$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plympe
Couples
athens, greece
Nov 3, 2013

good buy

excellent location, clean and modern rooms (the executive rooms) but quite small with adequate facilities though not sthg extraordinary. In general good value for money considering London hotel prices. Staff helpful. Tube station 10 meters away, oxford street perfect shopping location, good choice for firstcomer in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish ladies
Friends
Ireland
Oct 29, 2013

Amazing!

After reading some of the reviews most people were saying that the rooms were small but we didn't think that at all. Myself and my friend (2 girls mid 20's) stayed for 2 nights in a standard twin room and we had so much space! So clean, beds were so comfy, bathroom perfect! The hotel is right next door to the Marble Arch Tube Station, such a brilliant location for everything from shopping to site seeing! The only thing that was a bit much, we didn't book B&B and it did cost £37.90 for breakfast for the 2 of us but it was so worth it! The hotel in a whole is so clean and the staff are just brilliant! We are coming back to London around Christmas and will most definitely be booking The Cumberland Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJLopez
Couples
Buenos Aires
Oct 1, 2013

Excellent location and very comfortable hotel

After a first night where we were assigned a very bad room, we changed and everything went more than OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francee
Single
Florida
Sep 17, 2013

Great Location, Great Service

Picked this hotel for its location. Near Oxford Street shops, tube entrance and numerous bus stops. Really enjoyed the service at the hotel and ate several times at their restaurant which was especially good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegDC
Family
Washington, DC
Aug 1, 2013

steps to the tube and taxis always available

While our room is small by US standards, it was enough space for our week in London. The staff were professional, courteous, and helpful. We loved the location -- many food options within a few blocks (and a couple in the hotel for when we were tired), the park across the street, and the tube entrance and always-full taxi stand right by the hotel. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grazing Goat was excellent and only a few blocks away.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Yellow
Couples
USA
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect value hotel for London!

Located just steps away from the Underground station and shopping, this is a super convenient base for exploring London. Service is prompt and staff are friendly. The lobby has some interesting works of art to contemplate. Although the hallways aren't air conditioned, the room is very modern and comfortable, with a good shower and sleek design. WiFi is fast and reliable and FREE. Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is a convenience store open late for snacks or drinks

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DAFH
Couples
West Sussex
Jul 23, 2013

Disappointing visit

Saturday 20th July Room was cramped with bed pushed against a wall Worst part of the trip was the noise coming from the nightclub/disco on ground floor. We were on 1st Floor and it felt as if the walls were reverberating with the bass noise from the music It finished at 2 am so we had very little sleep not very good for £153 Suggest other clients opt for a room on a higher floor but we will not be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.J. the BlueJan
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Jul 22, 2013

Perfect Location. Great Value.

We got a very good rate on this hotel. IF we had paid full price, I MIGHT not be as generous, but this is DEFINITELY a FOUR STAR hotel. The rooms in London are always smaller and this no exception but VERY CLEAN (didn't mind walking barefoot around room, for instance# and PEFECTION IN LOCATION #but no view, but who cares, you're gone all the time# Close to everything you'd want to do. Just a few block from GREAT SHOPPING, especially Selfridges and Marks & Spencer. Tube stop just around the corner from the hotel. Hotel directly across Hyde Park. TO GET THERE: Take Express Train to Paddington Station, then tube to Marble Arch #this hotel's location#. The STAFF was VERY ATTENTIVE. We had a small problem with the AC, which was fixed very quickly and many staff followed up on this to make sure it was taken care of. Even when we checked out 5 days later, we were asked if that problem had been fixed to our satisfaction and it had been. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL and we would stay there again #and probably will#. Quiet. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE 3:00 check in time. We got there at 6 am after an all night flight and were exhausted. The waiting areas were hot and we could not get in our room early. That was misery but our own fault. #Well, we did get in the room by 2). The showers are nice and bathrooms roomy. The room size very adequate. The soaps and lotions nice BUT no real "fancy" amenities. I LOVE London!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsie.
Family
UK
Jul 22, 2013

A perfect hotel for London trip!

I have stayed many times at The Cumberland and have had a perfect stay, every time. Location is spot on for a shopping trip on Oxford Street and 10mins by taxi to Knightsbridge. Staff are wonderful!!! The 2 bars are fab for a Champagne lunch !! Would recommend this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria travels
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jul 1, 2013

Central, convenient, and comfortable

I stayed here while on a work trip. It is located next door to the Marble Arch underground station so it was very easy to get around London. The hotel room was a bit small, but it was clean and well lit. The area has great shopping and nice restaurants as well. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top