was so loud. We even put the room heating on in the hope that it would drown out the noise Informed the receptionist the next day and she had nothing to say about the matter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Jan 14, 2013

positive overall experience

The locatiion is fantastic, the rooms are cleaned everyday and the staff are very pleasant. I've stayed at this hotel several times before and always have a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paigeH
Business
WY
Jan 9, 2013

Small with bad internet connection

The room is small for US standards, but ordinary for UK standards. They prommiss free Wifi, but when the signal wasn't strong enough in my room the only option they offered was to talk to the internet company myself. After 2 minutes on hold I decided my vacation should not be spent fixing my internet. I already get enough of that when I am home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
View
Business
Rabat, Morocco
Jan 6, 2013

Room size

We where given the smallest and most basic room available. There is no real discount as such. You get what you pay for. Next visit I will book with the metropole hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top