$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Mar 28, 2011

Great Location

Really great location, just around the corner from the tube, close to the oxford st shops, a nice restaurant lounge/restaurant. The room was a bit on the small side, but the shower was large and everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DESIGN GURU
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Mar 11, 2011

The Cumberland Hotel

since I traveled often for business on my last job, I remembered the affordability of the Cumberland Hotel. It has a spacious ,trendy lobby with a pleasant,somewhat uniformed staff.[...] when we arrived at the hotel--there were no bellman around(which acually made the cab driver infuriated). My boss and I hauled our own bags throuhout the hotel and when we arraived at the reception desk, the information the staff printed was incorrect.Luckily I printed a copy of our bookings ,as they were confirmed ,even though they had the wrong information. It wasn't untill I produced those documents that the desk clerk made an effort to speak with his manager, before we we checked in.The rooms was clean and neat (small) but very comfortable.I have noticed that on my last stays , the concierge staff seems to feel they are doing me a favor,if iI ask for something.Overall, this stay wasn't as good as previous ones--but everyone is allowed a bad day.Since working out is essential when one travels, i feel that there fitness area needs improvement--i.e. more benches, more varied weights and better cardio machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

an affordable and satisfying meal is across the road at the "Spaghetti House" which I always assumed was alow end restaurant.I was pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location, BAD Customer Service

This hotel was located in a GREAT area. That is about all I have to say positive about the Hotel. First off, they entered the wrong dates of my reservation and so they said I was to check-out a day earlier than what I booked! They then proceeded to barge into my Hotel Room WITHOUT KNOCKING, as I was changing! I had the door bolted and a "Do NOT Disturb" sign on the door. They walked RIGHT INTO MY ROOM WITHOUT KNOCKIG asking me if I was checking out! No privacy, and VERY unprofessional. After I told the front desk what happened, they did not offer any comps....they just did not care. Most of the staff was rude; however, they were helpful getting transportation at the entrance to the hotel. The room service was quick, yet the food was terrible. The W Rhodes restaurant on site was fantastic! Best French food I had while in London, and excellent service. Rooms are VERY small. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jon
Business
Whitstable
Dec 2, 2010

Fantastic public areas- rooms disappoint

Great location next to Marble Arch Tube, and very impressive public areas - modern with a lot of art and design. Bars and restaurants impress (Rhodes W1 has a michelin star!). Being such a large hotel (1000 rooms) in a prime location it gets very busy - so check-in and breakfast service can be very hectic. Unfortunately the rooms do not match the public areas - despite the multi-million pound refurbishment of this hotel, the room we stayed in (a deluxe double) only had a basic makeover - it was a little shabby and the room was pretty small. Overall, it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 17, 2010

Artistic Modern Hotel

Lobby was very artistic and clean. Elevators small and slow. Close to subway lines and restaurants. Rooms were great for a couple or individual. Orbit representative put me by the wrong subway line so I had to walk 1.5 miles to hotel from where I was supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk CT
Aug 30, 2009

Hotel cumberland Unbeatable location

Thhe hotel's decor was different but interesting - very, very modern with strange statues and lighting. The staff was extrememly nice and very helpul. We were able to make all our bookings through them. Great with giving us directions to the various sites. Housekeeping was very good as well. We encountered no problems. If we called they were very prompt to respond to whatever we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 13, 2009

Overprice, bad service and really dirty

The hotel lobby is very nice and unique. The restaurant food is very good and reasonable. Unfortunately, I have to wait 1 hour for checked-in. They couldn't find the reservation from Orbitz.The room, the hallway and the carpet are so dirty.They don't have enough time to do room cleaning daily. I make a phone call, and the hotel charged me GBP 10 per minute. I never have this expensive charge in other hotels in UK. This will be my first and last to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 9, 2009

The Cumberland

Went to Wimbledon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jun 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This was a wonderful hotel as far as location for the price. They should have, however, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doctorrich
Business
New York City
May 26, 2009

A closet size room - Never again

We were at the Cumberland 3 years ago booked via Hotel dot com and we were very happy. That is why we booked Cumberland again but this time thru Orbitz. The room was the size of a closet not even close to the room we had last time. The original room they assigned us was on the first floor looking out to an alley. We asked to change the room and we were given the same size room but on the 5th floor. The room was so small you couldnt walk around the bed. One side of this mini-full size bed was against the wall. There was no dresser or draws to put your clothes so we lived out of our suitcases. The mattress was so soft we never got a restful nights sleep. We were told we got the room we paid for thru Orbitz. Most mornings at 630 am we would be woken up the the trash collection. The thing good about the hotel was the location, next to the Marble Arch underground. The people at the front desk were not not friendly or helpful. They just didnt care and they would do nothing to help a repeat guest. My wife and I will never stay at the Cumberland again and we will think twice next time using Orbitz to book our hotel. With Orbitz low rates = a room you would never sleep in! we deserve a refund from Orbitz!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top