$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
121 reviews
A nice Hotel

Clean room, courteous staff and friendly staff Location is near tourist area. No need to buy ticket... See full review

  • Jobyn Mystery girl
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great location

Very nice, the room was clean and the service was great. Would stay there again. See full review

  • Charles11
  • Oct 22, 2014
Hyde Park hotel featuring cutting edge modern design
The Cumberland Hotel entices travelers with state-of-the-art accommodations and amenities, striking decor and luxurious ambiance set near London's historic and cultural attractions. This business-friendly hotel offers a variety of meeting spaces ? from the Ocean Room, an event room that can seat up to 350 people, to 25 other fully-equipped conference rooms. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access, limousine transfer and room service are also available for convenience.

Vacationers savor British cuisine with a twist at The Brasserie, or experience a more intimate dining at the private dining room. Cooked to order meals are available at The Market. On evenings, patrons can unwind with drinks at Carbon Bar or Momentus Champagne Bar. 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Original sculptures, artworks and paintings in hotel interior
  • A stunning large conference venue plus 25 meeting and event rooms
  • Club Lounge with Wi-Fi access, refreshments and canapes 
The Cumberland Hotel Rooms
All rooms, apartments and suites at The Cumberland Hotel are tastefully decorated with elegant furnishing and double-glazed windows, each individual in design and ambience. Guests in all units enjoy use of an iPad while in the hotel. The stylish air-conditioned spaces offer heated bathroom mirrors or walk-in shower, flat-screen TV, work desk, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access. Apartments have guest bathroom, bedroom, dining area and kitchen.
Things To Do
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Handel House Museum (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Selfridges (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Madame Tussauds London (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Wellington Arch (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Royal Parks (0.7 km/1.1 km)
  • The National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Wigmore Hall (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Spencer House (1.3 mi/2.7 km)
  • Berkeley Square Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cumberland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Cumberland Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 89 spacious Executive King rooms at The Cumberland hotel are larger than our Standard Bedrooms and bring you the added comfort of a king-sized bed, with thick, soft mattresses. Extras also include complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Single Room
We have 65 Standard Single rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard single rooms offer a single bed. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Double Room
We have 513 Standard Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk Space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Twin Room
We have 170 Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses. Rooms have very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, 32" LCD televisions, Desk Space and Egyptian linen. Standard Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Double Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 65 Executive Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel bring you the added comfort of being more spacious than our Standard bedrooms and include complimentary bottles of water, Guoman bathrobes and slippers, access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury Guoman toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Executive Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin Room
Larger than our Standard Bedrooms, our spacious Executive Twin rooms provide a comfortable retreat at the end of a busy day's shopping, sightseeing or business in the capital. Facilities include complimentary bottles of water, our luxurious bathrobe and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. We have 86 Executive Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses, complimentary cabled internet access and a 32" flat-screen TV. Executive Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.9 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • University of London: 1.2 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's premier venues for business meetings and other events. With their own private entrance and lift access, our meetings and events facilities are completely separate from the rest of the hotel, but share its striking design and impeccable service standards. Close to Hyde Park, The Cumberland Hotel is also a magnificent setting for weddings - two of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events that seek to impress and inspire.

Dining

The Momentus Champagne Bar
The Momentus Champagne Bar is the place to be in W1. Step from Oxford Street into the contemporary new bar, where high ceilings accentuate the stylish purple furnishings. As youd imagine, this bar has a special ambiance: laid-back and sultry, yet full of life and colour. The perfect setting for after work, pre-dinner or late into the night drinks. Something you could definitely develop a taste for.
Carbon Bar
A unique blend of heavy-industrial decor with West end style and sophistication gives this place a sultry ambiance. Music is provided by our own and guest DJ's, who've headlined at clubs across London and Ibiza.
The Brasserie at The Cumberland
Defined by its relaxed, informal setting, The Brasserie serves a menu of European classics with a distinctly British twist. Drop in for lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to our legendary Sunday Roast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PKB Travels
Delano, Ca
Jul 9, 2012

Awesome hotel

My experience at the Cumberland was amazing. Friendly staff, clean, and close to the underground. I will stay here on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superzizi
Business
Beijing,China
Jul 8, 2014

Excellent location and value the stay

It is our first trip to London and we are quite satisfied in our stay in this hotel. It is only one minutes to walk to Hyder Park and underground station. As the transportation in London is extremely expensive , choosing to stay in this hotel is really a smart option. We were stayed in a executive room with a reasonable rate for 3 nights . Room clean, comfortable , stuff nice. The only problem is wifi. My apple computer and mobile phone always had problem to connect in room area and I have to use it in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keyrat04
Business
UK
Jul 6, 2014

Will definitely return! Fantastic hotel & staff!

The rooms were large and ours had a high ceiling for even more space. The hotel is located literally next to the Marble Arch tube entrance, plus Hyde Park is conveniently across the street. We were given priority seating at Hard Rock Cafe and the staff (9 out of 10) went above and beyond to help us and make our stay wonderful. We went to their night club/bar plus their coctail lounge as well. I love this hotel and we hand a ball!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane Nic
Business
Glasgow
Jul 3, 2014

Fantastic

Such a great hotel, welcoming and friendly staff who are always happy to help. Room was clean and very comfortable and the location was amazing, so central to everything. Will defo be going back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nick is not my name
Business
Amherst, Massachusetts
Jun 6, 2014

Fantastic location, confusion on check in

Once we actually got the correct room, it was fantastic having the park and shopping and the tube and city tour buses all right next door, and the room was very comfortable. However, we were assigned a room on check-in that was actually occupied, so when we opened the door the occupants were quite upset. We got a new room right away, but then decided to ask for additional bed for a 3rd occupant, and this took many phone calls to finally get this all arranged, with quite a bit of re-explaining what we wanted. Staff experience was excellent after this initial annoyance. Expensive place. Unusual lobby which is open and loud like an airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmother Jean
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 6, 2014

Location and Comfort

The location is great - right across from the Marble Gate and Hyde Park, with tour and city bus stops. Good coffee shop right on the corner. As senior citizens, we appreciated the convenience. Room comfortable. Lobby very stark & modern. Hotel guests were fun to watch - people from all over the world. I was especially grateful for the advice and help the customer service desk gave me, as I had left my backpack with passport in it somewhere after arrival. My husband and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abu Nasser
Business
Saudi Arabia
Jun 1, 2014

One of the best tourist hotels for me

Beautiful hotel, clean and suitable for family and close to shopping areas and easy entry and exit, but the room is quite small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenaxchen
Business
Bal Harbour, FL
May 30, 2014

Superb location!!!!

The location is perfect! Right next to the tube station and many bus stops nearby. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable. This hotel is the best choice for traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Selfriges is just 5 mins walk from the hotel. Remarkable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ Dave
Business
Dublin, Ireland
May 23, 2014

London trip

I found the hotel very comfortable to stay in. It is in a great location and to have the Marble Arch tube station beside it was very convenient. Two comments I have are: 1. There was no facecloth left out when room was serviced; 2. It would have been nice if the hotel had a spa beside the gym. I will be recommending this hotel to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overbooked
Business
cyprus
May 5, 2014

steer clear.

I've stayed here once before and it was not great but I decided to give them another chance. I travel for business a lot so I've experienced some great and terrible service in Hotels. This is, hands down, my worst experience in a hotel ever. I arrived around midnight for my 3 day stay to be told that the hotel was over booked. I was told that they would try and get me in to another hotel in area as soon as possible. The trouble was that there was at least 20 very irate people in front of me that had also been overbooked and i was last in the queue. I tried to book into somewhere else but most hotels in London were fully booked. I had no option but to wait on the Hotel to find somewhere for me. 2 hours later they finally did. never ever ever again! I could go on about the weak apology and poor service thereafter but let me cut to the chase: There are much better hotels in the area, do yourself a favour and stay in one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
telmac
Business
Tel aviv, Israel
May 4, 2014

great vacation

Very good location, next to underground station "marbel arch". On Oxford street -great for shopping. Rooms are clean and ok but a bit small as well little closet room. Good breakfast and very kind stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start early when stores open, before too many people are around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top