$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
314 reviews
Highly recommend! Great spot, super friendly, clean

The Cavendish exceeded all of our expectations for the price we paid to stay here. It was clean,... See full review

  • SaraFromChicago
  • Jun 25, 2014
Great stay

A relaxed hotel with high standards. All staff were excellent - couldn't be more helpful. Nice... See full review

  • TJJ25
  • May 7, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5078 -0.1379
Area served
London, UK
Nearby airports
Heathrow-40 min. by cab
Area description
Situated on prestigious Jermyn Street, St James's in the heart of Piccadilly & Mayfair London, the Cavendish Hotel offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. The Cavendish London is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping such as Fortnum & Mason or Harrods or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Potomac, MD
Sep 7, 2010

A Wonderful Find!

Since The Cavendish is not a chain, we did not know what to expect. We were so pleasantly surprised in every respect. The location could not be better for a tourist in London. Everything was simply perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CALIFORNIA
Mar 31, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

HOTEL WAS LOCATED CLOSE TO BUCKINGHAM PALACE, SOHO, SHOPPING, THEATRE, RESTAURANT, ETC. WALKIING DISTANCE! HOTEL ALSO HAD COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST THAT WAS GREAT! RESTAURANT WAS ALSO VERY CLEAN AND SERVICE WAS GREAT. ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THAT INTERNET USE WAS NOT FREE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vonore, Tennessee
Jan 27, 2010

The Cavendish is GREAT!

What a wonderful hotel. From checkin to checkout, the staff was courtrous and did all they could tomake our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are filled with choices and all made wonderfully. The location is A-1. Within a 5 min walk to the Picadilly tube station and a short walk to Buckingham. All the shopping of Mayfair outside of your door! The theater district is a short walk. Perfect place to be in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Jan 14, 2010

Fantastic

location,location,location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
infieldfly
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2009

Outstanding, friendly service!

Our family of 4 had 2 rooms at this stylish european hotel. A full English breakfast was included with the room. The restaurant was fabulous, the daily breakfast included a buffet as well as eggs cooked to order. The eggs benedict were superb. We enjoyed dinner twice at the hotel, once a pre-theatre special. Both meals were outstanding, I had a hard time convincing my family to eat anywhere else. However, when we did try other local restaurants we found the food and service to be excellent as well. One standout was the Al Duca Italian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. The food was great and it provided a true contemporary Italian experience right in the heart of London. The Cavendish is very conveniently located just 3 blocks from Piccadilly Circus, but far enough away that you can avoid the Piccadilly noise and crowds. It is within easy walking distance to Trafalger Square and Buckingham palace. In typical London style the rooms were small but very comfortable. The quality of the materials used in the rooms was top notch. The rooms were also very quiet and the cleaning staff was very efficient. We would end each day in the first floor lounge where the restaurant manager would come to our table and greet us by name then chat with us about our day. This nice touch impressed my family and made us feel very comfortable there. My one complaint was the lack of reasonably price internet service. While you can get free wireless service in the lobby, if you want service in your room you will pay £20 pounds daily for the privilege, at the current exchange rate that is $32. In room service was wired only which doesn't help if you're using an iPhone or iPod touch. We just wanted to be able to plan our sightseeing days and having to do it in the lobby was very inconvenient. The only other problems we ran into on this trip were the fault of Orbitz. When I setup the reservations I had to call Orbitz in order to specify two different room types, one queen and one with two singles. To satisfy this request Orbitz created two different travel itineraries. The first problem was that Orbitz combined our middle name and last name on all of our airline tickets. We had to show up at the airport early to correct the problem with the airlines so as not to create confusion with the passports. Then when we arrived at the hotel they had both reservations but Orbitz had actually booked the same room types so we had two rooms with queen beds. The hotel was able to correct the situation on our second night. Next time I will call the hotel and airlines directly to book my trip. If you can live with the internet service issue then I would highly recommend the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pret Manger sandwich shops can be found all around London and provide very high quality, delicious foods for lunch at very reasonable prices. After discovering Pret the second day of our trip, it was the only place we ate for lunch.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Jan 14, 2010

Fantastic

location,location,location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demiroff
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jun 3, 2013

Easy access to London!

Perfectly located for pretty much anything you want to do in London. Situated between Green Park and Piccadilly Circus Tube stations - you're in walking distance to Buckingham Palace or Piccadilly Circus right off the bat! As it's off the Piccadilly line, you can get here from Heathrow without changing lines and for a much better price than taking a taxi! Hotel is just behind Fortnum and Mason. The hotel is comforable and very clean. Staff are friendly. I had a standard room and was in London for 7 nights. Although technically small by North America standards, it was a good size for 1 person. For 2 people it might be too small (consider upgrading) if you spend a lot of time in the room (not a lot of space to move around for 2 bodies). Private in-room bathroom - which I always check for when traveling in Europe; also clean. Only a shower (no tub) but I knew that and didn't need a bath tub so no issue. Good enough space in bathroom to dry off from shower; has a towel heating rack too (never used one before, so cool)! There is a closet and a safe in the room as well as a desk. Hotel provides a bottle of water, free of charge, that is refilled when room is cleaned - which I thought was a nice touch as most hotels would charge for it. TV has limited channels but there is the ability to purchase movies if so desired. Also a daily newspaper is also provided free of charge each morning if wanted. WiFi is available in the hotel room but it is a daily cost, which is not cheap. I only bought the service on 1 day and can state that the signal is a good strength. You can, however, get free service in the common areas of the hotel - I just didn't find it convenient to go to those areas as I needed it later at night and didn't want to leave my room. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of standard selections as well as the ability to order a la carte if you wanted something else. It is not a cheap option and certainly being located a block from Piccadilly Street, there are a lot of other options for breakfast so I only ate here once. Room service is also available (I didn't use it). From Green Park Tube station you can get to Victoria, Euston or King's Cross or St. Pancras International train stations. Easy travel for a day trip to Paris or Brussels!! I did both and it was awesome. Catch the earliest train out and latest train back for a full experience! From Euston station - easy to take the overground train to Watford Junction train station for the Harry Potter tour at Warner Bros. Studios. Worth the money if you are a Harry Potter fan. Also don't forget to visit the 9 3/4 platform for a fun picture at King's Cross station! I went to see Wicked!, which was easily reached from Victoria Tube station. Highly recommend it! For night life and if you like crowds, nothing beats being around the people at Piccadilly Circus. Great restaurants or a quick bite to eat. Many well priced stores for British souvenirs! Also close to the theatres! Also in walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe, which is just a few blocks from Green Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although the hotel will advertise it's by the Piccadilly Circus Tube stop (probably because it's famous) it's a shorter walk from the Green Park stop. This stop also connects with Jubilee and Victoria lines, which means it is a better stop for connections. Green Park is also the Tube station in front of Buckingham Palace (walk through Green Park park)!

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bologna, italy
Jan 12, 2010

perfect!!!

the location of the hotel is simply perfect, walking distance to mayor attractions: buckingam palace, hyde park, bond street, piccadilly, theatre, everything you want is nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, Idaho
Mar 29, 2011

Great access to the West End

Our stay at The Hotel Cavendish was excellent. The hotel has a top notch staff and comfortable rooms. The breakfast (included with our room) was excellent. Our group included a person in a wheelchair. The hotel staff members were routinely helpful. The hotel is very accessible, with a lift to each floor and ramps available for access to the restaurant. We booked a superior room. It had a great view! We'll definitely book at The Hotel Cavendish again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Glass House pub around the corner (off Jermyn St.) was great.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megan Biz Travel
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2010

Great Hotel

This was the perfect hotel for the end of a 6 city, two week business trip to Europe. The staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the location was perfect for me. Will be staying there again in a couple of weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top