$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demiroff
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jun 3, 2013

Easy access to London!

Perfectly located for pretty much anything you want to do in London. Situated between Green Park and Piccadilly Circus Tube stations - you're in walking distance to Buckingham Palace or Piccadilly Circus right off the bat! As it's off the Piccadilly line, you can get here from Heathrow without changing lines and for a much better price than taking a taxi! Hotel is just behind Fortnum and Mason. The hotel is comforable and very clean. Staff are friendly. I had a standard room and was in London for 7 nights. Although technically small by North America standards, it was a good size for 1 person. For 2 people it might be too small (consider upgrading) if you spend a lot of time in the room (not a lot of space to move around for 2 bodies). Private in-room bathroom - which I always check for when traveling in Europe; also clean. Only a shower (no tub) but I knew that and didn't need a bath tub so no issue. Good enough space in bathroom to dry off from shower; has a towel heating rack too (never used one before, so cool)! There is a closet and a safe in the room as well as a desk. Hotel provides a bottle of water, free of charge, that is refilled when room is cleaned - which I thought was a nice touch as most hotels would charge for it. TV has limited channels but there is the ability to purchase movies if so desired. Also a daily newspaper is also provided free of charge each morning if wanted. WiFi is available in the hotel room but it is a daily cost, which is not cheap. I only bought the service on 1 day and can state that the signal is a good strength. You can, however, get free service in the common areas of the hotel - I just didn't find it convenient to go to those areas as I needed it later at night and didn't want to leave my room. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of standard selections as well as the ability to order a la carte if you wanted something else. It is not a cheap option and certainly being located a block from Piccadilly Street, there are a lot of other options for breakfast so I only ate here once. Room service is also available (I didn't use it). From Green Park Tube station you can get to Victoria, Euston or King's Cross or St. Pancras International train stations. Easy travel for a day trip to Paris or Brussels!! I did both and it was awesome. Catch the earliest train out and latest train back for a full experience! From Euston station - easy to take the overground train to Watford Junction train station for the Harry Potter tour at Warner Bros. Studios. Worth the money if you are a Harry Potter fan. Also don't forget to visit the 9 3/4 platform for a fun picture at King's Cross station! I went to see Wicked!, which was easily reached from Victoria Tube station. Highly recommend it! For night life and if you like crowds, nothing beats being around the people at Piccadilly Circus. Great restaurants or a quick bite to eat. Many well priced stores for British souvenirs! Also close to the theatres! Also in walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe, which is just a few blocks from Green Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although the hotel will advertise it's by the Piccadilly Circus Tube stop (probably because it's famous) it's a shorter walk from the Green Park stop. This stop also connects with Jubilee and Victoria lines, which means it is a better stop for connections. Green Park is also the Tube station in front of Buckingham Palace (walk through Green Park park)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain Tuttle
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Nov 9, 2013

Location perfect, all else quite good

Truly the perfect location for vacationing in London. And by our standards, everything else was all we could ask for. Granted, we're not too picky, and our focus was on the city and not the hotel. But there was nothing to complain about, so I won't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harry z
Business
Geneva
Apr 8, 2014

Perfect for parents only weekend

Apart from missing fridge in bedroom it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fortnam & Mason just across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YoniTX
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 14, 2014

Happy, repeat customer

This was my 2nd stay at The Cavendish and my stay was just as enjoyable as last time. Here's my quick take - Location, location, location. Can't be beat, real close to Piccadilly Circus yet far enough you don't hear the traffic. - Rooms was very clean and cozy. Bathroom was also clean and came with modern touches. - I wish they had a gym. There's a gym nearby for 7.5GBP day pass. - Cozy bar downstairs If you stay here I recommend you stop at the Italian restaurant 'Getti'. They have a great atmosphere and awesome food. Special shout out to resident Chelsea supporter Ralph at the bar who made my stay extra memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go grab a pizza at 'Getti'. Great appetizers and food. Top notch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura vet 5
Business
South Wales
Apr 29, 2014

Lovely Stay

Free upgrade and the staff could not be more helpful. Will definitely stay again! Lovely base to explore London and just around the corner from the Phantom of the Opera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJJ25
Business
Wales
May 7, 2014

Great stay

A relaxed hotel with high standards. All staff were excellent - couldn't be more helpful. Nice lobby and bar area, staff here also attentive without suffocating. Lovely spotless room on top floor. Great location next to Fortnum & Masons right on piccadily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
May 29, 2010

Perfect hotel for anyone.

We love this hotel. We've stayed there many times in the past and believe it is the best value in London. The rooms are spotless and the bathroom has big fluffy towels and upgraded soaps and shampoos. It sounds like a little thing, but it's wonderful when on vacation. It also has an excellent breakfast buffet. The location is great, a short walk to Green Park tube station, which intersects 3 lines, so it's easy to get just about anywhere. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A perfect location if you want to see all the London attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 26, 2009

Excellent hotel..amazing staff..

I stayed at the Cavendish with my friend. The hotel is in an amazing location, between 2 different tube station less than 5 min walk to either one). Alot of tourist attraction around which means lots of food, shopping, sight seeing. the rooms are very comfortable and clean. the most amazing comfortable beds i have ever slept on. the staff are super friendly and helpful. we managed to get free internet through our 10 day stay bc we were using the computers in the lobby but for wireless connection im not sure. the breakfast buffet was very good and yummy! i would probably stay at the Cavendish again and ill recommend it to others as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While staying at the Cavendish I dined at the Toku Japanese restaurant at 212 Piccadilly. The food is amazing, affordable (anywhere between £10 to £20 per/person). I went to Toku twice while there and both times they were VERY busy! So don't be surprised if you have to share a table with strangers. Definitely will go back to eat here again, all the food I ate tasted very fresh and felt like home cooked meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Awesome Hotel & Perfect Location

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megan Biz Travel
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2010

Great Hotel

This was the perfect hotel for the end of a 6 city, two week business trip to Europe. The staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the location was perfect for me. Will be staying there again in a couple of weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top