$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theatreholic
Business
Washington, DC
May 15, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, good value

If you are going to the theatre and enjoy staying in the heart of London this is the perfect hotel for you. Hotel is located on Jermyn Street and location is quiet and provides tranquility essential for a good night's rest. Rooms are moderate in size but more than ample. Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

West End Theatres are conveniently located near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony Slats
Business
New Haven
Jun 3, 2013

Find

This hotel is not reviwed or recommended by many but it is exceptional. The room was spacious and the staff helpful. Not overly luxurious but very good location in St James, around the corner from the Ritz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bentley Seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
British13
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 9, 2013

Location is outstanding

I've stayed the Cavendish before, and the location is just superb. It's close to all the sites you want to see, and it's in a an area that is a bit tucked away from all of the high traffic areas. It is rather pricey, so if you are staying for a couple of nights it is a great option. The staff has definitely improved since the last time I visited, in the sense that they are much more friendly and cordial. It was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 24, 2009

Tight space but great location

My wife and I stayed here on the first part of our honeymoon. We upgraded for 20 BP per night for the "larger" room ... which was still tight, but good. Very shiek hotel & room interior. Our room rate had breakfast included -- which was a good option.... the buffet was varied enough to satisfy most anyone. Remember to ask for toast or english muffin etc-- they will toast one up and bring it to your table - nice. You cannot beat the location -- walking to Picadilly & Regent St is a snap. The only weirdness -- perhaps it's a British thing -- was the shower. The "door" was just a short glass partition that didn't really do much good in keeping the water from going beyon the tub. Even with care, we'd get the sink area wet....of course it could just be us. We didn't use the on-premise pub etc...they were a bit pricy for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great pubs for dinner/snacks/drinks nearby...one in particular, recommended by the hotel was the "Blue Post" (ask at desk for directions) -- very packed, but great food at resonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prince Henry
Business
Providence, RI
Jan 20, 2010

Location & service vs. size & cost

I travel to London fairly frequently and I still haven't found the ideal hotel. But the Cavendish is the best location I've ever had and is close to the top for the level of service. Despite being just a block off Piccadilly and close to active nightlife, it is a very quiet hotel. The concierge desk was splendid, especially [...], who started helping me even before I arrived. The room (labeled superior) was very small but very well tended. For a longer stay (8 nights) there was little room for storage. The room did have a view -- of London Eye and the very top of Big Ben: XI, XII, and I. There was no fitness facility; 7 pounds bought me a single visit to a gym 10 blocks away that was reasonably well equipped. [...] The cost of an in-room Internet connection was 25 pence a minute, which added up. All in all, it was a successful stay and if the price were right again, I would most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cecconi's on Burlington Gardens at the corner of Savile Row is a stylish yet comfortable Italian restaurant an easy walk from the Cavendish. It serves dinner until 1:00 am every night, which was perfect for a traveler arriving from the US at the hotel at nearly 11pm, hungry and with my internal clock at 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Great Value, Outstanding Location

Although the room accomodations were tight (certainly by American standards), the hotel was very well located and the rooms freshly redecorated. The full breakfast (included in our rate) was first class. All in all, a superb value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 7, 2011

Cavendish London

Situated in a lovely quiet little street across the famous Fortnum & Mason the Cavendish hotel is an absolute delight in terms of location, price, service, and comfort. We reserved the lowest price/smallest room + breakfast deal. The room was quite small, but all the amenities were great. The shower worked beautifully and the room was very clean, tidy, and decorated with modern taste. The breakfast was a fantastic deal - you could either order room service or eat in their lovely restaurant. Breakfast consisted of continental to hot full English breakfast style. We highly recommend you get the deal that includes breakfast. Service is friendly & impeccable and the decor is simple but well up to date. We'll definitely book again if it was available for the same price. We would have given this a 5 star rating had it not been for the maids who constantly knocked on our door as early as 8am and kept slamming the doors when they closed the ones around us. We recommend you leave out the "DO not disturb"' sign on the door if you don't want to be woken up at 8:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jan 22, 2010

London Vacation

Love the hotel and location. Walking distance to everything.Will stay at the same hotel on return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jan 27, 2011

Good Location for Business Meetings

Great central location for business in London. Very clean. Small rooms, best for single occupancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to several good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid 30's couple
Business
Brasil
Sep 30, 2010

Prime location, nice staff

We will sure stay here again. Prime location - really prime, almost impossible to get a better one in London. Very kind and helpful staff, attentive to every small detail and concerned to make your stay a pleasant on (especially the conciergerie and the front desk). Room and bathroom are meticulously clean. Furniture and equipment are modern and brand new. The room is small as usual for European hotels(although not tiny), but the bathroom is quite spacious. We indeed enjoyed our stay at the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top