$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny123
Business
Orange County,Ca
Aug 13, 2011

Disappointed

The only good thing about the hotel was the location as it was very close to Marble Arch Tube Station which was very convenient. The lobby was nice but the rooms are very small and there were spider webs in a corner. The hotel is non-smoking but we continually smelled cigarette smoke coming from somewhere and saw numerous cigarette butts on the floor outside our window. Mentioned it to staff but it was never cleaned up. The shower "door" is not really a door but is more of a half wall that does not cover the entire length ofthe shower. Therefore water continually splashed onto the floor causing us to place a towel on the floor every time we showered. Disappointed in the hotel and would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delta D
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 9, 2011

A winner for me.

The Cumberland was a great place for me to stay. The rooms were clean and modern, had AC, and a very helpful staff. I was coming from a business trip and needed a lot of help figuring out how to ship materials back home. The concierge staff was perfect. They took care of everything. The people at the front desk were great as well. The location of the hotel was perfect. When you walk out of the hotel, look to the left, and you will see the Marylebone Arch. Great location for shopping, food, and tube. I will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located on Oxford Circus Street. Great shopping and dining options.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delta D
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 9, 2011

A winner for me.

The Cumberland was a great place for me to stay. The rooms were clean and modern, had AC, and a very helpful staff. I was coming from a business trip and needed a lot of help figuring out how to ship materials back home. The concierge staff was perfect. They took care of everything. The people at the front desk were great as well. The location of the hotel was perfect. When you walk out of the hotel, look to the left, and you will see the Marylebone Arch. Great location for shopping, food, and tube. I will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located on Oxford Circus Street. Great shopping and dining options.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 25, 2011

Bizarre and awful

This was honestly one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. Everything was designed to be so artsy and fancy that nothing actually *worked*. The fancy shower door didn't close all the way. The fancy sink splashed everywhere and didn't provide area to put anything. The fancy lit-up paintings in the room had bad bulbs that clicked and flashed. The reception area was enormous and had such bad acoustics you couldn't hear someone if they were talking next to you. The wifi didn't extend into the room (you had to sit by the door) and wasn't very iPhone/iPad friendly. If I wasn't paying for it, the experience would have been so bad as to be comical. I would be remiss if I did not admit that the room was clean and well kept, and had all the basic amenities you would want (including a fridge!), and the staff was polite and friendly. But everything else was just so bizarre and difficult that it was a terrible night's stay. I'm sorry to be so harsh, but I would never return to this hotel, nor recommend it to anyone. They tried to be so fancy that they overlooked the basic human experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

Very nice hotel and very convenient

I had an Executive Room and it was very nice. The best part about this hotel is it is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Tube, its cheap and fast compared to the taxis

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sweden
May 8, 2011

nice hotel

Nie hotel, good location, nice staff. Breakfast to expensive!! Charge 10 pounds for children, who only eat one bagel and have a glas of juice..14.99£ for adults is far to expensive too. Take away the textile carpets in the rooms, it is disgusting! Lots of spots and never been washed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hyde park, oxford street

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy mom.
Business
SF, California
Apr 22, 2011

Great location

Even though the age of the building is noticable from the hallways, the location is great. The rooms are quiet. Walking distance to shopping, underground, buses. The floor level housekeepers practically don't speak any English. I had to call the housekeeping for a minor request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

UNDERGROUND: If you need to use the underground more than once during non peak hours, use the day pass. You save a lot.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler For Business and Touring
Business
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Apr 18, 2011

Highly recommended for many reasons!

This is a fantastic hotel, with a large, spacious lobby and modern, spacious rooms. Even though there are over 1000 rooms, everything seems to be clean and neat, and every single staffer I encountered was friendly, personable, and helpful. This included numerous people at the front desk, several different concierge workers, maids, waiters, and waitresses. My room was a single, and was larger than many others I've seen. Whenever I asked for something, it was brought to the room very promptly. Also, the location is perfect for most, right in the middle of town, with a subway stop actually in the same building, just a few steps outside from the hotel lobby. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 10, 2011

Great Hotel, Price and Location

Firts time to London for us and the hotel and location were great. On the NE corner of Hyde Park with the Marble Arch tube stop around the corner and about 8 bus lines running right near by. I was very pleased with the hotel. Very modern styling, big inviting lobby with plenty of staff to help if needed. Room was nice and service kept it very clean. I would definintely recommend this to others and would stay here again myself. Only downside is that Wi-fi is expensive and hard to fine Free hotspots in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Mar 28, 2011

Great Location

Really great location, just around the corner from the tube, close to the oxford st shops, a nice restaurant lounge/restaurant. The room was a bit on the small side, but the shower was large and everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top