$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The flying Duch
Business
NJ
Sep 1, 2009

no more than OK

Very good spot for London highlights and nightlife. The room relatively to London is good. The problem was that there were too many malfunctions: in the tab, the door, the iron. Also I did not notice that the order through orbitz was without breakfast, I was amazed to find out that the hotel charges for that 21 pounds per person per day - the best restaurants in London don't charge that amount

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nEW yORK
Oct 16, 2009

SO AND SO

rooms were really small and had to pay extra $50 per night to get better room. for the price i think its expensive. staff was really nice and helpful though, very close to shopping area and resturants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UK Power Travelers
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 1, 2011

Great location.

Great location. No gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarolineB
Business
Bristol
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect location, small room

Great location, clean room and even got a birthday card and cake from the staff, which was really lovely! However, the room was quite a tight fit and, had we been staying for more than one night, may have become an issue. Not quite brilliant value for money in that respect. No other complaints though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConferenceTraveller
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 11, 2010

Convenient but Loud

In a nice area within walking distance to 2 underground stops, Trafalgar square, and Piccadilly circus. Staff friendly. Free wi-fi in lobby that also works (at least on the 5th floor) in your room. Rooms typically small but comfortable and clean. Pre-paid breakfast an excellent deal. Very limited clothing storage. No view. Street noise very loud--laughter and shouting from pub patrons, cars with music blasting and motors racing, trucks parked with motors running---it sounded like the window was open every night; this was on the 5th floor with double glass. Did not sleep well at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wolsley is open until midnight and is only a short walk away for a nice dinner if you arrive late.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingMom1
Business
PA
Jan 5, 2014

Super friendly staff

Just spent a week here with my 20 year old daughter. Couldn't have asked for more from every staff member we met. Concierege (especially Mo) was helpful and spot on with all recommendations. Room was perfect....large bathroom, comfy bed, amazing view. Location was good although local dining was a little difficult. Great little pub right next door. Very accessible to The Tube which made sight-seeing easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liliopinson
Business
Switzerland
Jan 5, 2014

New Year in London

Great stuff, nice hotel, very good food (incl. new year's tasting dinner) and well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
runyc
Business
New York
Jan 21, 2014

Great hotel, great location

Came here for a 6 day vacation trip. King size bed & a room with contemporary trappings were nice!. Cute chaise lounge. Free Wifi. Nespresso coffee in-room. The Bose sound dock is for older ipods. The location couldn't have been better, with everything in ready walking distance, and lots of cabs always available. From the window of our room, there were great views of many iconic London buildings. My gf and I enjoy walking, so we actually walked to most of these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Jermyn St where the hotel is located has great men's shopping, so you haven't got to walk far with your shopping bags. If you don't mind a little walk, you can also get to several contemporary art galleries from the hotel. Some of the nearby restaurants were absolutely splendid (Aqua Shard, Christopher's, Gymkhana, Roast) and you should definitely check them out. We also enjoyed Wine workshop & kitchen. Also do your homework, and schedule a High tea somewhere! By contrast, the breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was good, but not amazing. Camden was awesome fun. Highly recommend Camden Market. Borough Market is also awesome. If you're looking to see any theater in London, get your tickets early.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bend review
Business
bend, OR USA
Mar 15, 2014

GREAT LOCATION!!!

First off I give this hotel a 10+ for location if you want a centeral location that you can walk to lots of attractions. Close to both underground stations and bus stations. I personally walked everywhere. It is right off the beaten path of Piccadilly Circus where there a tons of people, shops, restaurants etc., HOWEVER it is just a block or so away tucked into a cute little street, so not much noise. The room is great although small in American Standards, not a lot of walking space around the bed or places to put clothes and suitcases if you are staying more than a few days. The bed was comfy. We did have a tripped fire alarm in the middle of the night, and a VERY loud neighbor the first night, but I can't quite knock the hotel for that, they were apologetic. I can't comment on the restaurant since we never ate there, but the concierge is helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. My husband plans on coming back again for business and he wil be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annmarie
Business
london
Mar 20, 2014

great location

lovely hotel very close to everything very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top