$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
328 reviews
Very pleased

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Room was clean and very homely.... See full review

  • Not easy pleased 73
  • Jul 15, 2014
Excellent - again!

2nd time I've stayed here and can't praise it enough. This time we were upgraded to a junior suite... See full review

  • Fifi H
  • Jul 15, 2014
Hyde Park hotel featuring cutting edge modern design
The Cumberland Hotel entices travelers with state-of-the-art accommodations and amenities, striking decor and luxurious ambiance set near London's historic and cultural attractions. This business-friendly hotel offers a variety of meeting spaces ? from the Ocean Room, an event room that can seat up to 350 people, to 25 other fully-equipped conference rooms. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access, limousine transfer and room service are also available for convenience.

Vacationers savor British cuisine with a twist at The Brasserie, or experience a more intimate dining at the private dining room. Cooked to order meals are available at The Market. On evenings, patrons can unwind with drinks at Carbon Bar or Momentus Champagne Bar. 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Original sculptures, artworks and paintings in hotel interior
  • A stunning large conference venue plus 25 meeting and event rooms
  • Club Lounge with Wi-Fi access, refreshments and canapes 
The Cumberland Hotel Rooms
All rooms, apartments and suites at The Cumberland Hotel are tastefully decorated with elegant furnishing and double-glazed windows, each individual in design and ambience. Guests in all units enjoy use of an iPad while in the hotel. The stylish air-conditioned spaces offer heated bathroom mirrors or walk-in shower, flat-screen TV, work desk, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access. Apartments have guest bathroom, bedroom, dining area and kitchen.
Things To Do
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Handel House Museum (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Selfridges (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Madame Tussauds London (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Wellington Arch (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Royal Parks (0.7 km/1.1 km)
  • The National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Wigmore Hall (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Spencer House (1.3 mi/2.7 km)
  • Berkeley Square Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Hotel Map

51.514 -0.159
Area served
London
Nearby airports
International Airport Heathrow- 17.5 miles Domestic Airport City Airport 10.5 miles Closest Public Transport Marble Arch Tube station.
Area description
You'll find The Cumberland Hotel on Oxford Street, with its incomparable shopping, meets Park Lane, one of the most glamorous streets in London. Hyde Park is just across the road, while Marble Arch Tube station - one stop on the Central Line from Bond Street - is right next door to the hotel, putting Piccadilly Circus, the West End and London's wealth of attractions within easy reach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cumberland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Cumberland Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 89 spacious Executive King rooms at The Cumberland hotel are larger than our Standard Bedrooms and bring you the added comfort of a king-sized bed, with thick, soft mattresses. Extras also include complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Single Room
We have 65 Standard Single rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard single rooms offer a single bed. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Double Room
We have 513 Standard Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk Space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Twin Room
We have 170 Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses. Rooms have very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, 32" LCD televisions, Desk Space and Egyptian linen. Standard Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Double Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 65 Executive Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel bring you the added comfort of being more spacious than our Standard bedrooms and include complimentary bottles of water, Guoman bathrobes and slippers, access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury Guoman toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Executive Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin Room
Larger than our Standard Bedrooms, our spacious Executive Twin rooms provide a comfortable retreat at the end of a busy day's shopping, sightseeing or business in the capital. Facilities include complimentary bottles of water, our luxurious bathrobe and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. We have 86 Executive Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses, complimentary cabled internet access and a 32" flat-screen TV. Executive Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.9 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • University of London: 1.2 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's premier venues for business meetings and other events. With their own private entrance and lift access, our meetings and events facilities are completely separate from the rest of the hotel, but share its striking design and impeccable service standards. Close to Hyde Park, The Cumberland Hotel is also a magnificent setting for weddings - two of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events that seek to impress and inspire.

Dining

The Momentus Champagne Bar
The Momentus Champagne Bar is the place to be in W1. Step from Oxford Street into the contemporary new bar, where high ceilings accentuate the stylish purple furnishings. As youd imagine, this bar has a special ambiance: laid-back and sultry, yet full of life and colour. The perfect setting for after work, pre-dinner or late into the night drinks. Something you could definitely develop a taste for.
Carbon Bar
A unique blend of heavy-industrial decor with West end style and sophistication gives this place a sultry ambiance. Music is provided by our own and guest DJ's, who've headlined at clubs across London and Ibiza.
The Brasserie at The Cumberland
Defined by its relaxed, informal setting, The Brasserie serves a menu of European classics with a distinctly British twist. Drop in for lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to our legendary Sunday Roast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (328)

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mick Jagger
London
Jul 8, 2013

Not worth the money.

Not worth the money, room small, shower did not work. Bar very expensive and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria travels
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jul 1, 2013

Central, convenient, and comfortable

I stayed here while on a work trip. It is located next door to the Marble Arch underground station so it was very easy to get around London. The hotel room was a bit small, but it was clean and well lit. The area has great shopping and nice restaurants as well. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amey
UK
Jun 24, 2013

Very bad

unproffesional reception staff. Dirty room. Air condition not working even after bieng checked by the maintainance. Bell boy is totally rude,and unhelpful,we struggled with our bags untill we found someone to help us to carry the bags and get a taxi,after we checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hong L
New York, NY
Jun 23, 2013

Great location!

The lobby is modern. The staffs are friendly and very happy to help. The room is clean but a little bit packed. Overall pretty good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Marble Arch station at the corner of the street and ask for one day pass or a week pass. The Underground takes you everywhere. Don't be a fool and purchase a two way ticket that costs 7.50 quids. Get a one day pass instead which costs about the same and provides unlimited travel for that day.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bo Soud
Business
Kuwait
Jun 9, 2013

Nice Location for Shopping

very close to Oxford shopping Street but this hotel is an old hotel & is not modern hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Musa
Riyadh
Jun 8, 2013

Below hotal ranking standards

The hotel is very busy with system breakdown accordingly. Staff have no authority to satisfy customers needs. Rooms are very small for a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde Park

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skipster
Amsterdam
May 1, 2013

Great weekENDer

We wanted a great weekender away from home and the Cumberland offered it in many ways. The location is by far the best feature and easy walk away to everything in central London. The staff were fine even if a bit fake with there over kindness which didn't come off as authentic yet rather " if I have to be nice "....... We were rather surprised when checking out of the hotel after a 5 night stay when the person checking us out asked if we enjoyed ourselves ? We replied with a a yes.......... to which he then said....... OK, as you had a rather some room for your stay. THIS LEFT US FEELING RATHER CHEESED OFF....... Why, even bother to say this. Felt like we had been ripped off or down graded in the end to a stay which initially I thought was a nice stay !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Busaba on Bird street is London's best Thai you can have......

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart2k13
Chesterfield, UK
Apr 26, 2013

Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location!

Really pleased with our choice of Hotel. The staff were really helpful and they couldn't do enough for us. The location is fantastic, next to Marble Arch and Hyde Park, and also next to Oxford Street. I wish we could have stayed for longer! It made my birthday very special, Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Silky1
Surrey
Apr 24, 2013

Very disappointed

We arrived the weekend of the London marathon and had a room on the 2nd, 3rd and 8th floor. The room on the 2nd floor was very small and at night the nightclub carbon had music blaring which made it hard to sleep. The room on the 3rd floor was ok but very hot and the windows wouldn't open so very stuffy as air con wasn't working. Room on the 8th floor was tiny and hadn't been cleaned properly. It had used cups and glasses with drink still in them and toilet was blocked. We all left being very disappointed after paying over £600 for 6 of us to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ianphillip
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 24, 2013

Very stylish & comfortable

I love the electic style of the hotel, from the lobby to the headboards in the room that pick-up on the neighborhood architecture. My room was very comfortable, with great matress and linens; I slept incredibly well. Assuming the price is the same, I would definitely stay here next time I am in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search