$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain Tuttle
Couples
Williamsburg, VA
Nov 9, 2013

Location perfect, all else quite good

Truly the perfect location for vacationing in London. And by our standards, everything else was all we could ask for. Granted, we're not too picky, and our focus was on the city and not the hotel. But there was nothing to complain about, so I won't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitlondon
Family
Austria
Jul 9, 2013

For one man only

very small 2-bed room, very poor storage space (even for 1 person), bathroom so small, that there wasn´t enough space for a toilet brush, water pressure minimal. location excellent, fine furniture. overall: value- for -money ratio poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony Slats
Couples
New Haven
Jun 3, 2013

Find

This hotel is not reviwed or recommended by many but it is exceptional. The room was spacious and the staff helpful. Not overly luxurious but very good location in St James, around the corner from the Ritz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bentley Seafood

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demiroff
Single
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jun 3, 2013

Easy access to London!

Perfectly located for pretty much anything you want to do in London. Situated between Green Park and Piccadilly Circus Tube stations - you're in walking distance to Buckingham Palace or Piccadilly Circus right off the bat! As it's off the Piccadilly line, you can get here from Heathrow without changing lines and for a much better price than taking a taxi! Hotel is just behind Fortnum and Mason. The hotel is comforable and very clean. Staff are friendly. I had a standard room and was in London for 7 nights. Although technically small by North America standards, it was a good size for 1 person. For 2 people it might be too small (consider upgrading) if you spend a lot of time in the room (not a lot of space to move around for 2 bodies). Private in-room bathroom - which I always check for when traveling in Europe; also clean. Only a shower (no tub) but I knew that and didn't need a bath tub so no issue. Good enough space in bathroom to dry off from shower; has a towel heating rack too (never used one before, so cool)! There is a closet and a safe in the room as well as a desk. Hotel provides a bottle of water, free of charge, that is refilled when room is cleaned - which I thought was a nice touch as most hotels would charge for it. TV has limited channels but there is the ability to purchase movies if so desired. Also a daily newspaper is also provided free of charge each morning if wanted. WiFi is available in the hotel room but it is a daily cost, which is not cheap. I only bought the service on 1 day and can state that the signal is a good strength. You can, however, get free service in the common areas of the hotel - I just didn't find it convenient to go to those areas as I needed it later at night and didn't want to leave my room. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of standard selections as well as the ability to order a la carte if you wanted something else. It is not a cheap option and certainly being located a block from Piccadilly Street, there are a lot of other options for breakfast so I only ate here once. Room service is also available (I didn't use it). From Green Park Tube station you can get to Victoria, Euston or King's Cross or St. Pancras International train stations. Easy travel for a day trip to Paris or Brussels!! I did both and it was awesome. Catch the earliest train out and latest train back for a full experience! From Euston station - easy to take the overground train to Watford Junction train station for the Harry Potter tour at Warner Bros. Studios. Worth the money if you are a Harry Potter fan. Also don't forget to visit the 9 3/4 platform for a fun picture at King's Cross station! I went to see Wicked!, which was easily reached from Victoria Tube station. Highly recommend it! For night life and if you like crowds, nothing beats being around the people at Piccadilly Circus. Great restaurants or a quick bite to eat. Many well priced stores for British souvenirs! Also close to the theatres! Also in walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe, which is just a few blocks from Green Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although the hotel will advertise it's by the Piccadilly Circus Tube stop (probably because it's famous) it's a shorter walk from the Green Park stop. This stop also connects with Jubilee and Victoria lines, which means it is a better stop for connections. Green Park is also the Tube station in front of Buckingham Palace (walk through Green Park park)!

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theatreholic
Single
Washington, DC
May 15, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, good value

If you are going to the theatre and enjoy staying in the heart of London this is the perfect hotel for you. Hotel is located on Jermyn Street and location is quiet and provides tranquility essential for a good night's rest. Rooms are moderate in size but more than ample. Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

West End Theatres are conveniently located near the hotel.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonJim
Couples
Boston,MA
Apr 21, 2013

London position "A"

For a London visit the location of the Cavendish could not be better. Within walking distance to Picadilly Circle and major shopping opportunities on Picadilly St., Regent Street, and St. James. Also easy tube connection out of Picadilly and Green Park stations. Standard room is small by American standards but nicely decorated and equipped with a contemporary look and flat screen TV. Hotel staff attentive , friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

An absolute classic British shopping experience is literally across the street from the hotel.......Fortnum and Mason . A unique experience !

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Trip to London
Friends
Geneva, Switzerland
Apr 19, 2013

Location, Location, Location

Perfect hotel to enjoy a meal or shopping at Fortnum and Mason (next door). Close to transport and shopping. The rooms were nicely decorated with modern bathrooms. The only thing missing was a mini bar. Front desk staff could have been a tad friendlier but otherwise a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggs Benedict and their outstanding tea for a breakfast treat at Fortnum and Mason next door

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cjs12345
Single
Raleigh, NC
Apr 10, 2013

Recent Trip to London

This was my second trip to London, and the second time I stayed at the Cavendish Hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to London in the future. It is in a great location near the tube, and centrally located to most of the major sightseeing attractions, including to walking distance to Buckingham Palace, National Gallery, Leicester Square, tons of shopping and restaurants. I felt extremely safe walking around this area, even late at night. The hotel staff were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and the concierge was able to help me find what I needed on several occassions. If you do stay here, try to get a room on the upper levels because the view of the city is very nice. I was put in a room that was high enough to get a glimpse but not quite high enough to get the fully experience. You probably need the 10th floor or higher. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Big Bus Tour stop at Green Park. I highly recommend that you take the Big Bus guided Tour first before deciding which sites you may want to visit. The full drive around town took roughly 2 hours and was well worth it.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tirednewmombreak
Family
Dublin
Apr 6, 2013

Just what I expected from other reviews-all good

We spent 2 nights on a sight seeing trip to London in The Cavendish and if we were going back we'd stay here again. The hotel is in a good location (5 min walk to Picadilly and Regent street) the staff were without exception lovely, very professional and friendly. We chose not to have dinner on either night in the hotel as the menu really was not to our liking, just a personal preference. We upgraded our room from standard and it really was lovely but thankfully we spent very little time there as it was tiny. We had breakfast in our room on both mornings and thought it was lovely- definitely a gem. Only negative ( and it has nothing to do with the hotel!) was our experience eating in Greene's restaurant (right across from the hotel) completely over priced as well as being charged £7.50 each for basically sitting down!!! Food was ok but nothing amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If its sight seeing you're after use the Original Tour Company, tickets can be bought for 24 or 48 hours and may seem expensive initially but if you plan where you want to spend time works out as the easiest way and overall relatively cheap to get around- depts (3 diff tours) every 20 mins from Picadilly.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alice Louise
Couples
Miami, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Convenient location, excellent service

The Cavendish is in the perfect location for tourists looking to be nearby but out of the "super" tourist traps, with convenient access to two different tube stations, multiple tube lines, numerous buses, and within walking distance to many places (the Green Park station even has elevators, super helpful to/from airport on the same color line). Staff was friendly and helpful, room was newly refurbished and nicely appointed (though small), and the restaurant was good (the theatre menu is a bargain, other items pretty expensive). We loved the convenience of being able to "stop by" on our way to and from other places. The only downfall was the slow elevator service, but they are scheduled to be serviced and retimed soon. A great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High tea at the Ritz is worth every penny-- and only a couple of short blocks away! Reservations a must.

Back to menu Return to top