$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Boston
Boston Massachusetts
Nov 2, 2012

Great

We had a lovely time at the Cavendish , staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defiantly stay with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConferenceTraveller
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 11, 2010

Convenient but Loud

In a nice area within walking distance to 2 underground stops, Trafalgar square, and Piccadilly circus. Staff friendly. Free wi-fi in lobby that also works (at least on the 5th floor) in your room. Rooms typically small but comfortable and clean. Pre-paid breakfast an excellent deal. Very limited clothing storage. No view. Street noise very loud--laughter and shouting from pub patrons, cars with music blasting and motors racing, trucks parked with motors running---it sounded like the window was open every night; this was on the 5th floor with double glass. Did not sleep well at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wolsley is open until midnight and is only a short walk away for a nice dinner if you arrive late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon, USA
Aug 9, 2010

great location, friendly staff

I was a single tourist, and this hotel was within walking distance of so much I wanted to see, and had easy access to the busses and underground for the rest. My room was a classic (meaning tiny) and on one of the lower floors, so no real view. Despite this I was very pleased since the room was beautiful, very clean, quiet and and comfortable. I was not planning on spending hours in the room anyway since what I wanted was a safe and comfortable hub from which to see the city. Also, I can't say enough about the staff... always professional, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to Soho to take in the many fabulous little places to eat... far enough away to get away from the noise and confusion. (Maybe a 15 minute walk)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling mom and daughter
Business
Texas
Aug 7, 2010

wonderful stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Cavendish. The location is perfect- between 2 tube stops and within walking distance of most tourist spots. It's a stylish hotel, nice staff, comfortable beds, adjustable air, bathroom good for our needs. Did not eat at the hotel, so since I had to rate dining, I put a 4 only because I don't know. Other reviewers mentioned the glass bathroom door...it's frosted and you can't see in- no problem. I was with my daughter who just completed a summer abroad college term in London. We booked the classic room which was perfect for us sharing a bed. Having been in London for a term, she thought the location couldn't have been better and was very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bety m
Business
los angeles ca
Aug 5, 2010

it wasn't bad

they offer free breakfast which was very good,and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very good location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Aug 5, 2010

"Great location,Terrific staff!"

Couldn't ask for better location theaters a few blocks, Regent Street a few blocks Green Park, a few biocks!!Staff was the best helpful, hard working and cheerful!...The full English Breakfast was a wonderful start to each day. I would have given a 5 star rating but bath,thought spotless, was small enough to make it a bit hard to manage getting ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pierrelamor
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 3, 2010

Great value for the price!

Excellent location within the walking distance from most London's attractions. Excellent service, very clean, although rather small rooms, and great breakfast included into the price! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Ben, Westminster, Trafalgar Square, Whitehall, Buckingham Palace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron and Jon
Business
Studio City, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Near all the action

This hotel is a gem. It is a short walk from Piccadilly Circus, The British Museum, the Royal Academy, the National Gallery, the theater district, and Soho restaurants and clubs. It is located on a quiet, picturesque street across from a small department store, hidden away from London's hustle and bustle. The room was modern and well-appointed, although small by American standards. The soft, fluffy bed is a welcome respite after a busy day of sightseeing. Our bathroom was large, with a large glass-enclosed shower and a tub as well. The concierge was particulary helpful, giving directions and suggesting an excellent spot for a traditional Sunday roast beef dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 31, 2010

Fabulous deal in fancy Mayfair district

This was a fabulous deal in the middle of the fancy Mayfair district. The location is convenient to the subway. We had a beautiful room that actually felt like an American-level 4 star hotel instead of the European-level 4 star hotel (which is usually more like a 3-star hotel). It was also quite large and comfortable. Having the free breakfast in our room was also a nice perk! The only annoyance is that tours like Grayline don't bother to figure out where this hotel is, so they made us walk a long way to catch the bus even though the bus actually stops right by the front door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 15 minute walk to Soho. There's all kinds of great ethnic restaurants. Much better than the food in this area. If you're short for time, the food at the hotel is also surprisingly good. It's not like the typical bad English food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Jul 30, 2010

Good find

Excellent hotel - great location and good value for the money. Rooms were a bit small, but clean, comfortable and typical for Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shamu-architect
Business
fort lauderdale, FL
Jun 30, 2010

Lady Cavendish would be mortified

We chose this hotel from reviews and when we arrived the location was perfect. We needed to exchange some dollars or Euros for pounds to pay the cab driver but the reception clerk said she could not do so until the concierge showed her how to accomplish this small task. It was charged to our room. Room reserved was a superior King which was fine except for the fact that there was only about 15" of space on the right side of the bed. Not too easy to maneuver. The bath was small and had minimal space for toiletries and was barely adequate to turn around in. The supplied robes( after requesting same) turned out to be extremely worn and in one example had a pocket ripped off. Fabric was as soft as sandpaper. Included breakfast was OK but certainly not worth the $35 per person charge if not included. Closet was small and shallow clothes on hangers had to all be at angles to enable door to close. half of closet space devoted to ironing board and iron. No dresser for clothes had to use three small built in shelves in closet. Toiletries included one small square of soap which was only changed after complaints.The manager said " they were trying to be ecologically friendly". I said it sounds more like you are trying to save a few bucks. To be fair the location is superb, the rest of the staff is wonderful and friendly. It is a great base for sightseeing but I would leave early and stay out late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is only a ten minute walk from hotel and is full of delightful restaurants with reasonably priced menus. The other choices are the pubs close by the hotel that serve delicious pub fare at normal prices( fish and chips $12) If you need to buy bottled water go to the supermarket at the end of Jermyn St and you can buy 2X 1.5 liter bottles for the same cost as a 12Oz coke $3.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top