$242 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
196 reviews
Location!

The room was a bit small, but no problem with 2 suitcases. We stayed only for two nights and had a... See full review

  • Linnemor
  • Jul 14, 2014
Highly recommend! Great spot, super friendly, clean

The Cavendish exceeded all of our expectations for the price we paid to stay here. It was clean,... See full review

  • SaraFromChicago
  • Jun 25, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Hotel Map

51.5078 -0.1379
Area served
London, UK
Nearby airports
Heathrow-40 min. by cab
Area description
Situated on prestigious Jermyn Street, St James's in the heart of Piccadilly & Mayfair London, the Cavendish Hotel offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. The Cavendish London is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping such as Fortnum & Mason or Harrods or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 196
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
illinois
Jan 20, 2011

absolutely wonderful

clean neat location great staff most helpful highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tirednewmombreak
Dublin
Apr 6, 2013

Just what I expected from other reviews-all good

We spent 2 nights on a sight seeing trip to London in The Cavendish and if we were going back we'd stay here again. The hotel is in a good location (5 min walk to Picadilly and Regent street) the staff were without exception lovely, very professional and friendly. We chose not to have dinner on either night in the hotel as the menu really was not to our liking, just a personal preference. We upgraded our room from standard and it really was lovely but thankfully we spent very little time there as it was tiny. We had breakfast in our room on both mornings and thought it was lovely- definitely a gem. Only negative ( and it has nothing to do with the hotel!) was our experience eating in Greene's restaurant (right across from the hotel) completely over priced as well as being charged £7.50 each for basically sitting down!!! Food was ok but nothing amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If its sight seeing you're after use the Original Tour Company, tickets can be bought for 24 or 48 hours and may seem expensive initially but if you plan where you want to spend time works out as the easiest way and overall relatively cheap to get around- depts (3 diff tours) every 20 mins from Picadilly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Boston
Boston Massachusetts
Nov 2, 2012

Great

We had a lovely time at the Cavendish , staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defiantly stay with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
infieldfly
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2009

Outstanding, friendly service!

Our family of 4 had 2 rooms at this stylish european hotel. A full English breakfast was included with the room. The restaurant was fabulous, the daily breakfast included a buffet as well as eggs cooked to order. The eggs benedict were superb. We enjoyed dinner twice at the hotel, once a pre-theatre special. Both meals were outstanding, I had a hard time convincing my family to eat anywhere else. However, when we did try other local restaurants we found the food and service to be excellent as well. One standout was the Al Duca Italian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. The food was great and it provided a true contemporary Italian experience right in the heart of London. The Cavendish is very conveniently located just 3 blocks from Piccadilly Circus, but far enough away that you can avoid the Piccadilly noise and crowds. It is within easy walking distance to Trafalger Square and Buckingham palace. In typical London style the rooms were small but very comfortable. The quality of the materials used in the rooms was top notch. The rooms were also very quiet and the cleaning staff was very efficient. We would end each day in the first floor lounge where the restaurant manager would come to our table and greet us by name then chat with us about our day. This nice touch impressed my family and made us feel very comfortable there. My one complaint was the lack of reasonably price internet service. While you can get free wireless service in the lobby, if you want service in your room you will pay £20 pounds daily for the privilege, at the current exchange rate that is $32. In room service was wired only which doesn't help if you're using an iPhone or iPod touch. We just wanted to be able to plan our sightseeing days and having to do it in the lobby was very inconvenient. The only other problems we ran into on this trip were the fault of Orbitz. When I setup the reservations I had to call Orbitz in order to specify two different room types, one queen and one with two singles. To satisfy this request Orbitz created two different travel itineraries. The first problem was that Orbitz combined our middle name and last name on all of our airline tickets. We had to show up at the airport early to correct the problem with the airlines so as not to create confusion with the passports. Then when we arrived at the hotel they had both reservations but Orbitz had actually booked the same room types so we had two rooms with queen beds. The hotel was able to correct the situation on our second night. Next time I will call the hotel and airlines directly to book my trip. If you can live with the internet service issue then I would highly recommend the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pret Manger sandwich shops can be found all around London and provide very high quality, delicious foods for lunch at very reasonable prices. After discovering Pret the second day of our trip, it was the only place we ate for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling mom and daughter
Texas
Aug 7, 2010

wonderful stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Cavendish. The location is perfect- between 2 tube stops and within walking distance of most tourist spots. It's a stylish hotel, nice staff, comfortable beds, adjustable air, bathroom good for our needs. Did not eat at the hotel, so since I had to rate dining, I put a 4 only because I don't know. Other reviewers mentioned the glass bathroom door...it's frosted and you can't see in- no problem. I was with my daughter who just completed a summer abroad college term in London. We booked the classic room which was perfect for us sharing a bed. Having been in London for a term, she thought the location couldn't have been better and was very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 19, 2010

Excellent location & breakfast

Great location -- very close to Tube as well as major tourist attraction, shopping and musicals. Breakfast buffet is also great value and excellent choices. In-room internet connectivity at 15 pounds a day disconnects frequent and double charges for 5 out of the 10 days I have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Within reach of very convenient Tube (and kid < 10 rides FREE), there are so many kids-friendly museums that are also FREE of admission fee -- Science Museum, Natural History Museum, Imperial War Museum, British Museum (with a kids-friendly version)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2009

A NICE FIND

Great location between Picadilly & Green Park.  Walking distance to all the major sights, but nicely positioned on a quieter street, a block away from the action.  Amazing view on the upper floors.  Great cooked English breakfast buffet included in our deal, set in an elegant dining room.  The lobby looked a like it could use a little facelift, but everything else looked modern chic & spotless.  The concierge was very friendly & helpful.  Definitely a great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buckingham Palace tour of the State Rooms is worth the money to get a glimpse of royal life! Also, the London Eye & the surrounding embankment area is great for kids. There's a carousel, playground equipment & an area to let loose in between the sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linnemor
Bergen, Norway
Jul 14, 2014

Location!

The room was a bit small, but no problem with 2 suitcases. We stayed only for two nights and had a room on the 5 th floor. Just like the shown pictures. Breakfast was expensive (22,50) so we had a coffee at Starbucks. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buckingham Palace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Jul 31, 2009

Terrific time in London

The location of the Cavendish was superb. The staff helpful. The trip was a 15th Birthday gift to my granddaughter,with an emphasis on British history. Highlights: Tower of London, Westminster Abbey, seeing Jude Law play Hamlet, Oxford, Stratford. What a great trip..only drawbacks: very costly, too much rain, and we avoided the underground because of flu warnings. One week is not enough to do everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For first timers the hop on/hop off bus is very useful for an overview of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angles
Jan 1, 2010

Family London Holiday

The local was perfect, close to the tube, the staff was friendly and very helpful...We arrived at 0800 after traveling from los angeles and the hotel allowed us to check in early!!! Breakfast was wonderful will be back as soon as I save some more pounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search