$261 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Awesome Hotel & Perfect Location

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jan 22, 2010

London Vacation

Love the hotel and location. Walking distance to everything.Will stay at the same hotel on return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prince Henry
Business
Providence, RI
Jan 20, 2010

Location & service vs. size & cost

I travel to London fairly frequently and I still haven't found the ideal hotel. But the Cavendish is the best location I've ever had and is close to the top for the level of service. Despite being just a block off Piccadilly and close to active nightlife, it is a very quiet hotel. The concierge desk was splendid, especially [...], who started helping me even before I arrived. The room (labeled superior) was very small but very well tended. For a longer stay (8 nights) there was little room for storage. The room did have a view -- of London Eye and the very top of Big Ben: XI, XII, and I. There was no fitness facility; 7 pounds bought me a single visit to a gym 10 blocks away that was reasonably well equipped. [...] The cost of an in-room Internet connection was 25 pence a minute, which added up. All in all, it was a successful stay and if the price were right again, I would most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cecconi's on Burlington Gardens at the corner of Savile Row is a stylish yet comfortable Italian restaurant an easy walk from the Cavendish. It serves dinner until 1:00 am every night, which was perfect for a traveler arriving from the US at the hotel at nearly 11pm, hungry and with my internal clock at 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jan 14, 2010

Fantastic

location,location,location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bologna, italy
Jan 12, 2010

perfect!!!

the location of the hotel is simply perfect, walking distance to mayor attractions: buckingam palace, hyde park, bond street, piccadilly, theatre, everything you want is nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kspeed
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 4, 2010

AMAZING HOTEL!!

We had a fabulous stay at The Cavendish London hotel!! The location was superb, hotel staff was always friendly and accomidating, and room price was perfect especially in that part of London. I would stay there again in a heart beat-I cant wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angles
Jan 1, 2010

Family London Holiday

The local was perfect, close to the tube, the staff was friendly and very helpful...We arrived at 0800 after traveling from los angeles and the hotel allowed us to check in early!!! Breakfast was wonderful will be back as soon as I save some more pounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 28, 2009

Modern, comfortable, and great staff

Our first impression of the hotel was that it looked very well kept and very modern. It is on a fairly small street in a very nice area, and is extremely central to London and all it has to offer. It has a tube stop just a few minutes walk away. The room was very nice. Soothing colors and fabrics, soft bed and a very nice bathtub. Along with a great view (we were on the 14th floor). The staff were all so friendly and very fast when it came to service. We didn't have to wait for anything. While in London, we went on a self-guided Beatles tour, and it just so happened that Savile Row, where the Beatles played on the roof of the Apple offices was a five minute walk from the hotel. There are so many little shops around the hotel also, including Fortnam and Mason tea room, which is a must visit on a lot of people's lists. Excellent trip, excellent hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to Fortnam and Mason, be sure to make a reservation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 24, 2009

... all about LOCATION!

My wife and I stayed at the The Cavendish London for seven nights from 13Dec-20Dec, and we weren't disappointed! We flew in from San Francisco on an overnight flight and although we arrived early, we were able to get an early check in. What's more, because we were staying for an extended period, the front desk clerk went out of his way to make sure we had a nice room up on the 12th floor! Out the window we could see The London Eye, Big Ben, St. Paul's Cathedral and several other landmarks. We had a "superior" room, and although small, once we stored our suitcases there was plenty of room to move around. The room was sleek and modern and was very clean... the flat screen TV also had several sports channels and I was able to watch NFL games late at night! I might add the bathroom was larger than expected and had very modern appliances and a large bathtub and shower! After a long day of walking around the city, it was nice to soak the feet in the tub! One downside, we had no outlet in the bathroom, so my wife had to plug her curling iron and hair dryer in in the front room! No big deal though... we rolled with it! Also, our room didn't really have a dresser to put clothes into. Again, not a deal breaker! Our deal didn't include free breakfast, so I can't really rate that. The hotel restaurant is on the pricey side, and we opted to get our meals elsewhere. BUT REALLY... the best part about this hotel is the location. Situated between two Tube stops, you can get just about anywhere in London in a matter of minutes. For those of you taking the Underground in from Heathrow, get off at Green Park. It's less crowded than Picadilly Circus and easier to move about with luggage! It takes less than five minutes to walk to either Tube stop. Also within walking distance: SOHO, Leicester Square, Buckingham Palace, and Trafalgar Square just to name a few! There is a church just across the street from the hotel that has a Cafe Nero inside... it was a nice place to grab an espresso to start the day! There is also a Tesco supermarket a couple blocks down and we stocked up on water and croissants and other snacks. There are several restaurants within walking distance ranging from a cheap sandwich to higher end establishments. AND despite being so central, the hotel is very quiet at night. A big plus! All in all, a truly great week in London. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're coming from the US... buy in advance! We bought our Oyster Cards (Tube passes), Tower of London and London Eye tickets, as well as several concert tickets months prior. It gave us a chance to pay everything off before we took one step on UK soil! It almost felt free! All we really had to worry about paying for were food and souvenirs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London 2009
Business
Corpus Christi,Texas
Dec 17, 2009

Cavendish

Outstanding, would stay there again. Best staff ever, and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top