$225 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time London Visitor
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2009

Great Hotel

This was a great hotel in a great location. It was a few minute walk from Piccadilly Circus and not far for other often visited London sites. While the Classic Room was small (by typical American hotel room size standards), it had everything we needed (desk, comfortable bed, flat screen TV), was modern, clean and quiet. While there was internet access available in the room for a unknown price, we enjoyed sitting in the 1st floor lounge to use the free Wi-Fi. My wife and I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance from sightseeing attractions, nightlife, and shopping.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A S
Business
New York,NY
Sep 7, 2009

GREAT STAY

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cavendish. 1) LOCATION! The location of the Cavendish is perfect. It is right next to the Piccadilly Circus, and extremely close to the theater district and Trafalgar Square. Additionally, the Cavendish very near two major underground stations, which have a direct train to to Heathrow Airport. 2) Room My room was very modern, impeccably clean, quiet, with a very comfortable bed, and a digital thermostat that could be used to set the temperature to preference. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower was great. However, the room was very small and did not have much of a view (although I suspect that may not apply to all rooms) and the bed was a little short for my 6'2" frame (my heels would hang off the end if I was to lay straight on my back). 3) Food I strongly recommend getting the breakfast option. The food is superb. Fresh fruit, scrambled eggs to die for (I want to know how they made them so well), sausages, lox, mushrooms, fresh pastries, and good coffee and tea (I am probably forgetting something). The hotel also has a restaurant, which I had not frequented but which seems to be popular. The Lobby Bar, which I did visit, makes great drinks. 4) Amenities The Hotel includes free wireless internet in the Lobby and the lower floors (I was able to pick it up on the third floor). The room also has an LCD TV that can be used as an alarm and to check your bill (it is tied to the Hotel's system). The hotel also contains a business center, which includes two PC's connected to a printer. I found the printer invaluable as I needed it on several occasions to print vouchers tours I booked over the internet. I do not think there is a gym or a pool. 5) Misc One of the Hotel's marketing ploys are its green initiatives. All of the hallway lights are on motion sensors and turn on only if someone is there. Similarly, the electricity in the rooms only works if the room key is inserted into a special receptacle, thereby ensuring that no electricity is wasted when you are out of the room. Additionally, the food is organic and purchased locally (may explain why it tasted so good). I find this an effective marketing play as I did feel better about myself having stayed there. Conclusion: If you would not have a problem with a small room (or would not mind paying a bit more to get one of the larger rooms), I would strongly recommend staying at the Cavendish. I would gladly stay there again if I was to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, Maryland
Sep 7, 2009

Good but could have been better

Location was wonderful; breakfast was included and was very good although it was buffet style. We had picked a regular room but upgraded (at 15 pounds per night) to a superior room which included a small table and chair and a bath with shower as opposed to a shower. The regular room is not big enough for two people. The front desk was not very friendly. We were given directions to a pub on our first night that was quite a walk but were told it was worth it because the food was 'fresh' unlike the neighborhood pub food. When we got to this pub, we were shown a table upstairs in a room filled with tourists (Americans. Also, it turned out that the food was frozen. I had to send mine back to be 'reheated' and the waitress told me all the food on the menu was frozen. We did get a nice recommendation for high tea from another staff member after one of the members at the front desk refused to help us because we asked him about tea at the Ritz. He informed us we needed reservations at least 3 months ahead (for a weekday)and 6 months ahead (for a weekend) and implied we were stupid for not knowing that about the Ritz. One negative is that there was construction going on in the lobby during our week's stay and it was very noisy. Also, the hotel advertises itself as 'wireless' but when we checked in I was told that this is only true for the lobby and the first floor bar area. Once we decided to pay for an upgrade, the room we upgraded to was very nice. There was a nice selection of teas; hot chocolate was also an option and two shortbread cookies were included with the selection of teas. If you can put up with the unfriendly staff, the hotel is a good choice for either a business or pleasure trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the underground as much as possible or walk. The hotel is in a very good location. We bought an 'oyster card' for unlimited use on the underground during our week's stay.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The flying Duch
Business
NJ
Sep 1, 2009

no more than OK

Very good spot for London highlights and nightlife. The room relatively to London is good. The problem was that there were too many malfunctions: in the tab, the door, the iron. Also I did not notice that the order through orbitz was without breakfast, I was amazed to find out that the hotel charges for that 21 pounds per person per day - the best restaurants in London don't charge that amount

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2009

A NICE FIND

Great location between Picadilly & Green Park.  Walking distance to all the major sights, but nicely positioned on a quieter street, a block away from the action.  Amazing view on the upper floors.  Great cooked English breakfast buffet included in our deal, set in an elegant dining room.  The lobby looked a like it could use a little facelift, but everything else looked modern chic & spotless.  The concierge was very friendly & helpful.  Definitely a great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buckingham Palace tour of the State Rooms is worth the money to get a glimpse of royal life! Also, the London Eye & the surrounding embankment area is great for kids. There's a carousel, playground equipment & an area to let loose in between the sightseeing.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IluvLondon
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2009

The Cavendish London

Took my niece to London as a high school graduation gift -1st time for both! This hotel was fantastic. Somehow, we got a room on the penthouse floor which was an incredible delight given that we stayed for 7 days! The concierges were professional, humorous, patient and most helpful.We didn't use the restaurant or room service but the menu sure looked nice and we saw lots of people drinking, meeting, nibbling in the lounge areas. The best feature, of this very, very nice place, is the location.I would stay there again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It probably pays to take a cab to and from the hotel to Heathrow if you are more than 1 person. It cost 33 pounds for 2 of us on the Heathrow Express, plus the cab ride to the Paddington Sta., for another 14 pounds (including tip!).

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IluvLondon
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2009

The Cavendish London

Took my niece to London as a high school graduation gift -1st time for both! This hotel was fantastic. Somehow, we got a room on the penthouse floor which was an incredible delight given that we stayed for 7 days! The concierges were professional, humorous, patient and most helpful.We didn't use the restaurant or room service but the menu sure looked nice and we saw lots of people drinking, meeting, nibbling in the lounge areas. The best feature, of this very, very nice place, is the location.I would stay there again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It probably pays to take a cab to and from the hotel to Heathrow if you are more than 1 person. It cost 33 pounds for 2 of us on the Heathrow Express, plus the cab ride to the Paddington Sta., for another 14 pounds (including tip!).

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Aug 10, 2009

Great Value, very nice

Good consierge, nice staff. Rooms are the "correct" size. Bathroom ok, small. Confortable beds. Breakfast extremly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciaran
Business
Galway, Ireland
Aug 9, 2009

Fantastic location

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights in the Cavendish and loved it. On our arrival we were offered an upgraded room at a reduced rate, which had a fantastic view of the city. The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus. In fact, the hotel is within walking distance of most attractions and many theatres. We only had breakfast in the hotel which had a very good selection. Also, there was no extra charge for room service for breakfast. The only thing that was a little dissapointing was that there was a fire alarm at 5.30am. Nothing serious- someone had hit off a break glass system. The dissapointing thing was that there was no proper apology for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to see The Phantom of the Opera show in Her Majesty's Theatreon Haymarket.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciaran
Business
Galway, Ireland
Aug 9, 2009

Fantastic location

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights in the Cavendish and loved it. On our arrival we were offered an upgraded room at a reduced rate, which had a fantastic view of the city. The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus. In fact, the hotel is within walking distance of most attractions and many theatres. We only had breakfast in the hotel which had a very good selection. Also, there was no extra charge for room service for breakfast. The only thing that was a little dissapointing was that there was a fire alarm at 5.30am. Nothing serious- someone had hit off a break glass system. The dissapointing thing was that there was no proper apology for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to see The Phantom of the Opera show in Her Majesty's Theatreon Haymarket.

Back to menu Return to top