$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
200 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in the heart of central London!

When our car service first pulled up to the front of the Cavendish London,we knew this hotel was... See full review

  • Earl G
  • Nov 20, 2014
Long weekend trip

We had an excellent time there. Staff is helpful and location is perfect. See full review

  • Fabulous chick
  • Nov 18, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oliunya
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2012

Great location, service, overall is a gem

Found it online. Location doesnt get better than this. Close to most attraction, yet on a nice quite street. Reasonable price, exellent quality, exceptional staff. Great find! A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

broadway shows at a fraction of a price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Boston
Business
Boston Massachusetts
Nov 2, 2012

Great

We had a lovely time at the Cavendish , staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defiantly stay with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas Robb
Business
Chicago, Il
Nov 6, 2012

Small but powerful.

We visited the Cavendish for 10 days. perhaps longer than most travelers. The location was spectacular, near the National Museum of Art, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Many Theatres, options for trains, close to Westminster Abbey, St. Pauls, Big Ben and other great tourist spots. Only problem with the Hotel was the size of the room, if two are present one needs to sit down to wait or the other to finish dressing etc. but otherwise extremely comfortable and clean with a staff among the very best!!! Price was right, food excellent, and assisted in all our activities. we are in the 70 + bracket and never felt too old to enjoy the hotel (some may know what I mean)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Frequent Traveler
Business
Chicago
Dec 26, 2012

Perfect Location for a Charles Dickens Christmas

Staff was very helpful and friendly. It was easy to get to most major attractions and shopping from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jj2013
Business
New York
Jan 29, 2013

Great spot for a young couple

I live in the USA and I met a friend who lives in London and she I spent a few nights at the hotel. The hotel was perfect for a couple getting away and it was located very close to some nice areas. There is a ton of great stuff in walking distance, including the tube. I was there with a native Londoner and she and I had a great time, there is plenty of great stuff around there that's not real touristy, although there is a lot of that stuff too. The room was nice and modern, bed was comfortable, bathroom was very good, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The 39 Steps is a great show and right down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicehood
Business
Switzerland
Jan 29, 2013

Perfect location great hotel

Everything is fine, just need cheaper wifi and less complicate tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tia Tran
Business
Sydney, Australia
Apr 2, 2013

Fantastic Hotel and Great Staff

Beautiful and comfortable hotel (I stayed in the Classic Room). It's situated in between Green Park and Piccadilly Circus - so you're 2 minutes away from the city centre where you have Ripleys, M&M's, a number of Theatre and Licester Square where you can buy the half price tickets. Then you have Oxford St shopping right around the corner too. On the Green Park side it's central to catching the Tube to other Touristy destinations and Buckingham Palace is right by! Amazing location, amazing hotel, amazing shopping and very friendly welcoming staff. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are SO SO Close to shops or close to the Tube that will take you ANYWHERE. The location is right inbetween a Major Tube station or the city centre. If I were to return to London this hotel will be the place to be!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alice Louise
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Convenient location, excellent service

The Cavendish is in the perfect location for tourists looking to be nearby but out of the "super" tourist traps, with convenient access to two different tube stations, multiple tube lines, numerous buses, and within walking distance to many places (the Green Park station even has elevators, super helpful to/from airport on the same color line). Staff was friendly and helpful, room was newly refurbished and nicely appointed (though small), and the restaurant was good (the theatre menu is a bargain, other items pretty expensive). We loved the convenience of being able to "stop by" on our way to and from other places. The only downfall was the slow elevator service, but they are scheduled to be serviced and retimed soon. A great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High tea at the Ritz is worth every penny-- and only a couple of short blocks away! Reservations a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tirednewmombreak
Business
Dublin
Apr 6, 2013

Just what I expected from other reviews-all good

We spent 2 nights on a sight seeing trip to London in The Cavendish and if we were going back we'd stay here again. The hotel is in a good location (5 min walk to Picadilly and Regent street) the staff were without exception lovely, very professional and friendly. We chose not to have dinner on either night in the hotel as the menu really was not to our liking, just a personal preference. We upgraded our room from standard and it really was lovely but thankfully we spent very little time there as it was tiny. We had breakfast in our room on both mornings and thought it was lovely- definitely a gem. Only negative ( and it has nothing to do with the hotel!) was our experience eating in Greene's restaurant (right across from the hotel) completely over priced as well as being charged £7.50 each for basically sitting down!!! Food was ok but nothing amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If its sight seeing you're after use the Original Tour Company, tickets can be bought for 24 or 48 hours and may seem expensive initially but if you plan where you want to spend time works out as the easiest way and overall relatively cheap to get around- depts (3 diff tours) every 20 mins from Picadilly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cjs12345
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 10, 2013

Recent Trip to London

This was my second trip to London, and the second time I stayed at the Cavendish Hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to London in the future. It is in a great location near the tube, and centrally located to most of the major sightseeing attractions, including to walking distance to Buckingham Palace, National Gallery, Leicester Square, tons of shopping and restaurants. I felt extremely safe walking around this area, even late at night. The hotel staff were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and the concierge was able to help me find what I needed on several occassions. If you do stay here, try to get a room on the upper levels because the view of the city is very nice. I was put in a room that was high enough to get a glimpse but not quite high enough to get the fully experience. You probably need the 10th floor or higher. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Big Bus Tour stop at Green Park. I highly recommend that you take the Big Bus guided Tour first before deciding which sites you may want to visit. The full drive around town took roughly 2 hours and was well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top