$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paigeH
Business
WY
Jan 9, 2013

Small with bad internet connection

The room is small for US standards, but ordinary for UK standards. They prommiss free Wifi, but when the signal wasn't strong enough in my room the only option they offered was to talk to the internet company myself. After 2 minutes on hold I decided my vacation should not be spent fixing my internet. I already get enough of that when I am home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
View
Business
Rabat, Morocco
Jan 6, 2013

Room size

We where given the smallest and most basic room available. There is no real discount as such. You get what you pay for. Next visit I will book with the metropole hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior111
Business
Ireland
Dec 15, 2012

Business Trip

My one complaint is with breakfast. Normal Price is £18.95 , which is expensive unless you are getting something special , and you are not. They do a special voucher which they give you at check-in for £11.95 . This appears to be somewhat random. I was offered the voucher once and had to ask for the vouchers the other two times. My complaint about breakfast , sis that for something that they want to charge £18.95 , it just is not that special. They have all the facilities and correct ingredients , but cannot execute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nearlyabasketballwife
Business
Pasadena, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

in comparison to all the other expensive hotels in London, this was a great steal for a high class hotel. the room was small but really modern and nice and you are so close to everything we were never any the room anyways. not enough to pay attention to the size. the cumberland is where i will stay if i end up in that part of london again. and it is literally right next to the tube station too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tientienwoo
Business
Shanghai, China
Nov 26, 2012

Awesome location if you're not looking for something fancy

The rooms aren't huge, but they are clean and comfortable. The staff that I encountered were all friendly and helpful. The restaurant downstairs is often overlooked but the food is fantastic and the place apparently has quite a reputation amongst locals due to the previous chef who was somewhat of a celebrity but the new chef does not disappoint. Both my appetizer and main were excellent, and I am quite an experienced diner. The hotel's location is hard to beat, right next to the Marble Arch tube stop (Central Line) and minutes away from the Bond Street stop (Jubilee Line) as well as tons of shopping and Selfridges, the huge British department with beautiful window displays and quality wares. As I said in the title, it's not a fancy, luxe hotel but I'd stay here again for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss eating at the Rhodes W1 Restaurant, it is as good as any destination dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior111
Business
Ireland
Nov 12, 2012

Business Trip

Like many Road Warriors , the amount of time you spend in your hotel is very small relative to over all cost. There are some things that are very important to make that time worth the investment in my opinion, 1) Good Bed 2) Good Shower 3) Free/Reasonable WIFI 4) Good Breakfast. The Cumberland scores well in all of the above except breakfast . They have a great layout and variety, but the hot breakfast was very disappointing . Other than that great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mercedesboy
Business
uk
Aug 31, 2012

Good location...... thats it

rooms are clean and on the smaller side - entrance is grand but thats where the wow factor stops - not a 4 star in my eyes and very pricey irrelavant of location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olympic fan
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2012

Great location if you like to run, but service not up to 4 star standard

Stayed here during the Olympics. Reception deak was always a saga. Everything took forever. Internet/wireless service was awful. Used internet across the street at deli. Some of the people at the concierge desk were great, others not so much. Rooms okay but tvs not great and hair dryer didn't work. Tub didn't drain properly. For the price it should have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe at Cumberland Street/Bryanston is great place for a latte and just relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PKB Travels
Business
Delano, Ca
Jul 9, 2012

Awesome hotel

My experience at the Cumberland was amazing. Friendly staff, clean, and close to the underground. I will stay here on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TTTM
Business
Dublin
Jun 12, 2012

Good location

Very handy location around corner from Marble Arch tube & Oxford St. Impressive doormen & foyer, helpful staff. However the room was very small, the bed about a foot off the floor and very soft. I had to ask for a second duvet as the first was paper thin, pillows weren't great either. I was a bit let down by that aspect for such an expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top