$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
121 reviews
Will definitely return! Fantastic hotel & staff!

The rooms were large and ours had a high ceiling for even more space. The hotel is located... See full review

  • Keyrat04
  • Jul 6, 2014
Fantastic

Such a great hotel, welcoming and friendly staff who are always happy to help. Room was clean and... See full review

  • Diane Nic
  • Jul 3, 2014
Hyde Park hotel featuring cutting edge modern design
The Cumberland Hotel entices travelers with state-of-the-art accommodations and amenities, striking decor and luxurious ambiance set near London's historic and cultural attractions. This business-friendly hotel offers a variety of meeting spaces ? from the Ocean Room, an event room that can seat up to 350 people, to 25 other fully-equipped conference rooms. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access, limousine transfer and room service are also available for convenience.

Vacationers savor British cuisine with a twist at The Brasserie, or experience a more intimate dining at the private dining room. Cooked to order meals are available at The Market. On evenings, patrons can unwind with drinks at Carbon Bar or Momentus Champagne Bar. 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Original sculptures, artworks and paintings in hotel interior
  • A stunning large conference venue plus 25 meeting and event rooms
  • Club Lounge with Wi-Fi access, refreshments and canapes 
The Cumberland Hotel Rooms
All rooms, apartments and suites at The Cumberland Hotel are tastefully decorated with elegant furnishing and double-glazed windows, each individual in design and ambience. Guests in all units enjoy use of an iPad while in the hotel. The stylish air-conditioned spaces offer heated bathroom mirrors or walk-in shower, flat-screen TV, work desk, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access. Apartments have guest bathroom, bedroom, dining area and kitchen.
Things To Do
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Handel House Museum (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Selfridges (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Madame Tussauds London (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Wellington Arch (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Royal Parks (0.7 km/1.1 km)
  • The National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Wigmore Hall (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Spencer House (1.3 mi/2.7 km)
  • Berkeley Square Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Hotel Map

51.514 -0.159
Area served
London
Nearby airports
International Airport Heathrow- 17.5 miles Domestic Airport City Airport 10.5 miles Closest Public Transport Marble Arch Tube station.
Area description
You'll find The Cumberland Hotel on Oxford Street, with its incomparable shopping, meets Park Lane, one of the most glamorous streets in London. Hyde Park is just across the road, while Marble Arch Tube station - one stop on the Central Line from Bond Street - is right next door to the hotel, putting Piccadilly Circus, the West End and London's wealth of attractions within easy reach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cumberland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Cumberland Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 89 spacious Executive King rooms at The Cumberland hotel are larger than our Standard Bedrooms and bring you the added comfort of a king-sized bed, with thick, soft mattresses. Extras also include complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Single Room
We have 65 Standard Single rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard single rooms offer a single bed. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Double Room
We have 513 Standard Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk Space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Twin Room
We have 170 Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses. Rooms have very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, 32" LCD televisions, Desk Space and Egyptian linen. Standard Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Double Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 65 Executive Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel bring you the added comfort of being more spacious than our Standard bedrooms and include complimentary bottles of water, Guoman bathrobes and slippers, access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury Guoman toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Executive Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin Room
Larger than our Standard Bedrooms, our spacious Executive Twin rooms provide a comfortable retreat at the end of a busy day's shopping, sightseeing or business in the capital. Facilities include complimentary bottles of water, our luxurious bathrobe and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. We have 86 Executive Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses, complimentary cabled internet access and a 32" flat-screen TV. Executive Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.9 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • University of London: 1.2 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's premier venues for business meetings and other events. With their own private entrance and lift access, our meetings and events facilities are completely separate from the rest of the hotel, but share its striking design and impeccable service standards. Close to Hyde Park, The Cumberland Hotel is also a magnificent setting for weddings - two of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events that seek to impress and inspire.

Dining

The Momentus Champagne Bar
The Momentus Champagne Bar is the place to be in W1. Step from Oxford Street into the contemporary new bar, where high ceilings accentuate the stylish purple furnishings. As youd imagine, this bar has a special ambiance: laid-back and sultry, yet full of life and colour. The perfect setting for after work, pre-dinner or late into the night drinks. Something you could definitely develop a taste for.
Carbon Bar
A unique blend of heavy-industrial decor with West end style and sophistication gives this place a sultry ambiance. Music is provided by our own and guest DJ's, who've headlined at clubs across London and Ibiza.
The Brasserie at The Cumberland
Defined by its relaxed, informal setting, The Brasserie serves a menu of European classics with a distinctly British twist. Drop in for lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to our legendary Sunday Roast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Girls
Denver, Colo
Apr 1, 2013

2 grandmothers and a granddaughter!

Cumberland has a fantastic location, next to the underground, bus stops and tour bus pick up points. Many restaurants and shopping nearby. There was a.breakfast special during our stay which made that option more financially possible. It was excellent and a very nice way to start the day. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be accommodating . Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spaghetti House was right around the corner from the hotel and provided a very local and warm and inviting experience. Quiet , comfortable and very delicious! We saw a few other spaghetti houses throughout London so it must be a chain. It certainly did not feel like one! xoxo

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bakinci
Istanbul, Türkiye
Nov 22, 2011

Fabulous Location, Great Service

The Cumberland hotel has a great location both for touristic attractions and shopping. Our room was very comfortable and all kinds of service such as concierge, house keeping, reception were superior. I would definetly recommend it to my friends and stay there next time I visit London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hussam
Saudi
Nov 4, 2013

Good location small rooms

The hotel location is very good right on Oxford street. The smart rooms are good idea but the size is a major disadvantage in my opinion. Basically the smart room have a smart TV that you can browse Internet with and a Nesspreso machine. For me if I have to stay at this hotel I will go for executive or bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malachid
Gladstone, OR
Nov 12, 2013

Nice room, Great location

Pros: Close to Marble Arch bus and metro, close to Hyde Park, late night convenience store across the street. Grocery store a block away. Another reviewer had stated a con of having a club downstairs, which was one of the reasons I picked this hotel - dancing for 6 hours then taking an elevator to your room is quite convenient. I finally tried the Market breakfast on my last day, and wish I had tried it earlier. Cons: While there is a grocery store a block away, there is no microwave/oven/dinette/etc. There is a mini fridge and a tea kettle, but that's it. Also, there wasn't an accessible plugin near the bed, so my cell phone alarm clock had to be clear across the room (rude awakening).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainsbury (grocery) is just a block away

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior111
Business
Ireland
Dec 15, 2012

Business Trip

My one complaint is with breakfast. Normal Price is £18.95 , which is expensive unless you are getting something special , and you are not. They do a special voucher which they give you at check-in for £11.95 . This appears to be somewhat random. I was offered the voucher once and had to ask for the vouchers the other two times. My complaint about breakfast , sis that for something that they want to charge £18.95 , it just is not that special. They have all the facilities and correct ingredients , but cannot execute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plympe
athens, greece
Nov 3, 2013

good buy

excellent location, clean and modern rooms (the executive rooms) but quite small with adequate facilities though not sthg extraordinary. In general good value for money considering London hotel prices. Staff helpful. Tube station 10 meters away, oxford street perfect shopping location, good choice for firstcomer in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LandN
Des Moines, IA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Fun trip to London

Hotel is in a great location for hitting all the major tourist attractions in London. The Tube is just around the corner if needed, but many places are within walking distant. The room was adequate although not large. It was very typical for a city the size of London. The hotel is at the end of Oxford Street so it is great for shopping. We also walked to the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, Harrods, Picadilly Circus, and Leicester Square among other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegDC
Washington, DC
Aug 1, 2013

steps to the tube and taxis always available

While our room is small by US standards, it was enough space for our week in London. The staff were professional, courteous, and helpful. We loved the location -- many food options within a few blocks (and a couple in the hotel for when we were tired), the park across the street, and the tube entrance and always-full taxi stand right by the hotel. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grazing Goat was excellent and only a few blocks away.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aviator9161
Business
surrey
Mar 9, 2013

good convenient business base

good value for money without missing anything. (as a recommendation, they could change their showers with flexible hoses). otherwise no problems, good wi-fi access all around. extremely helpful and considerate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fgm1
New York
Feb 22, 2012

Great location

Great stay, very convenient location! Right next to Hyde Park and steps from the Marble Arch tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top