$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fledgling world traveller
Business
Washington DC
Oct 22, 2009

Great location, nicely decorated.

The hotel staff were very courteous and friendly. The breakfast that was included in our room was delicious! Great way to start each day. The location of the hotel was great and it was easy to get everywhere. I loved the decor as well, very posh. However the bed and pillows were dreadful, and it impeded us from getting a good nights sleep (past the days that we were exhausted from the time change). I'm not sure if it was just the room we got or this is the case throughout but it was quite uncomfortable. Real linens though so that was nice. The bathrooms were also great, the shower had good pressure and temperature. Good place to stay just bring your own pillow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wagamama's was very economical and tasty. Its a noodle bar. Most of the places around the hotel are a bit more pricey.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Sep 25, 2009

The good and the better.

The location is excellent. The staff are fiendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and views amazing, if you get one of the top floors. Breakfast (included in price of room) is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Apr 5, 2010

Central location, staff very helpful

Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast included in my room plan, very central location between two tube stations and you can walk to many areas. Safe and quiet neighborhood. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, California
Mar 12, 2010

Great location, watch for add-on prices.

Great location - super convenient to the underground and lots of sights and good restaurants within walking distance. Great breakfast provided. Bad stuff: they charge 25p a MINUTE for wifi! Local telephone calls were charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 8, 2010

Lovely hotel in excellent location

The Cavendish is a comfortable modern hotel that seeks to limit its carbon footprint without sacrificing the luxury hotel experience. The location is perfect for any visit to London, just a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus, but located on a lovely quiet and uncongested street (unlike Piccadilly itself, one block north). There are plenty of dining and shopping options nearby, plus easy transport to any part of London. Our room, a superior queen, was small but adequate and beautifully designed in green and brown. We were on the 7th floor in the back, which offered a nice view of the skyline, including the London Eye. My main complaint with the room is that there was only one available electrical outlet in the whole room and it was by the desk. It was challenging to manage charging various devices and hairdrying, etc. Also, it should be noted that they charge for internet access (WiFi or wired), and it's not inexpensive. The bathroom was also small but adequate and beautifully designed. Oddly, the glass shower wall only extended about halfway down the side of the tub, so it was impossible to shower without water spraying onto the vanity and floor. Older reviews I read of this hotel noted that the bathroom doors were clear glass, but those have now been changed to frosted glass. They do not offer 100% privacy, but it was not a problem for us because of the way the room was laid out; the bathroom was just inside the doorway, so you wouldn't see into the bathroom from anywhere else in the room, unless you were standing right outside it and there was no reason to do so. Our room rate also included a full English breakfast buffet served in the hotel's restaurant dining room, which was really beautiful and the tables were set with fresh flowers, beautiful silverware and heavy linens. I don't like buffets in general and would have preferred to order from a menu, but the food was fine, if not very extensive; I would have been disappointed if I had paid the going rate (about $33 pp!) for it, but it cost me more like $10 pp and was included in the room rate, so I was happy enough with it. Besides, I sincerely doubt we could have gotten a hot breakfast anywhere nearly as nice for a comparable price. The hotel staff were also very pleasant and helpful. Overall, it was a very nice experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationing fool
Business
PA
Mar 20, 2010

Great Location near Picadilly

Location was fantastic - walking distance to Picadilly and multiple tube stops. Room was small but in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time London Visitor
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2009

Great Hotel

This was a great hotel in a great location. It was a few minute walk from Piccadilly Circus and not far for other often visited London sites. While the Classic Room was small (by typical American hotel room size standards), it had everything we needed (desk, comfortable bed, flat screen TV), was modern, clean and quiet. While there was internet access available in the room for a unknown price, we enjoyed sitting in the 1st floor lounge to use the free Wi-Fi. My wife and I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance from sightseeing attractions, nightlife, and shopping.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Apr 13, 2010

Great Location

The Cavendish London was located beautifully in the heart of London. My fiancee and I took our vacation here after I returned from Iraq. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us with all our travel needs. The Cavendish was centrally located with walking distances to all of London's attraction (ie: Big Ben, monuments, churches, shopping, parks, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 12, 2009

Great location. Near train and parks.

Hotel staff was friendly. Helped me book tours and held my luggage. Convenient location for walking to explore and taking the tube. Bakerloo and Piccadilly lines are a five minute walk away. Room was confortable and quiet. Very convenient to have a free buffet breakfast every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bajaninbcn
Business
Barcelona, Spain
May 12, 2010

Excellent choice

Perfect location in central London, really good breakfast and very nice rooms, although on the small side. My only complaint would be not having free internet, but you can request at least an hour a day of complimentary internet, sometimes they gladly offered two hours. I don't know how old the hotel is, but most of it looks brand new inside. The service from everyone was as good as it gets, with a genuine attitude to help and please. It is at walking distance to most of the classic central London visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to go to the O2 Arena or even other locations close to the Thames the clippers are an excellent option. They are quick, comfortable and at very reasonable prices.

Back to menu Return to top