$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
200 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in the heart of central London!

When our car service first pulled up to the front of the Cavendish London,we knew this hotel was... See full review

  • Earl G
  • Nov 20, 2014
Long weekend trip

We had an excellent time there. Staff is helpful and location is perfect. See full review

  • Fabulous chick
  • Nov 18, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
runyc
Business
New York
Jan 21, 2014

Great hotel, great location

Came here for a 6 day vacation trip. King size bed & a room with contemporary trappings were nice!. Cute chaise lounge. Free Wifi. Nespresso coffee in-room. The Bose sound dock is for older ipods. The location couldn't have been better, with everything in ready walking distance, and lots of cabs always available. From the window of our room, there were great views of many iconic London buildings. My gf and I enjoy walking, so we actually walked to most of these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Jermyn St where the hotel is located has great men's shopping, so you haven't got to walk far with your shopping bags. If you don't mind a little walk, you can also get to several contemporary art galleries from the hotel. Some of the nearby restaurants were absolutely splendid (Aqua Shard, Christopher's, Gymkhana, Roast) and you should definitely check them out. We also enjoyed Wine workshop & kitchen. Also do your homework, and schedule a High tea somewhere! By contrast, the breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was good, but not amazing. Camden was awesome fun. Highly recommend Camden Market. Borough Market is also awesome. If you're looking to see any theater in London, get your tickets early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bend review
Business
bend, OR USA
Mar 15, 2014

GREAT LOCATION!!!

First off I give this hotel a 10+ for location if you want a centeral location that you can walk to lots of attractions. Close to both underground stations and bus stations. I personally walked everywhere. It is right off the beaten path of Piccadilly Circus where there a tons of people, shops, restaurants etc., HOWEVER it is just a block or so away tucked into a cute little street, so not much noise. The room is great although small in American Standards, not a lot of walking space around the bed or places to put clothes and suitcases if you are staying more than a few days. The bed was comfy. We did have a tripped fire alarm in the middle of the night, and a VERY loud neighbor the first night, but I can't quite knock the hotel for that, they were apologetic. I can't comment on the restaurant since we never ate there, but the concierge is helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. My husband plans on coming back again for business and he wil be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annmarie
Business
london
Mar 20, 2014

great location

lovely hotel very close to everything very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 28, 2009

Modern, comfortable, and great staff

Our first impression of the hotel was that it looked very well kept and very modern. It is on a fairly small street in a very nice area, and is extremely central to London and all it has to offer. It has a tube stop just a few minutes walk away. The room was very nice. Soothing colors and fabrics, soft bed and a very nice bathtub. Along with a great view (we were on the 14th floor). The staff were all so friendly and very fast when it came to service. We didn't have to wait for anything. While in London, we went on a self-guided Beatles tour, and it just so happened that Savile Row, where the Beatles played on the roof of the Apple offices was a five minute walk from the hotel. There are so many little shops around the hotel also, including Fortnam and Mason tea room, which is a must visit on a lot of people's lists. Excellent trip, excellent hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to Fortnam and Mason, be sure to make a reservation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 24, 2009

... all about LOCATION!

My wife and I stayed at the The Cavendish London for seven nights from 13Dec-20Dec, and we weren't disappointed! We flew in from San Francisco on an overnight flight and although we arrived early, we were able to get an early check in. What's more, because we were staying for an extended period, the front desk clerk went out of his way to make sure we had a nice room up on the 12th floor! Out the window we could see The London Eye, Big Ben, St. Paul's Cathedral and several other landmarks. We had a "superior" room, and although small, once we stored our suitcases there was plenty of room to move around. The room was sleek and modern and was very clean... the flat screen TV also had several sports channels and I was able to watch NFL games late at night! I might add the bathroom was larger than expected and had very modern appliances and a large bathtub and shower! After a long day of walking around the city, it was nice to soak the feet in the tub! One downside, we had no outlet in the bathroom, so my wife had to plug her curling iron and hair dryer in in the front room! No big deal though... we rolled with it! Also, our room didn't really have a dresser to put clothes into. Again, not a deal breaker! Our deal didn't include free breakfast, so I can't really rate that. The hotel restaurant is on the pricey side, and we opted to get our meals elsewhere. BUT REALLY... the best part about this hotel is the location. Situated between two Tube stops, you can get just about anywhere in London in a matter of minutes. For those of you taking the Underground in from Heathrow, get off at Green Park. It's less crowded than Picadilly Circus and easier to move about with luggage! It takes less than five minutes to walk to either Tube stop. Also within walking distance: SOHO, Leicester Square, Buckingham Palace, and Trafalgar Square just to name a few! There is a church just across the street from the hotel that has a Cafe Nero inside... it was a nice place to grab an espresso to start the day! There is also a Tesco supermarket a couple blocks down and we stocked up on water and croissants and other snacks. There are several restaurants within walking distance ranging from a cheap sandwich to higher end establishments. AND despite being so central, the hotel is very quiet at night. A big plus! All in all, a truly great week in London. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're coming from the US... buy in advance! We bought our Oyster Cards (Tube passes), Tower of London and London Eye tickets, as well as several concert tickets months prior. It gave us a chance to pay everything off before we took one step on UK soil! It almost felt free! All we really had to worry about paying for were food and souvenirs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 11, 2010

Excellent everything

Terrific quiet and clean location 1 block off Picadilly Street between Green Park and Picadilly tubes. Medium walk to all attractions/shopping/theater. Plasma TVs, comfy beds, clean and modern rooms. Breakfast is awesome with hot/cold top tier stuff. Doesn't have recreation, but you can run/walk all around. Eco-friendly. Room size typical of big cities. Hotel looks like it was built last year, tho it wasn't. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster Cards are the way to go, pub food is mostly inexpensive with heaps of food, and public transport close and accessible. Take a little effort to figure out the buses--our kids loved riding on the upper floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanst
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Great Location

Wonderfully situated with access to two tube stations and great walking. Although the rooms were small and had little storage facilities, they were fully modern and clean with nice amenities. The bathroom was large and modernized and very nice. Everything worked! Staff was easily available and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Jul 30, 2010

Good find

Excellent hotel - great location and good value for the money. Rooms were a bit small, but clean, comfortable and typical for Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 27, 2009

Pleasant stay in a great location

The Cavendish is ideally located between the Green Park and Piccadilly stops for the Tube. There is plenty of high end shopping (or window shopping, as it was on our budget) up and down Jermyn Street, where the Cavendish is located. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was stylish and clean. Our only complaint is that the hotel offers timed free internet use (in 15 minute intervals) in its lobby but no free internet in private rooms, which seems chintzy considering how much we paid per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Tesco supermarket on the corner of Jermyn Street, just a short walk from the hotel, and that saved us lots of money. We were able to buy bottles of water, fruit, and other snacks that we kept in our hotel room and then brought with us on our London excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 10, 2010

First class service

Incredible location, beautiful hotel, but the staff really made the hotel a wonderful place to stay. Some of the best service EVER! Only reason it was 4 stars and not 5 was the small room, but you can always upgrade for an extra $30 for a superior room. Thank you Cavendish!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect pub in Mayfair a short walk away on Clarges off Piccadilly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top