$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IluvLondon
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2009

The Cavendish London

Took my niece to London as a high school graduation gift -1st time for both! This hotel was fantastic. Somehow, we got a room on the penthouse floor which was an incredible delight given that we stayed for 7 days! The concierges were professional, humorous, patient and most helpful.We didn't use the restaurant or room service but the menu sure looked nice and we saw lots of people drinking, meeting, nibbling in the lounge areas. The best feature, of this very, very nice place, is the location.I would stay there again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It probably pays to take a cab to and from the hotel to Heathrow if you are more than 1 person. It cost 33 pounds for 2 of us on the Heathrow Express, plus the cab ride to the Paddington Sta., for another 14 pounds (including tip!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Suffolk, UK
Jun 20, 2010

Anniversary getaway

Great location near Soho and quick access to the tube. Great memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wimfan
Business
Derry Northern Ireland
Jun 27, 2010

Very central,staff very friendly,

Visited London for the second time. Main reason to attend Wimbledon and take in a show.. A two day stop over.Hotel facilities were excellent and staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

None that I can think of!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pierrelamor
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 3, 2010

Great value for the price!

Excellent location within the walking distance from most London's attractions. Excellent service, very clean, although rather small rooms, and great breakfast included into the price! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Ben, Westminster, Trafalgar Square, Whitehall, Buckingham Palace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, NC
Aug 20, 2010

Cavendish London Hotel

I stayed in a basic room at the hotel. The hotel is very nice and so are the rooms. The rooms are on the small side, but that is expected for London. The breakfast buffet was included in the room price. Breakfast was buffet style and was very good with about anything you could want. The hotel is also in a central location, close to everything including the tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrenchieLady
Business
Dublin
Oct 13, 2010

Lovely and woudl recommend it!

Perfectly located and yet quiet. Room and bathroom were absolutely lovely but then quite small. We did not have suitcases and I guess if we had had, that would have been annoying. Perfect to go from Oxford St (high street shops)or Jermyn St (fancy designer) to restaurants. Covent Garden is around the corner... Check the map but note the hotel can also arrange shows for you. Watch out for cleaning ladies walking in your room even though it's not check out time yet?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S. Citizens living in Hungary
Mar 21, 2011

Nice spacious room, pleasant staff

Great location, right between Green Park and Picadilly Circus (see London Underground Tube map). Walking distance from Buckinham Palace. We purchased a 3-day Underground pass and were able to go everywhere we wanted to go. Note that the Pass only works after 9:00 A.M. The only problem with the hotel was our room was next to the elevator. The hotel staff offered to change our room, but it wasn't that noisy, plus they had 3 elevators and shut off the two on the sides from 11:00 P.M. until about 6:00 A.M. The breakfast was included and was VERY good for Europe. They even offered to make special items if we wanted. The waiters and host were VERY pleasant and polite. We flew RyanAir, so because of weight, we couldn't bring our laptop. The hotel provided 3 Mac computers with free internet access in the lobby. The hotel overall was very nice and very clean. I can't say enough about the pleasant staff. I don't like to spend a lot on a hotel, and this hotel in my opinion was a little expensive, but it was worth it with the location in mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The London Underground Tunnel (subway) brings you near all the major places you want to see. The "Westminster" stop brings you right to the base of Big Ben. You actually have to walk away from it to get a picture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva Switzerland
Mar 25, 2011

well situated, in the heart of London

As I did a lot of visiting the situation of the hotel was ideal .Nice staff, very useful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to London
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 24, 2012

Excellent Location

The hotel staff was extremely helpful stowing luggage, suggesting shows, but didn't know much about the area restaurants in the area we caught Wicked. As a result, we ended up at a so - so pub. The Concierge suggested an excellent location for watching Trooping of the Colours and as such, we were able to view the Queen and a mini changing of the guards at St. James Palace. Had a 9th grade child along with me and we both loved all of the usual sights and some special events, London Eye, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Big Ben, Trooping of the Colours, Piccadilly Circus, Wicked at the Apollo (was incredible!) and the Making of Harry Potter at WB Studios (we spent 7 hours there!!!). Skip the Grey Line Panorama Tour on parade days. The bus missed at least 50 % of the sights and the bus driver was clearly clueless as to where he was actually going - complaining "Where am I going to go now? My street is closed?"!!! Also, the pre-recorded tour guide's description at the sights we did see offered little in the way of description and history. This was a disappointment as other Grey Line tours in NYC and other cities we have visited were outstanding. The location is right between Green Park and Piccadilly subway stops so it was an excellent location. Subways are clearly laid out and easy/safe to use at all hours. There were several cafes located on the street or nearby for morning coffee. The street was quiet and felt safe at all hours. The room was average. The toilet could have used a good cleaning out, but we always received fresh linens and a tidy room upon returning. Everything else felt clean and the room had an iron/board, hair dryer and complimentary coffee (albiet instant!) tea and hot chocolate. There is no mini bar which was fine. London is full of well-dressed, kind and helpful people. From the person behind the window selling Oyster cards to the man who helped haul our luggage up the subway steps, we couldn't have been treated better. London is cleaner than NYC and less harried!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep an eye on formal events going on with the Queen. The mini "Changing of the Guards" at St. James Palace was fantastic. We were 3 of 6 people who were able to witness it. Some research will need to go into when the event occurs as there is not always Beefeaters stationed at the palace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quigs irish
Business
Ireland
Aug 30, 2012

Top class hotel

We had a lovely break in London for five days. It was helped greatly by the comfort provided by the cavendish hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful at all times. It is a very stylish hotel that provides excellent dining facilities. My only slightly negative comment is that the room was small. But other than that I would really recommend a stay in this hotel. Location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top