$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Cavendish London

4 stars
View map of 81 Jermyn Street, London, SW1Y 6JF

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cavendish London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Frequent Traveler
Chicago
Dec 26, 2012

Perfect Location for a Charles Dickens Christmas

Staff was very helpful and friendly. It was easy to get to most major attractions and shopping from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Nov 29, 2010

Very happy

Excellent location. Room rather small, but very comfortable and excellent bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
london visitor
Business
Cairo Egypt
Nov 2, 2010

Fun in London

Clean, conveniant, helpfull and quiet. Very close to the heart of London at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrenchieLady
Business
Dublin
Oct 13, 2010

Lovely and woudl recommend it!

Perfectly located and yet quiet. Room and bathroom were absolutely lovely but then quite small. We did not have suitcases and I guess if we had had, that would have been annoying. Perfect to go from Oxford St (high street shops)or Jermyn St (fancy designer) to restaurants. Covent Garden is around the corner... Check the map but note the hotel can also arrange shows for you. Watch out for cleaning ladies walking in your room even though it's not check out time yet?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, Delaware
Oct 13, 2010

Cavendish

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was good, and the rooms were clean and modern. I didn't like the fact that [...] made me pay in full in advance and that I didn't get my last night refunded when I had to change my reservation. I told the hotel and [...] way in advance about this. Of course, this is not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amastronardi[@]
Business
New Jersey USA
Oct 2, 2010

Terrific....

We thought London was a beautiful city...but the attention we were shown while staying at the Cavendish London exceeded our expectations....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid 30's couple
Business
Brasil
Sep 30, 2010

Prime location, nice staff

We will sure stay here again. Prime location - really prime, almost impossible to get a better one in London. Very kind and helpful staff, attentive to every small detail and concerned to make your stay a pleasant on (especially the conciergerie and the front desk). Room and bathroom are meticulously clean. Furniture and equipment are modern and brand new. The room is small as usual for European hotels(although not tiny), but the bathroom is quite spacious. We indeed enjoyed our stay at the Cavendish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Potomac, MD
Sep 7, 2010

A Wonderful Find!

Since The Cavendish is not a chain, we did not know what to expect. We were so pleasantly surprised in every respect. The location could not be better for a tourist in London. Everything was simply perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Sep 6, 2010

The Cavendish London

Very good hotel, excellent location, helpful staff. Loved everything about this hotel, room might be small for more then 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york city
Aug 29, 2010

Loved our hotel

The location was marvelous...We were near the underground, actually 2 stations were near us. Nevertheless, we were close enough to the major tourist sights thst we could easily walk. The hotel was clean, the rooms were well-equipped even a robe and slippers. The staff could not have been nicer. The only disappointment was when we ordered a hamburger from room service, it was not too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cavendish London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OppositeLock
Business
Sparta, WI
Aug 21, 2010

Outstanding Hotel

We stayed at the Cavendish for six days in August of 2010 from Sparta, Wisconsin, USA. What a wonderful hotel. The hotel is modern, ecologically "green" and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. (We were on the 14th floor above the street noise, so it was quiet.) The service was impeccable. The desk people were very helpful as were the concierge staff. Housecleaning did a great job. The location is also very good. It's an easy walk to Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace from Piccadilly/St. James. We walked to most of what we wanted to see and do, and took buses to the other places. One of the best things about the hotel is the restaurant. We ate dinner there the day of our arrival. The food was excellent. Well prepared, imaginative and the service was marvelous. Friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Moderate in price. (We later ate at a restaurant up the street that was much more pricey and nowhere near as good.) The breakfasts, which are included in the stay, are not to be missed. The buffet is very inclusive with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereals, mushrooms, juices, etc. All freshly prepared. If you don't see something you like, there is also a menu you can order from to have other items prepared for you. (At no charge.) We would eat a large, hearty breakfast and skip lunch. This saved us quite a bit of money over the week. Two caveats: 1. The standard rooms are small--much like a cruise ship room. But we chose to save the 20-Pounds per day to upgrade to a larger room. There was a small closet, and no dresser so I lived out of my suitcase while my wife used most of the closet. 2. The bed was just a tad short for anyone over six feet tall. (I'm 6'1".) My feet hung over by about an inch. So I slept on my side with my feet drawn up a little and I was fine. All-in-all, we were quite pleased with the Cavendish and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great base from which to explore London. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stoke up at breakfast in the hotel and skip lunch. The breakfast selection is extensive and quite good. Our dinner there on our arrival night was also excellent and competitively priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top