$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
125 reviews
great location!!!!

Its the second time we have stayed here and it has always been great and would look at staying... See full review

  • happy xox
  • Dec 15, 2014
Great!

Great hotel, perfect location ! Nice staff, clean rooms, See full review

  • The Holidey
  • Dec 10, 2014
Hyde Park hotel featuring cutting edge modern design
The Cumberland Hotel entices travelers with state-of-the-art accommodations and amenities, striking decor and luxurious ambiance set near London's historic and cultural attractions. This business-friendly hotel offers a variety of meeting spaces ? from the Ocean Room, an event room that can seat up to 350 people, to 25 other fully-equipped conference rooms. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access, limousine transfer and room service are also available for convenience.

Vacationers savor British cuisine with a twist at The Brasserie, or experience a more intimate dining at the private dining room. Cooked to order meals are available at The Market. On evenings, patrons can unwind with drinks at Carbon Bar or Momentus Champagne Bar. 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Original sculptures, artworks and paintings in hotel interior
  • A stunning large conference venue plus 25 meeting and event rooms
  • Club Lounge with Wi-Fi access, refreshments and canapes 
The Cumberland Hotel Rooms
All rooms, apartments and suites at The Cumberland Hotel are tastefully decorated with elegant furnishing and double-glazed windows, each individual in design and ambience. Guests in all units enjoy use of an iPad while in the hotel. The stylish air-conditioned spaces offer heated bathroom mirrors or walk-in shower, flat-screen TV, work desk, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi access. Apartments have guest bathroom, bedroom, dining area and kitchen.
Things To Do
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Handel House Museum (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Selfridges (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Madame Tussauds London (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Wellington Arch (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Royal Parks (0.7 km/1.1 km)
  • The National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Wigmore Hall (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Spencer House (1.3 mi/2.7 km)
  • Berkeley Square Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cumberland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Cumberland Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 89 spacious Executive King rooms at The Cumberland hotel are larger than our Standard Bedrooms and bring you the added comfort of a king-sized bed, with thick, soft mattresses. Extras also include complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Single Room
We have 65 Standard Single rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard single rooms offer a single bed. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Double Room
We have 513 Standard Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel, with a 32" plasma TV, very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, Desk Space and Egyptian linen in every room - comforts you'd normally associate with a 5-star London hotel. But at The Cumberland hotel, you'll discover we believe in doing things up to a standard, not down to a price. Standard Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Standard Twin Room
We have 170 Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses. Rooms have very modern furnishings, air-conditioning, 32" LCD televisions, Desk Space and Egyptian linen. Standard Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Double Room
For a truly indulgent stay, our 65 Executive Double rooms at The Cumberland hotel bring you the added comfort of being more spacious than our Standard bedrooms and include complimentary bottles of water, Guoman bathrobes and slippers, access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. Guests can also enjoy a power shower, luxury Guoman toiletries, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy your favourite show on the 32" flat-screen TV, or stay in touch with our complimentary cabled internet access. Executive Double rooms offer a double bed Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin Room
Larger than our Standard Bedrooms, our spacious Executive Twin rooms provide a comfortable retreat at the end of a busy day's shopping, sightseeing or business in the capital. Facilities include complimentary bottles of water, our luxurious bathrobe and slippers to make you feel at home and access to our comfortable Guoman Lounge with complimentary internet access, newspapers and refreshments on offer all day. We have 86 Executive Twin rooms at The Cumberland hotel, all with thick, soft mattresses, complimentary cabled internet access and a 32" flat-screen TV. Executive Twin rooms offer 2 single beds. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.9 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • University of London: 1.2 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's premier venues for business meetings and other events. With their own private entrance and lift access, our meetings and events facilities are completely separate from the rest of the hotel, but share its striking design and impeccable service standards. Close to Hyde Park, The Cumberland Hotel is also a magnificent setting for weddings - two of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events that seek to impress and inspire.

Dining

The Momentus Champagne Bar
The Momentus Champagne Bar is the place to be in W1. Step from Oxford Street into the contemporary new bar, where high ceilings accentuate the stylish purple furnishings. As youd imagine, this bar has a special ambiance: laid-back and sultry, yet full of life and colour. The perfect setting for after work, pre-dinner or late into the night drinks. Something you could definitely develop a taste for.
Carbon Bar
A unique blend of heavy-industrial decor with West end style and sophistication gives this place a sultry ambiance. Music is provided by our own and guest DJ's, who've headlined at clubs across London and Ibiza.
The Brasserie at The Cumberland
Defined by its relaxed, informal setting, The Brasserie serves a menu of European classics with a distinctly British twist. Drop in for lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to our legendary Sunday Roast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hong L
New York, NY
Jun 23, 2013

Great location!

The lobby is modern. The staffs are friendly and very happy to help. The room is clean but a little bit packed. Overall pretty good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Marble Arch station at the corner of the street and ask for one day pass or a week pass. The Underground takes you everywhere. Don't be a fool and purchase a two way ticket that costs 7.50 quids. Get a one day pass instead which costs about the same and provides unlimited travel for that day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benjamin H.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

london birthday

The hotel staff was friendly. Room was clean though my key card stopped working a few times. They fixed it promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy xox
Business
bournemouth
Dec 15, 2014

great location!!!!

Its the second time we have stayed here and it has always been great and would look at staying again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Holidey
Business
The Netherlands, Haarlem
Dec 10, 2014

Great!

Great hotel, perfect location ! Nice staff, clean rooms,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jobyn Mystery girl
Business
Daly City
Dec 1, 2014

A nice Hotel

Clean room, courteous staff and friendly staff Location is near tourist area. No need to buy ticket for trans.to tour.nice place are all walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azip
Business
Seattle
Nov 22, 2014

Nice room in a great location

Very nice overall. The rooms are quite tight by most standards, but probably nice size for London. Only stayed one evening but check in and out was easy enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary94
Business
Dublin
Nov 18, 2014

Weekend Break

Stayed here for a weekend. Didn't have breakfast included in deal. Was going to buy it separately but it was nearly 19 pounds. This is far too expensive on top of what was paid for the room. No brochures or info available at reception for visitors. I picked this hotel as it was part of a package but if you can't afford to throw money around then go somewhere else. Having said all that the room was perfect and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Nov 17, 2014

Business Trip

I've stayed at this hotel several times and i like it. Friendly staff and location is perfect - close to shopping, double decker buses are all around and the tube is literally right next door. Need i say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of Oxford Street shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY explorer
Business
Phoenix
Oct 22, 2014

Great location and decent value

Great location literally beside Marble Arch tube stop. Major shopping and Piccadilly Circus a quick stop way, and Hyde park is across the street. Rooms aren't bad size wise, and bathroom is functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charles11
Business
DC
Oct 22, 2014

Great location

Very nice, the room was clean and the service was great. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PoppyVic
Business
Somerset, N.J.
Oct 22, 2014

A prime location to all of London

On short vacations, time is of the essence. This fine hotel is close to the entire London experience being steps away from a clean well organized subway system. We advise the use of a prepaid pass. You will eliminate the heavy traffic. The food at the hotel is excellent but pricey. There are many restaurants of all different categories within walking distance. The best thing I will say is, ( I highly recommend this hotel, and will certainly return there again.) Dr. Victor Abramowitz and Deanna Lerner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top