$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
200 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in the heart of central London!

When our car service first pulled up to the front of the Cavendish London,we knew this hotel was... See full review

  • Earl G
  • Nov 20, 2014
Long weekend trip

We had an excellent time there. Staff is helpful and location is perfect. See full review

  • Fabulous chick
  • Nov 18, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, Maryland
Sep 7, 2009

Good but could have been better

Location was wonderful; breakfast was included and was very good although it was buffet style. We had picked a regular room but upgraded (at 15 pounds per night) to a superior room which included a small table and chair and a bath with shower as opposed to a shower. The regular room is not big enough for two people. The front desk was not very friendly. We were given directions to a pub on our first night that was quite a walk but were told it was worth it because the food was 'fresh' unlike the neighborhood pub food. When we got to this pub, we were shown a table upstairs in a room filled with tourists (Americans. Also, it turned out that the food was frozen. I had to send mine back to be 'reheated' and the waitress told me all the food on the menu was frozen. We did get a nice recommendation for high tea from another staff member after one of the members at the front desk refused to help us because we asked him about tea at the Ritz. He informed us we needed reservations at least 3 months ahead (for a weekday)and 6 months ahead (for a weekend) and implied we were stupid for not knowing that about the Ritz. One negative is that there was construction going on in the lobby during our week's stay and it was very noisy. Also, the hotel advertises itself as 'wireless' but when we checked in I was told that this is only true for the lobby and the first floor bar area. Once we decided to pay for an upgrade, the room we upgraded to was very nice. There was a nice selection of teas; hot chocolate was also an option and two shortbread cookies were included with the selection of teas. If you can put up with the unfriendly staff, the hotel is a good choice for either a business or pleasure trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the underground as much as possible or walk. The hotel is in a very good location. We bought an 'oyster card' for unlimited use on the underground during our week's stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Nice

Nice, modern and clean hotel with nice amenities - located a short walk away from Piccadilly Tube Stop. Rooms are a tad small, but that's expected in London. Walls and doors are a little thin - hallway noise can be heard from the room, and vice versa. Breakfast was included in our rate so we can't complain, but if you had to pay for it (twenty something pounds) I would take a pass. Bed was a little bit lumpy. All in all, solid hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Cavendish

Hotel was great. Location convenient for shopping and meeting up with friends. Fortnum and Mason across the street. Breakfast was delicious. Free WIFI would have improved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon, USA
Aug 9, 2010

great location, friendly staff

I was a single tourist, and this hotel was within walking distance of so much I wanted to see, and had easy access to the busses and underground for the rest. My room was a classic (meaning tiny) and on one of the lower floors, so no real view. Despite this I was very pleased since the room was beautiful, very clean, quiet and and comfortable. I was not planning on spending hours in the room anyway since what I wanted was a safe and comfortable hub from which to see the city. Also, I can't say enough about the staff... always professional, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to Soho to take in the many fabulous little places to eat... far enough away to get away from the noise and confusion. (Maybe a 15 minute walk)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, S.C.
Apr 22, 2009

Great location and great service.

We have been to London many time, and this was the best location yet. So many historical sites, museums, the theater, restaurants and shops were just minutes away. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The price was totally reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bentley's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Europe
Jul 8, 2009

conveniently located

Although the hotel is in a great location(5 min walk to Picadilly Circus), somehow the hotel lacked warmth. The staff at the reception did their job wanted to show motivation but definitely lacked some. Selection of food for breakfast was nice (cold and warm items; v.good orange juice).The rooms are nice except for the bathroom which was far too small even for European standards !! The lift took an awful lot of time to come (only 2 out of 3 were in use). But again you're downtown close to all means of transport. Selection of Michelin-rated restaurants in the area was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scones at opposite Fortnum&Mason are to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york city
Aug 29, 2010

Loved our hotel

The location was marvelous...We were near the underground, actually 2 stations were near us. Nevertheless, we were close enough to the major tourist sights thst we could easily walk. The hotel was clean, the rooms were well-equipped even a robe and slippers. The staff could not have been nicer. The only disappointment was when we ordered a hamburger from room service, it was not too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddy Chicago
Business
Chicago
Jun 19, 2009

Edward at the Cavendish Hotel

Itis a large impersonal London hotel with impeccable service. This was my 16th time staying there, and again no one knew who I was. But they are absolutely correct, high quality and very capable of excellent service. I would definitely stay there again if they price were right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very centrally located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 24, 2009

Tight space but great location

My wife and I stayed here on the first part of our honeymoon. We upgraded for 20 BP per night for the "larger" room ... which was still tight, but good. Very shiek hotel & room interior. Our room rate had breakfast included -- which was a good option.... the buffet was varied enough to satisfy most anyone. Remember to ask for toast or english muffin etc-- they will toast one up and bring it to your table - nice. You cannot beat the location -- walking to Picadilly & Regent St is a snap. The only weirdness -- perhaps it's a British thing -- was the shower. The "door" was just a short glass partition that didn't really do much good in keeping the water from going beyon the tub. Even with care, we'd get the sink area wet....of course it could just be us. We didn't use the on-premise pub etc...they were a bit pricy for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great pubs for dinner/snacks/drinks nearby...one in particular, recommended by the hotel was the "Blue Post" (ask at desk for directions) -- very packed, but great food at resonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prince Henry
Business
Providence, RI
Jan 20, 2010

Location & service vs. size & cost

I travel to London fairly frequently and I still haven't found the ideal hotel. But the Cavendish is the best location I've ever had and is close to the top for the level of service. Despite being just a block off Piccadilly and close to active nightlife, it is a very quiet hotel. The concierge desk was splendid, especially [...], who started helping me even before I arrived. The room (labeled superior) was very small but very well tended. For a longer stay (8 nights) there was little room for storage. The room did have a view -- of London Eye and the very top of Big Ben: XI, XII, and I. There was no fitness facility; 7 pounds bought me a single visit to a gym 10 blocks away that was reasonably well equipped. [...] The cost of an in-room Internet connection was 25 pence a minute, which added up. All in all, it was a successful stay and if the price were right again, I would most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cecconi's on Burlington Gardens at the corner of Savile Row is a stylish yet comfortable Italian restaurant an easy walk from the Cavendish. It serves dinner until 1:00 am every night, which was perfect for a traveler arriving from the US at the hotel at nearly 11pm, hungry and with my internal clock at 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top