$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
199 reviews
Long weekend trip

We had an excellent time there. Staff is helpful and location is perfect. See full review

  • Fabulous chick
  • Nov 18, 2014
perfect stay

Amazing!! Best location, very nice room, the view is graet See full review

  • ozrad
  • Sep 25, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Hotel Map

51.5078 -0.1379
Area served
London, UK
Nearby airports
Heathrow-40 min. by cab
Area description
Situated on prestigious Jermyn Street, St James's in the heart of Piccadilly & Mayfair London, the Cavendish Hotel offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. The Cavendish London is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping such as Fortnum & Mason or Harrods or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megan Biz Travel
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2010

Great Hotel

This was the perfect hotel for the end of a 6 city, two week business trip to Europe. The staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the location was perfect for me. Will be staying there again in a couple of weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 31, 2010

Fabulous deal in fancy Mayfair district

This was a fabulous deal in the middle of the fancy Mayfair district. The location is convenient to the subway. We had a beautiful room that actually felt like an American-level 4 star hotel instead of the European-level 4 star hotel (which is usually more like a 3-star hotel). It was also quite large and comfortable. Having the free breakfast in our room was also a nice perk! The only annoyance is that tours like Grayline don't bother to figure out where this hotel is, so they made us walk a long way to catch the bus even though the bus actually stops right by the front door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 15 minute walk to Soho. There's all kinds of great ethnic restaurants. Much better than the food in this area. If you're short for time, the food at the hotel is also surprisingly good. It's not like the typical bad English food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kspeed
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 4, 2010

AMAZING HOTEL!!

We had a fabulous stay at The Cavendish London hotel!! The location was superb, hotel staff was always friendly and accomidating, and room price was perfect especially in that part of London. I would stay there again in a heart beat-I cant wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A S
Business
New York,NY
Sep 7, 2009

GREAT STAY

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cavendish. 1) LOCATION! The location of the Cavendish is perfect. It is right next to the Piccadilly Circus, and extremely close to the theater district and Trafalgar Square. Additionally, the Cavendish very near two major underground stations, which have a direct train to to Heathrow Airport. 2) Room My room was very modern, impeccably clean, quiet, with a very comfortable bed, and a digital thermostat that could be used to set the temperature to preference. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower was great. However, the room was very small and did not have much of a view (although I suspect that may not apply to all rooms) and the bed was a little short for my 6'2" frame (my heels would hang off the end if I was to lay straight on my back). 3) Food I strongly recommend getting the breakfast option. The food is superb. Fresh fruit, scrambled eggs to die for (I want to know how they made them so well), sausages, lox, mushrooms, fresh pastries, and good coffee and tea (I am probably forgetting something). The hotel also has a restaurant, which I had not frequented but which seems to be popular. The Lobby Bar, which I did visit, makes great drinks. 4) Amenities The Hotel includes free wireless internet in the Lobby and the lower floors (I was able to pick it up on the third floor). The room also has an LCD TV that can be used as an alarm and to check your bill (it is tied to the Hotel's system). The hotel also contains a business center, which includes two PC's connected to a printer. I found the printer invaluable as I needed it on several occasions to print vouchers tours I booked over the internet. I do not think there is a gym or a pool. 5) Misc One of the Hotel's marketing ploys are its green initiatives. All of the hallway lights are on motion sensors and turn on only if someone is there. Similarly, the electricity in the rooms only works if the room key is inserted into a special receptacle, thereby ensuring that no electricity is wasted when you are out of the room. Additionally, the food is organic and purchased locally (may explain why it tasted so good). I find this an effective marketing play as I did feel better about myself having stayed there. Conclusion: If you would not have a problem with a small room (or would not mind paying a bit more to get one of the larger rooms), I would strongly recommend staying at the Cavendish. I would gladly stay there again if I was to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Outstanding accomodations, great price

Stayed at the Cavendish London on a business trip. The location was great and the staff was very attentive. Wonderful breakfast and very modern, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vonore, Tennessee
Jan 27, 2010

The Cavendish is GREAT!

What a wonderful hotel. From checkin to checkout, the staff was courtrous and did all they could tomake our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are filled with choices and all made wonderfully. The location is A-1. Within a 5 min walk to the Picadilly tube station and a short walk to Buckingham. All the shopping of Mayfair outside of your door! The theater district is a short walk. Perfect place to be in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London Book Fair Winner
Business
St. Michaels, MD
Jan 29, 2010

Green Hotel with all the ammenties

Terrific green hotel in a wonderful location. My breakfast was included. Very nice buffet options. Room key system was unfamiliar to me and wasn't explained at the desk so I had to make a couple of trips back down to reception to get that sorted out. My room was small but perfect for my two night stay. My only complaint was bathroom smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't make phone calls from the hotel phone. I got charged an outrageous amount for three short calls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Great customer service!

I actually never made it to the Cavendish. My plans for London were blown up with the volcano in Iceland. But, even though the hotel has a non-refundable policy, the hotel has refunded all of my money, with no problem. I will not hesitate to book this hotel again, and hopefully be able to enjoy all of the amenities it has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OppositeLock
Business
Sparta, WI
Aug 21, 2010

Outstanding Hotel

We stayed at the Cavendish for six days in August of 2010 from Sparta, Wisconsin, USA. What a wonderful hotel. The hotel is modern, ecologically "green" and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. (We were on the 14th floor above the street noise, so it was quiet.) The service was impeccable. The desk people were very helpful as were the concierge staff. Housecleaning did a great job. The location is also very good. It's an easy walk to Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace from Piccadilly/St. James. We walked to most of what we wanted to see and do, and took buses to the other places. One of the best things about the hotel is the restaurant. We ate dinner there the day of our arrival. The food was excellent. Well prepared, imaginative and the service was marvelous. Friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Moderate in price. (We later ate at a restaurant up the street that was much more pricey and nowhere near as good.) The breakfasts, which are included in the stay, are not to be missed. The buffet is very inclusive with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereals, mushrooms, juices, etc. All freshly prepared. If you don't see something you like, there is also a menu you can order from to have other items prepared for you. (At no charge.) We would eat a large, hearty breakfast and skip lunch. This saved us quite a bit of money over the week. Two caveats: 1. The standard rooms are small--much like a cruise ship room. But we chose to save the 20-Pounds per day to upgrade to a larger room. There was a small closet, and no dresser so I lived out of my suitcase while my wife used most of the closet. 2. The bed was just a tad short for anyone over six feet tall. (I'm 6'1".) My feet hung over by about an inch. So I slept on my side with my feet drawn up a little and I was fine. All-in-all, we were quite pleased with the Cavendish and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great base from which to explore London. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stoke up at breakfast in the hotel and skip lunch. The breakfast selection is extensive and quite good. Our dinner there on our arrival night was also excellent and competitively priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 10, 2009

A wonderful experience!

The location was perfect, just a block off of Piccadilly and between Green Park and Piccadilly tube stations. The rooms were small but well appointed and the bathroom quite nice. Lobby was very sharp, very good breakfast each morning, and the staff were wonderful. I couldn't recommend the Cavendish more highly. We'll definitely be staying there again when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice street of restaurants a few blocks away behind the Royal Arts Academy on Haddon Street, off of Regent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top