$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
348 reviews
Location!

The room was a bit small, but no problem with 2 suitcases. We stayed only for two nights and had a... See full review

  • Linnemor
  • Jul 14, 2014
Highly recommend! Great spot, super friendly, clean

The Cavendish exceeded all of our expectations for the price we paid to stay here. It was clean,... See full review

  • SaraFromChicago
  • Jun 25, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Hotel Map

51.5078 -0.1379
Area served
London, UK
Nearby airports
Heathrow-40 min. by cab
Area description
Situated on prestigious Jermyn Street, St James's in the heart of Piccadilly & Mayfair London, the Cavendish Hotel offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. The Cavendish London is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping such as Fortnum & Mason or Harrods or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Mar 12, 2010

Manager, Missing in Action

Due to flight issues a did not arrive at the Hotel till the second day of my reservation. I was promptly told I had none and that I was being charged for the night before. The front person managed to rebook me, but I had to wait in the lobby for almost an hour. He called the manager to see about crediting the first night. The desk clerk (acting as a messenger) told me that I had to contact [...] The mysterious manager (who never talked to me) told the [...] person no refund. [...] My colleague on the trip on his last stay had a similar problem, but our host insisted that we give it a try.I would recommend staying just about anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitlondon
Austria
Jul 9, 2013

For one man only

very small 2-bed room, very poor storage space (even for 1 person), bathroom so small, that there wasn´t enough space for a toilet brush, water pressure minimal. location excellent, fine furniture. overall: value- for -money ratio poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shamu-architect
fort lauderdale, FL
Jun 30, 2010

Lady Cavendish would be mortified

We chose this hotel from reviews and when we arrived the location was perfect. We needed to exchange some dollars or Euros for pounds to pay the cab driver but the reception clerk said she could not do so until the concierge showed her how to accomplish this small task. It was charged to our room. Room reserved was a superior King which was fine except for the fact that there was only about 15" of space on the right side of the bed. Not too easy to maneuver. The bath was small and had minimal space for toiletries and was barely adequate to turn around in. The supplied robes( after requesting same) turned out to be extremely worn and in one example had a pocket ripped off. Fabric was as soft as sandpaper. Included breakfast was OK but certainly not worth the $35 per person charge if not included. Closet was small and shallow clothes on hangers had to all be at angles to enable door to close. half of closet space devoted to ironing board and iron. No dresser for clothes had to use three small built in shelves in closet. Toiletries included one small square of soap which was only changed after complaints.The manager said " they were trying to be ecologically friendly". I said it sounds more like you are trying to save a few bucks. To be fair the location is superb, the rest of the staff is wonderful and friendly. It is a great base for sightseeing but I would leave early and stay out late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is only a ten minute walk from hotel and is full of delightful restaurants with reasonably priced menus. The other choices are the pubs close by the hotel that serve delicious pub fare at normal prices( fish and chips $12) If you need to buy bottled water go to the supermarket at the end of Jermyn St and you can buy 2X 1.5 liter bottles for the same cost as a 12Oz coke $3.00.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConferenceTraveller
Boston, MA
Aug 11, 2010

Convenient but Loud

In a nice area within walking distance to 2 underground stops, Trafalgar square, and Piccadilly circus. Staff friendly. Free wi-fi in lobby that also works (at least on the 5th floor) in your room. Rooms typically small but comfortable and clean. Pre-paid breakfast an excellent deal. Very limited clothing storage. No view. Street noise very loud--laughter and shouting from pub patrons, cars with music blasting and motors racing, trucks parked with motors running---it sounded like the window was open every night; this was on the 5th floor with double glass. Did not sleep well at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wolsley is open until midnight and is only a short walk away for a nice dinner if you arrive late.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paris, France
Dec 22, 2011

Room really too small

We had a classic room for 3 nights and it is really to small for 2 considering, moreover, the price we had to pay for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and enjoy The Phantom of The Opera at Her Majesty Theatre. It's so close.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael from NOVA
VA
May 19, 2012

Classic 3-star tourist hotel

+ Superb location, 2 min walk from Piccadilly, 5 from tube. Helpful friendly staff. - Small rooms (yeah, we are Americans), Internet access at $10 PER HOUR, really ascetic room environment. Overall = classic, well run 3-star tourist hotel. Not 4-star by all means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Piccadilly! Soho! Regent Street! Westminster!

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roberta R
Westchester, NY
Jan 26, 2013

Wish you could go back...

I have stayed several times in this hotel before it was sold to the Ascott Group. This was my first stay since the ownership change. I found myself thinking that the 4 star rating might better become 3. The restaurant needed help in menu expansion and choice. There was no recognition that we had stayed and were returning guests of the hotel. Additionally, there is no wifi in the rooms. Finally, the housekeeping didn't continually accomadate our requests: for example, we had asked for additional towels and needed to ask each day for these towels to be brought up again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hazel2145
New York, NY
Feb 6, 2011

The Cavendish London

The hotel was very accomodating to our every request - right down to specially having Maple Syrup for the pancakes we requested. The central location was ideal to walk to the city center. The concierges were very knowledgeable, approachable and friendly. Upon request they provided luggage racks and extra towels to accomodate our suitcases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Mar 8, 2010

Nice newly remodeled shoebox size room

I am used to small rooms in London but my room was so small that I knocked over my sparkling water on my desk as it was too close to the closet and I bumped my elbow on the wall getting the toilet paper and a bathroom only had a shower. For just a little more money I switched to Le Meridien Piccadilly just down the street and I had a massive room with a couch and coffee table, a table to eat on, a walk in closet and a big bathroom with bath and shower. You could live there for a month with no issues! It is almost done with the remodeling and the staff are extremely helpful there too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The flying Duch
NJ
Sep 1, 2009

no more than OK

Very good spot for London highlights and nightlife. The room relatively to London is good. The problem was that there were too many malfunctions: in the tab, the door, the iron. Also I did not notice that the order through orbitz was without breakfast, I was amazed to find out that the hotel charges for that 21 pounds per person per day - the best restaurants in London don't charge that amount

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search