$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
200 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in the heart of central London!

When our car service first pulled up to the front of the Cavendish London,we knew this hotel was... See full review

  • Earl G
  • Nov 20, 2014
Long weekend trip

We had an excellent time there. Staff is helpful and location is perfect. See full review

  • Fabulous chick
  • Nov 18, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 200
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitlondon
Business
Austria
Jul 9, 2013

For one man only

very small 2-bed room, very poor storage space (even for 1 person), bathroom so small, that there wasn´t enough space for a toilet brush, water pressure minimal. location excellent, fine furniture. overall: value- for -money ratio poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael from NOVA
Business
VA
May 19, 2012

Classic 3-star tourist hotel

+ Superb location, 2 min walk from Piccadilly, 5 from tube. Helpful friendly staff. - Small rooms (yeah, we are Americans), Internet access at $10 PER HOUR, really ascetic room environment. Overall = classic, well run 3-star tourist hotel. Not 4-star by all means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Piccadilly! Soho! Regent Street! Westminster!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IluvLondon
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2009

The Cavendish London

Took my niece to London as a high school graduation gift -1st time for both! This hotel was fantastic. Somehow, we got a room on the penthouse floor which was an incredible delight given that we stayed for 7 days! The concierges were professional, humorous, patient and most helpful.We didn't use the restaurant or room service but the menu sure looked nice and we saw lots of people drinking, meeting, nibbling in the lounge areas. The best feature, of this very, very nice place, is the location.I would stay there again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It probably pays to take a cab to and from the hotel to Heathrow if you are more than 1 person. It cost 33 pounds for 2 of us on the Heathrow Express, plus the cab ride to the Paddington Sta., for another 14 pounds (including tip!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wimfan
Business
Derry Northern Ireland
Jun 27, 2010

Very central,staff very friendly,

Visited London for the second time. Main reason to attend Wimbledon and take in a show.. A two day stop over.Hotel facilities were excellent and staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

None that I can think of!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, NC
Aug 20, 2010

Cavendish London Hotel

I stayed in a basic room at the hotel. The hotel is very nice and so are the rooms. The rooms are on the small side, but that is expected for London. The breakfast buffet was included in the room price. Breakfast was buffet style and was very good with about anything you could want. The hotel is also in a central location, close to everything including the tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva Switzerland
Mar 25, 2011

well situated, in the heart of London

As I did a lot of visiting the situation of the hotel was ideal .Nice staff, very useful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to London
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 24, 2012

Excellent Location

The hotel staff was extremely helpful stowing luggage, suggesting shows, but didn't know much about the area restaurants in the area we caught Wicked. As a result, we ended up at a so - so pub. The Concierge suggested an excellent location for watching Trooping of the Colours and as such, we were able to view the Queen and a mini changing of the guards at St. James Palace. Had a 9th grade child along with me and we both loved all of the usual sights and some special events, London Eye, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Big Ben, Trooping of the Colours, Piccadilly Circus, Wicked at the Apollo (was incredible!) and the Making of Harry Potter at WB Studios (we spent 7 hours there!!!). Skip the Grey Line Panorama Tour on parade days. The bus missed at least 50 % of the sights and the bus driver was clearly clueless as to where he was actually going - complaining "Where am I going to go now? My street is closed?"!!! Also, the pre-recorded tour guide's description at the sights we did see offered little in the way of description and history. This was a disappointment as other Grey Line tours in NYC and other cities we have visited were outstanding. The location is right between Green Park and Piccadilly subway stops so it was an excellent location. Subways are clearly laid out and easy/safe to use at all hours. There were several cafes located on the street or nearby for morning coffee. The street was quiet and felt safe at all hours. The room was average. The toilet could have used a good cleaning out, but we always received fresh linens and a tidy room upon returning. Everything else felt clean and the room had an iron/board, hair dryer and complimentary coffee (albiet instant!) tea and hot chocolate. There is no mini bar which was fine. London is full of well-dressed, kind and helpful people. From the person behind the window selling Oyster cards to the man who helped haul our luggage up the subway steps, we couldn't have been treated better. London is cleaner than NYC and less harried!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep an eye on formal events going on with the Queen. The mini "Changing of the Guards" at St. James Palace was fantastic. We were 3 of 6 people who were able to witness it. Some research will need to go into when the event occurs as there is not always Beefeaters stationed at the palace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin A Lucky Mom
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 29, 2012

Fantastic family getaway, quiet and comfortable room.

We had a great time spending five nights at Convenish. Location is great - it is located at a quiet street within walking distance to most happening places e.g. bond st, oxford, piccadilly, china town etc..... Hotel staff are generally helpful. Room is clean and comfortable. Will not hesitate to pick Cavendish for accomodation if we revisit London again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bentley - fantastic yummy yummy cuisines!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aender
Business
Chicago
Jan 2, 2013

Unexpected Find

I booked the hotel based on previous reviews and price. Have to say the place was great. Location couldn't be beat as it was central to all the great areas. The staff was very helpful and always there if you needed them. As it was off of Piccadilly the streets were quiet so there was no outside noise and never heard anything from the people next store. Only complaint is the room was small, as many London hotels are, but did feel a bit cramped. Overall we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on trying to get your VAT back at the airport do it before you check your luggage. They ask for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alisa M.
Business
NJ-NY tri-state area
Mar 2, 2013

location and breakfast

My mom and I had a mother-daughter vacation to London this past week, but only stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. (stay 2 nights, get the 3rd night cheaper deal is what we did). However, to stay longer (during the week) got much pricier per night. This hotel seems geared towards corporate travel, but my mother and I enjoyed it just as much. I can't say enough about the breakfast. Since we were touring all day, we only ate breakfast and dinner and the Cavendish had an amazing breakfast and top-notch service. The Cavendish is also in a really nice location - restaurants, tube stations and bus stations. I felt that London's public transportation system seems a lot easier to navigate than NYC (I live in the tri-state area of Manhattan). When I return to London, I would either stay here or somewhere in this same area or in Kensington/South Kensington. These (to me) seem to be the best areas to stay in if you are visiting London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Le Caprice for dinner - it was outstanding

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top