$248 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
198 reviews
perfect stay

Amazing!! Best location, very nice room, the view is graet See full review

  • ozrad
  • Sep 25, 2014
Location!

The room was a bit small, but no problem with 2 suitcases. We stayed only for two nights and had a... See full review

  • Linnemor
  • Jul 14, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Hotel Map

51.5078 -0.1379
Area served
London, UK
Nearby airports
Heathrow-40 min. by cab
Area description
Situated on prestigious Jermyn Street, St James's in the heart of Piccadilly & Mayfair London, the Cavendish Hotel offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. The Cavendish London is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping such as Fortnum & Mason or Harrods or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tirednewmombreak
Business
Dublin
Apr 6, 2013

Just what I expected from other reviews-all good

We spent 2 nights on a sight seeing trip to London in The Cavendish and if we were going back we'd stay here again. The hotel is in a good location (5 min walk to Picadilly and Regent street) the staff were without exception lovely, very professional and friendly. We chose not to have dinner on either night in the hotel as the menu really was not to our liking, just a personal preference. We upgraded our room from standard and it really was lovely but thankfully we spent very little time there as it was tiny. We had breakfast in our room on both mornings and thought it was lovely- definitely a gem. Only negative ( and it has nothing to do with the hotel!) was our experience eating in Greene's restaurant (right across from the hotel) completely over priced as well as being charged £7.50 each for basically sitting down!!! Food was ok but nothing amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If its sight seeing you're after use the Original Tour Company, tickets can be bought for 24 or 48 hours and may seem expensive initially but if you plan where you want to spend time works out as the easiest way and overall relatively cheap to get around- depts (3 diff tours) every 20 mins from Picadilly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alice Louise
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Convenient location, excellent service

The Cavendish is in the perfect location for tourists looking to be nearby but out of the "super" tourist traps, with convenient access to two different tube stations, multiple tube lines, numerous buses, and within walking distance to many places (the Green Park station even has elevators, super helpful to/from airport on the same color line). Staff was friendly and helpful, room was newly refurbished and nicely appointed (though small), and the restaurant was good (the theatre menu is a bargain, other items pretty expensive). We loved the convenience of being able to "stop by" on our way to and from other places. The only downfall was the slow elevator service, but they are scheduled to be serviced and retimed soon. A great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High tea at the Ritz is worth every penny-- and only a couple of short blocks away! Reservations a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tia Tran
Business
Sydney, Australia
Apr 2, 2013

Fantastic Hotel and Great Staff

Beautiful and comfortable hotel (I stayed in the Classic Room). It's situated in between Green Park and Piccadilly Circus - so you're 2 minutes away from the city centre where you have Ripleys, M&M's, a number of Theatre and Licester Square where you can buy the half price tickets. Then you have Oxford St shopping right around the corner too. On the Green Park side it's central to catching the Tube to other Touristy destinations and Buckingham Palace is right by! Amazing location, amazing hotel, amazing shopping and very friendly welcoming staff. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are SO SO Close to shops or close to the Tube that will take you ANYWHERE. The location is right inbetween a Major Tube station or the city centre. If I were to return to London this hotel will be the place to be!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suvit
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 17, 2013

Great location for a London visit

The Cavendish is situated in the heart of London, all a 5 to 10 minute walking distance from the Green Park station (Tube), St. James Park, Buckingham Palace, Picadilly Circus, and all the must-see sites of London. During our 2 day and 3 night stay, we hardly ever used the train or bus because everything was in proximity of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A little pricey, but worth the money for such a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alisa M.
Business
NJ-NY tri-state area
Mar 2, 2013

location and breakfast

My mom and I had a mother-daughter vacation to London this past week, but only stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. (stay 2 nights, get the 3rd night cheaper deal is what we did). However, to stay longer (during the week) got much pricier per night. This hotel seems geared towards corporate travel, but my mother and I enjoyed it just as much. I can't say enough about the breakfast. Since we were touring all day, we only ate breakfast and dinner and the Cavendish had an amazing breakfast and top-notch service. The Cavendish is also in a really nice location - restaurants, tube stations and bus stations. I felt that London's public transportation system seems a lot easier to navigate than NYC (I live in the tri-state area of Manhattan). When I return to London, I would either stay here or somewhere in this same area or in Kensington/South Kensington. These (to me) seem to be the best areas to stay in if you are visiting London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Le Caprice for dinner - it was outstanding

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicehood
Business
Switzerland
Jan 29, 2013

Perfect location great hotel

Everything is fine, just need cheaper wifi and less complicate tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jj2013
Business
New York
Jan 29, 2013

Great spot for a young couple

I live in the USA and I met a friend who lives in London and she I spent a few nights at the hotel. The hotel was perfect for a couple getting away and it was located very close to some nice areas. There is a ton of great stuff in walking distance, including the tube. I was there with a native Londoner and she and I had a great time, there is plenty of great stuff around there that's not real touristy, although there is a lot of that stuff too. The room was nice and modern, bed was comfortable, bathroom was very good, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The 39 Steps is a great show and right down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roberta R
Business
Westchester, NY
Jan 26, 2013

Wish you could go back...

I have stayed several times in this hotel before it was sold to the Ascott Group. This was my first stay since the ownership change. I found myself thinking that the 4 star rating might better become 3. The restaurant needed help in menu expansion and choice. There was no recognition that we had stayed and were returning guests of the hotel. Additionally, there is no wifi in the rooms. Finally, the housekeeping didn't continually accomadate our requests: for example, we had asked for additional towels and needed to ask each day for these towels to be brought up again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not OCD But Picky
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2013

Great location and delightful staff

The staff at this hotel were professional and friendly. The location was ideal, as we could walk nearly everywhere we wanted to go, with some occasional tube rides. My one complaint was that our room was so small that there was no room for a dresser. We had to live out of suitcases. This was frustrating as we were there for a week. Otherwise, excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Green Park stop on the tube. You can take the tube all the way to Heathrow. Takes under an hour and costs less than 10 pounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aender
Business
Chicago
Jan 2, 2013

Unexpected Find

I booked the hotel based on previous reviews and price. Have to say the place was great. Location couldn't be beat as it was central to all the great areas. The staff was very helpful and always there if you needed them. As it was off of Piccadilly the streets were quiet so there was no outside noise and never heard anything from the people next store. Only complaint is the room was small, as many London hotels are, but did feel a bit cramped. Overall we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on trying to get your VAT back at the airport do it before you check your luggage. They ask for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top