$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Cavendish London

4 stars
81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
198 reviews
perfect stay

Amazing!! Best location, very nice room, the view is graet See full review

  • ozrad
  • Sep 25, 2014
Location!

The room was a bit small, but no problem with 2 suitcases. We stayed only for two nights and had a... See full review

  • Linnemor
  • Jul 14, 2014
A haven of tranquility in the heart of London's Theater District

Pampered tranquility in the heart of the city is the essence of the Cavendish London, whose contemporary rooms offer some of London's most enviable views. Rooms are full-featured and include every modern amenity, including a flat-screen LCD television, Wi-Fi and a Villeroy and Boch-furnished bathroom. London's theaters, Leicester Square and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance, and there's an on-site underground parking lot, too.

Attractions
  • Theatreland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Mayfair (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
Highlights
  • House restaurant Petrichor is a recipient of an AA Rosette for dining excellence
  • Within easy walking distance to Theatreland, Leicester Square, and Buckingham Palace
  • Underground car park
Rooms

Contemporary rooms afford some of the best views in London, and elegant furnishings, subdued lighting, and uncluttered designs project a sense of sustained tranquility. Villeroy and Boch furnishings and a walk-in power shower adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat screen TV, high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, mini-bar, free tea and coffee making facilities and natural hypoallergenic toiletries.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling Theatreland location, the Cavendish London is a sedate urban refuge, a welcoming retreat of calm and an ideal base from which to discover London's most exclusive shops and restaurants.

Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the Cavendish's contemporary rooms, and their modern amenities and furnishings, which have earned the hotel a loyal following and a reputation as a consistently stylish property.

Located in the heart of Mayfair, the Cavendish overlooks exclusive London boutiques and galleries, and its Petrichor restaurant is a recipient of an AA Rosette, a distinction for dining excellence. It offers contemporary and imaginative fare, founded on a commitment to sustainable sourcing of ingredients. Additionally, The Lobby Bar and The Lounge are ideal meeting spots for pre-theater drinks.

Transportation
  • Green Park and Piccadilly Circus tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow Airport served via connection through Piccadilly Circus station
  • Gatwick Airport served via connection through Green Park station
Business
  • Five Event Rooms
  • Wi-Fi
  •  Audio-Visual Equipment
  • Telephone Ports

Hotel Map

51.5078 -0.1379
Area served
London, UK
Nearby airports
Heathrow-40 min. by cab
Area description
Situated on prestigious Jermyn Street, St James's in the heart of Piccadilly & Mayfair London, the Cavendish Hotel offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. The Cavendish London is perfectly located for those seeking the thrill of London's theatres, world class shopping such as Fortnum & Mason or Harrods or maybe just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cavendish London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Cavendish London Rooms

Executive Room
Our large Executive guest rooms are beautifully appointed averaging 27-30 square metres and featuring a king or twin beds. Each of the Executive guest rooms is decorated with refined colours to create luxury and elegance and are complemented by iPod docking stations and flat screen LCD TV integrated with 600 channels including Freeview, as well as a separate bath and shower and the fantastic Nespresso coffee machine.
Junior Suite
Each Junior Suite at the Cavendish London offers elegant open plan working and bedroom areas averaging 36-40 square metres and featuring either a king. All Junior Suites are decorated luxury dcor designed to create a relaxing and memorable atmosphere of refined luxury and classic sophistication and are complemented by bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch.
Penthouse Suite
The Penthouse Suites at the Cavendish London are beautifully appointed one bedroom suites with a king bed, averaging 55-63 square metres. Both Penthouse Suites are offer spacious living and decorated with luxury dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modernism and classic sophistication and are complemented by all the modern day amenities including bathrooms furnished by Villeroy and Boch and bathroom amenities supplied by Taylor of Bond Old Street. Located on the 15th floor, both Penthouse Suites offer you the most spectacular views of the ever changing London skyline
Classic Double Room
Classic rooms at the Cavendish London are very well appointed guest rooms, averaging 16-18 square metres and featuring a standard double bed (NO TWINS AVAILABLE). Classic guest rooms are decorated with contemporary dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and sophistication and are complemented with large windows allowing plenty of natural daylight.
Superior Double Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.
Superior Twin Room
Averaging 17-24 square metres and featuring either a queen or two twin beds, our Superior guest rooms are decorated with earth-tone inspired dcor designed to create a tranquil atmosphere of modern luxury and classic sophistication and is complete with a shower over bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.2 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Lobby Bar
An ideal venue for drinks after work as well as a popular meeting point. Regularly used for pre and post theatre refreshments or equally convenient for a light snack. The Lobby Bar offers a comprehensive range of premium branded drinks, sourced from various corners of the world.
Lounge
A welcoming area on the first floor with sumptuous sofas and stylish armchairs. Take advantage of the selection of daily newspapers or connect to our complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The Lounge offers attentive table service throughout the day. The menu provides a popular selection of hot and cold snacks along with bean-to-cup coffee and a wide range of specialty teas. Alcoholic drinks are also served with many opting to enjoy a pre dinner drink or after work drinks in this cosy environment.
Restaurant
Recipient of an AA Rosette in 2007/2008/2009 The Restaurant serves a truly indulgent British breakfast, as well as informal a la carte lunch and dinner menus. The style of cooking is best described as contemporary British with some modern European influences. Executive Chef, David Britton and his team create monthly changing menus using the best seasonal and regional produce. All recipes and dishes are entirely 'homemade' and are prepared with creative flair and passion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at The Cavendish London are far from business as usual. Featuring 5 Event Rooms, varying in size and layout, the central London hotel is the perfect venue for lunches, dinners, conferences, meetings and special events in Central London. All 5 Event Rooms Feature: Natural Daylight Complimentary WIFI Access VRV Energy efficient Air-Conditioning Audio-Visual Equipment Telephone Points Access for Wheelchair Users

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 1, 2010

London Night

Great service and staff were helpful and congenial. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Ulm, MN
Feb 14, 2010

Fantastic, couldn't imagine better.

What an incredible stay. The location could not be beat. Easy walking distance to anything we wanted to see or the underground. Staff was very helpful and friendly with good suggestions for our vacation. Only complaint: no ice machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 3, 2010

Great Hotel, Centrally Located

the service was fantastic! everyone from the front desk, to the bar staff, to the dining room staff, to the cleaning staff, was friendly, helpful, and really great. fantastic location, close to the piccadilly and bakerloo tube station which will get you to every other line in two to three stops. it was super quiet. our room faced two major construction projects, and once inside the room we could not hear a thing. though the room was small for two people with large suitcases for a week-long stay, we were able to make due. the shower is awesome. i miss it. the free breakfast was fantastic! besides the ample buffet, you can order other options. you can also get it delivered to your room instead of having to go to the dining room. we really liked this hotel and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get the london pass with travel. unlimited use of the underground, buses and rails inside london...priceless. you don't have to deal with lines at the ticket machines, or worry that you haven't bought the right fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Feb 1, 2010

fantastic!

For a downtown London vacation, this hotel's location was the very best. I traveled alone and easily found my way - getting there and then using it as a base point. A short walk from Piccadilly Circus area (shopping, restaurants, theater, movies, people, excitement and corner market!). The concierge staff was so helpful. I only paid for a small single room - not much of a view, but it was spotless with lush down bedding and a lovely modern bathroom...also a large flat screen TV. When I go back to London, I will definitely stay there again...hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Total London Experience w/ lunch from Golden Tours ([...] recommended)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jan 29, 2010

Great location for London's West End

Excellent. My flight from Houston was cancelled and I had to fly to London via Frankfurt. Having missed my afternoon meeting at the office, I called from Frankfurt and re-convened the meeting to the hotel's bar in the evening. I was rather tired and have no idea what I signed. The hotel staff were consistently helpful throughout my six-day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London Book Fair Winner
Business
St. Michaels, MD
Jan 29, 2010

Green Hotel with all the ammenties

Terrific green hotel in a wonderful location. My breakfast was included. Very nice buffet options. Room key system was unfamiliar to me and wasn't explained at the desk so I had to make a couple of trips back down to reception to get that sorted out. My room was small but perfect for my two night stay. My only complaint was bathroom smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't make phone calls from the hotel phone. I got charged an outrageous amount for three short calls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vonore, Tennessee
Jan 27, 2010

The Cavendish is GREAT!

What a wonderful hotel. From checkin to checkout, the staff was courtrous and did all they could tomake our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are filled with choices and all made wonderfully. The location is A-1. Within a 5 min walk to the Picadilly tube station and a short walk to Buckingham. All the shopping of Mayfair outside of your door! The theater district is a short walk. Perfect place to be in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Awesome Hotel & Perfect Location

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jan 22, 2010

London Vacation

Love the hotel and location. Walking distance to everything.Will stay at the same hotel on return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prince Henry
Business
Providence, RI
Jan 20, 2010

Location & service vs. size & cost

I travel to London fairly frequently and I still haven't found the ideal hotel. But the Cavendish is the best location I've ever had and is close to the top for the level of service. Despite being just a block off Piccadilly and close to active nightlife, it is a very quiet hotel. The concierge desk was splendid, especially [...], who started helping me even before I arrived. The room (labeled superior) was very small but very well tended. For a longer stay (8 nights) there was little room for storage. The room did have a view -- of London Eye and the very top of Big Ben: XI, XII, and I. There was no fitness facility; 7 pounds bought me a single visit to a gym 10 blocks away that was reasonably well equipped. [...] The cost of an in-room Internet connection was 25 pence a minute, which added up. All in all, it was a successful stay and if the price were right again, I would most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cecconi's on Burlington Gardens at the corner of Savile Row is a stylish yet comfortable Italian restaurant an easy walk from the Cavendish. It serves dinner until 1:00 am every night, which was perfect for a traveler arriving from the US at the hotel at nearly 11pm, hungry and with my internal clock at 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top