$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amastronardi[@]
Couples
New Jersey USA
Oct 2, 2010

Terrific....

We thought London was a beautiful city...but the attention we were shown while staying at the Cavendish London exceeded our expectations....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid 30's couple
Couples
Brasil
Sep 30, 2010

Prime location, nice staff

We will sure stay here again. Prime location - really prime, almost impossible to get a better one in London. Very kind and helpful staff, attentive to every small detail and concerned to make your stay a pleasant on (especially the conciergerie and the front desk). Room and bathroom are meticulously clean. Furniture and equipment are modern and brand new. The room is small as usual for European hotels(although not tiny), but the bathroom is quite spacious. We indeed enjoyed our stay at the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
North Potomac, MD
Sep 7, 2010

A Wonderful Find!

Since The Cavendish is not a chain, we did not know what to expect. We were so pleasantly surprised in every respect. The location could not be better for a tourist in London. Everything was simply perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Sep 6, 2010

The Cavendish London

Very good hotel, excellent location, helpful staff. Loved everything about this hotel, room might be small for more then 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New york city
Aug 29, 2010

Loved our hotel

The location was marvelous...We were near the underground, actually 2 stations were near us. Nevertheless, we were close enough to the major tourist sights thst we could easily walk. The hotel was clean, the rooms were well-equipped even a robe and slippers. The staff could not have been nicer. The only disappointment was when we ordered a hamburger from room service, it was not too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OppositeLock
Couples
Sparta, WI
Aug 21, 2010

Outstanding Hotel

We stayed at the Cavendish for six days in August of 2010 from Sparta, Wisconsin, USA. What a wonderful hotel. The hotel is modern, ecologically "green" and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. (We were on the 14th floor above the street noise, so it was quiet.) The service was impeccable. The desk people were very helpful as were the concierge staff. Housecleaning did a great job. The location is also very good. It's an easy walk to Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace from Piccadilly/St. James. We walked to most of what we wanted to see and do, and took buses to the other places. One of the best things about the hotel is the restaurant. We ate dinner there the day of our arrival. The food was excellent. Well prepared, imaginative and the service was marvelous. Friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Moderate in price. (We later ate at a restaurant up the street that was much more pricey and nowhere near as good.) The breakfasts, which are included in the stay, are not to be missed. The buffet is very inclusive with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereals, mushrooms, juices, etc. All freshly prepared. If you don't see something you like, there is also a menu you can order from to have other items prepared for you. (At no charge.) We would eat a large, hearty breakfast and skip lunch. This saved us quite a bit of money over the week. Two caveats: 1. The standard rooms are small--much like a cruise ship room. But we chose to save the 20-Pounds per day to upgrade to a larger room. There was a small closet, and no dresser so I lived out of my suitcase while my wife used most of the closet. 2. The bed was just a tad short for anyone over six feet tall. (I'm 6'1".) My feet hung over by about an inch. So I slept on my side with my feet drawn up a little and I was fine. All-in-all, we were quite pleased with the Cavendish and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great base from which to explore London. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stoke up at breakfast in the hotel and skip lunch. The breakfast selection is extensive and quite good. Our dinner there on our arrival night was also excellent and competitively priced.

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
oregon, USA
Aug 9, 2010

great location, friendly staff

I was a single tourist, and this hotel was within walking distance of so much I wanted to see, and had easy access to the busses and underground for the rest. My room was a classic (meaning tiny) and on one of the lower floors, so no real view. Despite this I was very pleased since the room was beautiful, very clean, quiet and and comfortable. I was not planning on spending hours in the room anyway since what I wanted was a safe and comfortable hub from which to see the city. Also, I can't say enough about the staff... always professional, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to Soho to take in the many fabulous little places to eat... far enough away to get away from the noise and confusion. (Maybe a 15 minute walk)

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling mom and daughter
Family
Texas
Aug 7, 2010

wonderful stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Cavendish. The location is perfect- between 2 tube stops and within walking distance of most tourist spots. It's a stylish hotel, nice staff, comfortable beds, adjustable air, bathroom good for our needs. Did not eat at the hotel, so since I had to rate dining, I put a 4 only because I don't know. Other reviewers mentioned the glass bathroom door...it's frosted and you can't see in- no problem. I was with my daughter who just completed a summer abroad college term in London. We booked the classic room which was perfect for us sharing a bed. Having been in London for a term, she thought the location couldn't have been better and was very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bety m
Couples
los angeles ca
Aug 5, 2010

it wasn't bad

they offer free breakfast which was very good,and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very good location

Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Simpsonville, SC
Aug 5, 2010

"Great location,Terrific staff!"

Couldn't ask for better location theaters a few blocks, Regent Street a few blocks Green Park, a few biocks!!Staff was the best helpful, hard working and cheerful!...The full English Breakfast was a wonderful start to each day. I would have given a 5 star rating but bath,thought spotless, was small enough to make it a bit hard to manage getting ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top