$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEDSGWU
Business
Birmingham, AL
Oct 24, 2009

Great Hotel

Got to the hotel around 12pm, room was not ready until 4pm, otherwise our stay was fantastic. First, the hotel is clean and quiet and in a great location. 5 min to either Picadilly or Green Park Tube stations. As close as you are to Picadilly Circus, the street the hotel is on is remarkably quiet and not overcrowded. The service was excellent, particularly the Concierge who was very knowledgeable and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe queen room which by European standards was quite large. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Jermyn Street is full of high end clothiers and shoe shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bety m
Business
los angeles ca
Aug 5, 2010

it wasn't bad

they offer free breakfast which was very good,and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very good location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Aug 5, 2010

"Great location,Terrific staff!"

Couldn't ask for better location theaters a few blocks, Regent Street a few blocks Green Park, a few biocks!!Staff was the best helpful, hard working and cheerful!...The full English Breakfast was a wonderful start to each day. I would have given a 5 star rating but bath,thought spotless, was small enough to make it a bit hard to manage getting ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Apr 26, 2010

Great hotel, service and location

Due to the Icelandic volcanic eruption that had caused the closure of all UK airports, I had ended up extending my stay 4 times to stay in the Cavendish for 17 days. They were nice enough to let me keep my room every time; it would have been a hassle to have to move since I have a 10-year-old with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lamachine
Business
Staten Island, NY
Apr 27, 2010

Perfect getaway

This hotel was in a great location. It was on a quiet block but close to all. Hotel was very clean and up to date. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast was off the hook. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Couple
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 15, 2011

Great location & value

Central location to many attractions and transportation; Clean & comfortable room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to tube station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling deetz
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 2, 2010

well located hotel with helpful staff

Stayed in London for 2 days during a multi-city trip. The staff at the concierge desk were very helpful in pointing out ways for us to take advantage of all the sights and attractions and get around the city. Had the breakfast included in our package and it was a good hot breakfast buffet and a decent value for money to start off the day. Was very close to both the Green Park and Picadilly Circus stations so easy to get the tube, and the bell desk would quickly grab a taxi for us when needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 28, 2009

Modern, comfortable, and great staff

Our first impression of the hotel was that it looked very well kept and very modern. It is on a fairly small street in a very nice area, and is extremely central to London and all it has to offer. It has a tube stop just a few minutes walk away. The room was very nice. Soothing colors and fabrics, soft bed and a very nice bathtub. Along with a great view (we were on the 14th floor). The staff were all so friendly and very fast when it came to service. We didn't have to wait for anything. While in London, we went on a self-guided Beatles tour, and it just so happened that Savile Row, where the Beatles played on the roof of the Apple offices was a five minute walk from the hotel. There are so many little shops around the hotel also, including Fortnam and Mason tea room, which is a must visit on a lot of people's lists. Excellent trip, excellent hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to Fortnam and Mason, be sure to make a reservation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 24, 2009

... all about LOCATION!

My wife and I stayed at the The Cavendish London for seven nights from 13Dec-20Dec, and we weren't disappointed! We flew in from San Francisco on an overnight flight and although we arrived early, we were able to get an early check in. What's more, because we were staying for an extended period, the front desk clerk went out of his way to make sure we had a nice room up on the 12th floor! Out the window we could see The London Eye, Big Ben, St. Paul's Cathedral and several other landmarks. We had a "superior" room, and although small, once we stored our suitcases there was plenty of room to move around. The room was sleek and modern and was very clean... the flat screen TV also had several sports channels and I was able to watch NFL games late at night! I might add the bathroom was larger than expected and had very modern appliances and a large bathtub and shower! After a long day of walking around the city, it was nice to soak the feet in the tub! One downside, we had no outlet in the bathroom, so my wife had to plug her curling iron and hair dryer in in the front room! No big deal though... we rolled with it! Also, our room didn't really have a dresser to put clothes into. Again, not a deal breaker! Our deal didn't include free breakfast, so I can't really rate that. The hotel restaurant is on the pricey side, and we opted to get our meals elsewhere. BUT REALLY... the best part about this hotel is the location. Situated between two Tube stops, you can get just about anywhere in London in a matter of minutes. For those of you taking the Underground in from Heathrow, get off at Green Park. It's less crowded than Picadilly Circus and easier to move about with luggage! It takes less than five minutes to walk to either Tube stop. Also within walking distance: SOHO, Leicester Square, Buckingham Palace, and Trafalgar Square just to name a few! There is a church just across the street from the hotel that has a Cafe Nero inside... it was a nice place to grab an espresso to start the day! There is also a Tesco supermarket a couple blocks down and we stocked up on water and croissants and other snacks. There are several restaurants within walking distance ranging from a cheap sandwich to higher end establishments. AND despite being so central, the hotel is very quiet at night. A big plus! All in all, a truly great week in London. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're coming from the US... buy in advance! We bought our Oyster Cards (Tube passes), Tower of London and London Eye tickets, as well as several concert tickets months prior. It gave us a chance to pay everything off before we took one step on UK soil! It almost felt free! All we really had to worry about paying for were food and souvenirs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 11, 2010

Excellent everything

Terrific quiet and clean location 1 block off Picadilly Street between Green Park and Picadilly tubes. Medium walk to all attractions/shopping/theater. Plasma TVs, comfy beds, clean and modern rooms. Breakfast is awesome with hot/cold top tier stuff. Doesn't have recreation, but you can run/walk all around. Eco-friendly. Room size typical of big cities. Hotel looks like it was built last year, tho it wasn't. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster Cards are the way to go, pub food is mostly inexpensive with heaps of food, and public transport close and accessible. Take a little effort to figure out the buses--our kids loved riding on the upper floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top