$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler unique
Business
Melbourne FL
Apr 20, 2013

Annual trip to London

The Cavendish is a wonderful hotel with a great location. Walk to Green Park tube station and right behind Fortnam& Mason. Visited British Museum, Art museums, science museum, Mozart Concert at St. Martin's in the Field. Went to 3 plays and a movie. Found new restaurants just by walking around. Great trip. Going again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is a short distance by tube.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Trip to London
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Apr 19, 2013

Location, Location, Location

Perfect hotel to enjoy a meal or shopping at Fortnum and Mason (next door). Close to transport and shopping. The rooms were nicely decorated with modern bathrooms. The only thing missing was a mini bar. Front desk staff could have been a tad friendlier but otherwise a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggs Benedict and their outstanding tea for a breakfast treat at Fortnum and Mason next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cjs12345
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 10, 2013

Recent Trip to London

This was my second trip to London, and the second time I stayed at the Cavendish Hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to London in the future. It is in a great location near the tube, and centrally located to most of the major sightseeing attractions, including to walking distance to Buckingham Palace, National Gallery, Leicester Square, tons of shopping and restaurants. I felt extremely safe walking around this area, even late at night. The hotel staff were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and the concierge was able to help me find what I needed on several occassions. If you do stay here, try to get a room on the upper levels because the view of the city is very nice. I was put in a room that was high enough to get a glimpse but not quite high enough to get the fully experience. You probably need the 10th floor or higher. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Big Bus Tour stop at Green Park. I highly recommend that you take the Big Bus guided Tour first before deciding which sites you may want to visit. The full drive around town took roughly 2 hours and was well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tirednewmombreak
Business
Dublin
Apr 6, 2013

Just what I expected from other reviews-all good

We spent 2 nights on a sight seeing trip to London in The Cavendish and if we were going back we'd stay here again. The hotel is in a good location (5 min walk to Picadilly and Regent street) the staff were without exception lovely, very professional and friendly. We chose not to have dinner on either night in the hotel as the menu really was not to our liking, just a personal preference. We upgraded our room from standard and it really was lovely but thankfully we spent very little time there as it was tiny. We had breakfast in our room on both mornings and thought it was lovely- definitely a gem. Only negative ( and it has nothing to do with the hotel!) was our experience eating in Greene's restaurant (right across from the hotel) completely over priced as well as being charged £7.50 each for basically sitting down!!! Food was ok but nothing amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If its sight seeing you're after use the Original Tour Company, tickets can be bought for 24 or 48 hours and may seem expensive initially but if you plan where you want to spend time works out as the easiest way and overall relatively cheap to get around- depts (3 diff tours) every 20 mins from Picadilly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alice Louise
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Convenient location, excellent service

The Cavendish is in the perfect location for tourists looking to be nearby but out of the "super" tourist traps, with convenient access to two different tube stations, multiple tube lines, numerous buses, and within walking distance to many places (the Green Park station even has elevators, super helpful to/from airport on the same color line). Staff was friendly and helpful, room was newly refurbished and nicely appointed (though small), and the restaurant was good (the theatre menu is a bargain, other items pretty expensive). We loved the convenience of being able to "stop by" on our way to and from other places. The only downfall was the slow elevator service, but they are scheduled to be serviced and retimed soon. A great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High tea at the Ritz is worth every penny-- and only a couple of short blocks away! Reservations a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tia Tran
Business
Sydney, Australia
Apr 2, 2013

Fantastic Hotel and Great Staff

Beautiful and comfortable hotel (I stayed in the Classic Room). It's situated in between Green Park and Piccadilly Circus - so you're 2 minutes away from the city centre where you have Ripleys, M&M's, a number of Theatre and Licester Square where you can buy the half price tickets. Then you have Oxford St shopping right around the corner too. On the Green Park side it's central to catching the Tube to other Touristy destinations and Buckingham Palace is right by! Amazing location, amazing hotel, amazing shopping and very friendly welcoming staff. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are SO SO Close to shops or close to the Tube that will take you ANYWHERE. The location is right inbetween a Major Tube station or the city centre. If I were to return to London this hotel will be the place to be!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suvit
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 17, 2013

Great location for a London visit

The Cavendish is situated in the heart of London, all a 5 to 10 minute walking distance from the Green Park station (Tube), St. James Park, Buckingham Palace, Picadilly Circus, and all the must-see sites of London. During our 2 day and 3 night stay, we hardly ever used the train or bus because everything was in proximity of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A little pricey, but worth the money for such a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alisa M.
Business
NJ-NY tri-state area
Mar 2, 2013

location and breakfast

My mom and I had a mother-daughter vacation to London this past week, but only stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. (stay 2 nights, get the 3rd night cheaper deal is what we did). However, to stay longer (during the week) got much pricier per night. This hotel seems geared towards corporate travel, but my mother and I enjoyed it just as much. I can't say enough about the breakfast. Since we were touring all day, we only ate breakfast and dinner and the Cavendish had an amazing breakfast and top-notch service. The Cavendish is also in a really nice location - restaurants, tube stations and bus stations. I felt that London's public transportation system seems a lot easier to navigate than NYC (I live in the tri-state area of Manhattan). When I return to London, I would either stay here or somewhere in this same area or in Kensington/South Kensington. These (to me) seem to be the best areas to stay in if you are visiting London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Le Caprice for dinner - it was outstanding

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicehood
Business
Switzerland
Jan 29, 2013

Perfect location great hotel

Everything is fine, just need cheaper wifi and less complicate tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jj2013
Business
New York
Jan 29, 2013

Great spot for a young couple

I live in the USA and I met a friend who lives in London and she I spent a few nights at the hotel. The hotel was perfect for a couple getting away and it was located very close to some nice areas. There is a ton of great stuff in walking distance, including the tube. I was there with a native Londoner and she and I had a great time, there is plenty of great stuff around there that's not real touristy, although there is a lot of that stuff too. The room was nice and modern, bed was comfortable, bathroom was very good, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The 39 Steps is a great show and right down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top