$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overbooked
Business
cyprus
May 5, 2014

steer clear.

I've stayed here once before and it was not great but I decided to give them another chance. I travel for business a lot so I've experienced some great and terrible service in Hotels. This is, hands down, my worst experience in a hotel ever. I arrived around midnight for my 3 day stay to be told that the hotel was over booked. I was told that they would try and get me in to another hotel in area as soon as possible. The trouble was that there was at least 20 very irate people in front of me that had also been overbooked and i was last in the queue. I tried to book into somewhere else but most hotels in London were fully booked. I had no option but to wait on the Hotel to find somewhere for me. 2 hours later they finally did. never ever ever again! I could go on about the weak apology and poor service thereafter but let me cut to the chase: There are much better hotels in the area, do yourself a favour and stay in one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
telmac
Couples
Tel aviv, Israel
May 4, 2014

great vacation

Very good location, next to underground station "marbel arch". On Oxford street -great for shopping. Rooms are clean and ok but a bit small as well little closet room. Good breakfast and very kind stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start early when stores open, before too many people are around

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Home Counties Traveller
Single
Reading, Berkshire
Jan 11, 2014

Solo Traveller Visiting London

Great location and a nice hotel, I will stay at the Cumberland again, but I don't know when yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeOxlong
Couples
Coventry
Jan 7, 2014

Great weekend

Booked this hotel as my wife and daughter stayed here before Christmas. Location is fantastic with tube station and bus stops on the hotels door step. Hotel wifi worked great and was very fast considering it's shared. The breakfast was very good - except the tea that was served - it was a murky grey colour and tasted quite vile. Apart from that, I couldn't fault the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
postCynical
Single
Alexandria, VA
Dec 29, 2013

A Perfect Stay for a Perfect Vacation

The staff allowed me to check in early and were always friendly and professional. Clean and spacious room. Great full English breakfast and an incredible Christmas lunch. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money by grabbing lunch to go at Pret A Manger on the corner of Oxford and Cumberland.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacey the Traveler
Couples
Gainesville, Georgia
Dec 28, 2013

Great view, worst experience

The best part about The Cumberland was the view of Oxford Street from our window. Sadly, that is where the good ended. I booked an Executive King but ended up with a very small double. After sleeping on the small bed for a few days, we both had really sore backs. We pulled the covers off and discovered the mattress had been flipped to the wrong side because there were stains on the side you are supposed to sleep on. Staff was extremely rude to us. I was basically called a liar by one of the managers because I decided to extend my stay a few extra days. But the woman that I told I wanted to stay a few more days only booked me for one day. When our key didn't work the next day is when I was sent to the manager and he wanted to know what proof I had that I paid and to give him the name of the woman I told I wanted to stay with, then started speaking to me like I was a lying idiot. The woman from the night before only fixed my keys and didn't give me paperwork. We were finally able to pay for more nights and able to stay but I have never been treated so badly. I was also charged 14% on my card when I was only supposed to be charged 3% for international fees. While the view was nice and it was right next to Oxford Street and the Marble Arch, I will no longer be going anywhere near this hotel again. I also wanted to note that my card locked because of them when he finally allowed us to pay for the nights we wanted in the first place, so with it being locked, my fiance put the room on his card for the 2 extra days. So I spent the money after my card unlocked thinking I had it. Several days after we left the hotel, suddenly the money was taken off my card for the 2 extra days, so we thought we had been charged twice for those extra days. We have to wait for his statement to see if we were charged twice since my card was first declined due to it being locked. We ended up extending our stay for another week, but we went to a different hotel where we were treated much better and much less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk into Soho, many roads of theaters if you enjoy plays or musicals.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Announcer Mike
Couples
Rochester, NY
Nov 29, 2013

Great Location Basic Amenities

Good Points: Comfortable easy access hotel. We were visiting London for a week in November, and this hotel was an excellent find essentially on top of the Marble Arch tube entrance. Free Wi-Fi was a plus. Staff was courteous and friendly. Negatives: Our room was serviceable. We booked the Executive Double Room, which was a bed, desk, mini fridge, and safe. Closet space was lacking. We had a problem understanding the light switches, which were everywhere and not very logical: the fluorescent lights over the bed, at the mirror, and in the closet were evidently on a 3-way switch, which only worked from the door, and the lights needed changing; One of the halogen reading lights over the bed had bad wiring and I ended up fixing it when a call to maintenance failed to solve the problem; the heated towel bar was controlled by an unmarked switch outside the bathroom. The towel rack was located about 6 feet from the shower. The "power shower" had two options - shower head that had low pressure, or 2 jets at mid-back and buttocks - but not both shower and jets together. Maid service was thorough but the timing was inconsistent. The hotel does not participate in recycling (waste or linens). Unknown: did not visit the "club room", the dining facilities, or the bar/kitchen/dance club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mubican
Business
Istanbul
Nov 11, 2013

location is perfect but the rooms are so small

Location is perfect to go anywhere o easily but the standard rooms are terrible, you can't move inside at all and look towards to the next building wall only. The wardrobe is so small and not suitable for business travelers. I book the room to see a bit off Hyde park view so on my first arrival I had to pay an extra to have a bit of the view and a bit bigger room to move but on my second arrival they give me one night free upgrade which was nice of them. The stuff were so nice and friendly except the breakfast room. I do suggest this hotel if you don't spend a lot of time at the hotel and don't forget to have an executive room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Espana Explorer22
Friends
Cave Creek, Arizona
Nov 10, 2013

Fantastic Weekend Stay

I stayed at The Cumberland for two nights while I was staying in London. The Hotel offered me everything I could ask for in a hotel. The location was especially perfect for me, since it is right next to the tube and also right next to all of the sightseeing buses. The staff was very helpful with answering all of my questions, especially with questions regarding transportation. The lobby and room were very nice and spacious. Overall a very great hotel for a weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hussam
Single
Saudi
Nov 4, 2013

Good location small rooms

The hotel location is very good right on Oxford street. The smart rooms are good idea but the size is a major disadvantage in my opinion. Basically the smart room have a smart TV that you can browse Internet with and a Nesspreso machine. For me if I have to stay at this hotel I will go for executive or bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top