$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Academy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 21 Gower St, London, WC1E 6HG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Lovely!

I requested a room on the ground floor, not facing gower street (which can be a bit noisy). That's... See full review

  • west end girl
  • May 5, 2014
A Lovely Hotel!

The hotel (former residences that have been converted into a hotel) and the room were excellent.... See full review

  • Trae I Am
  • Aug 29, 2014
This excellent small boutique hotel is based in the centre of London, very close to the British Museum & all the attractions of the West End. It's an elegant 4 star townhouse where your comfort is paramount and the friendly staff will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Hotel's couches are for sinking into & the beds are designed to give you the soundest night's sleep. Outside you'll find a private garden, just for hotel residents, where flowers fill the generous space with color and delicate fragrance and a fishpond ripples softly in the quiet. It's hard to believe you're in the heart of London's West End, but you are. Please note that The Academy is a Grade II listed building, and, as such, does not have any elevators, and all rooms are only accessible by stairs. Should you require a room on the ground floor, please contact the hotel directly with your confirmation number.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Academy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Academy Hotel Rooms

Single Room
Room with Single bed wrapped in Egyptian cotton linen with duck down duvet. Beautifully restored Georgian decor. Bathrooms with Molton Brown toiletries. Complimentary business cards, shoe shine and newspaper. Mineral water on turn down, Private Hi-fi Stereo and music library, mini bar, satellite TV, air conditioning. Tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobe and slippers, in-room safe.
Double / Twin Room
Room with Double bed ot two Single beds wrapped in Egyptian cotton linen with duck down duvet. Comfortable bathrooms with Molton Brown toiletries. Complimentary business cards, shoe shine and newspaper. Mineral water on turn down, Private Hi-fi Stereo and music library, mini bar, satellite TV, air conditioning, Tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobe and slippers, in-room safe.
Suite
Spacious Suite with a comfortable seating area. Egyptian cotton sheets with duck down duvet on a king size bed. Stylish bathrooms with Molton Brown toiletries. Complimentary business cards, shoe shine and newspaper. Mineral water on turn down, Private Hi-fi Stereo and music library, mini bar, satellite TV, air conditioning, Nespresso Machine, bathrobe and slippers, in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Birkbeck: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.5 mi
  • Euston: 0.6 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.6 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.6 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.7 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.7 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.7 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Dining
24 Hour room service available and there are multiple choices of restaurants available in the area for dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Academy Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trae I Am
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 29, 2014

A Lovely Hotel!

The hotel (former residences that have been converted into a hotel) and the room were excellent. The room was quite lovely, very quiet, and very comfortable with a window that looked out to the garden. The garden areas were charming. The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the British Museum. As I walk a good deal and like to walk, I didn't mind the location; however, it is a bit of a distance from many of the sites as well as the theaters. There is a tube station a couple of blocks from the hotel for one who uses it. This was my first trip to London so I was very pleased that the hotel and my room were so pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
west end girl
Business
philadelphia, pa
May 5, 2014

Lovely!

I requested a room on the ground floor, not facing gower street (which can be a bit noisy). That's exactly what I got. The room was surprisingly large for London. Comfy bed and cushy pillows, big closet, and a fabulous bathroom. Shower/tub is quite narrow so larger/taller people might have trouble. Not much floor space but for one person it was more than enough. Zero view - but you don't go to London to sit in your room. The mini fridge is a very helpful amenity for storing your own water and snacks. Had breakfast a few times - just eggs and tea, expensive but good. Location is perfect. As a solo female traveler I feel quite comfortable in this area. Good deal, charming, would definitely consider staying here again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Planet Organic is just a few blocks away for a quick healthy bite or groceries. Discount with student ID as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr.Uncertain
Business
Orange County, California
Apr 15, 2013

Good location, upkeep not so much

If you are looking for British experience - than this is a good choice for you. Tiny rooms with 1950-ies style. Room 22 has spots on its ceiling, spots on wall paper, spots on the carpet. No spots on bed linen - phew! Free Wi-Fi is 0.3Mbps :))) And you need new password for each device each day! Location is great and seemingly safe. It is just few blocks from great taverns and pubs. It is 15 min from Euston station, 10 min from Tottenheim subway (Goodge St. was closed). You can just walk to British Museum and such. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thirty Something Gal
Business
New York, NY
Nov 18, 2012

Everything that Matters to Me!

Overall - Charming, Convenient, Clean, Good Service The Good -- Very charming hotel with very friendly staff who went out of their way to help me with taxis, restaurant reservations, my luggage. If I made a call to the front desk, they would address my needs within less than two minutes (unlike larger much more expensive hotels that respond within the hour if you are lucky.) Conveniently located near the tube so you don't have to pay for expensive taxis for your entire trip. In a very charming location with lots of brownstone buildings, in an academic location. Very clean room with comfortable bed and bedding -- both of which was important to me. The Bad - There are lots of stairs so if you don't like to walk up stairs, this is not the place for you. The rooms are also small so if you need something large and spacious, you are better off spending more money at a chain hotel. I also came back one night to the door closed and locked which scared me a bit -- it was after 1am so I was surprised and a little concerned to find the door locked. It was easily resolved when I rang the doorbell and one of the staff members opened the door for me. Just startled me a bit - they should leave a sign at the door when you walk in so their guests are notified in advance and aren't surprised like I was. Overall, great experience and was really satisfied and pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Euston Square tube station for getting around. It will cost only 25% of what you would spend on a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regev
Business
Israel
Nov 14, 2012

Great location, very old, small

The hotel is located very close to totenham court and oxford street, the room is small and except for the bed, there is not enough room to do anything. the building is old and doesnt have an elevator included, but for a quick visit in london for solo travelers you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tothenham street is very close having the top electorinc stores nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Study Abroad Mom
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Safe and Clean Single Room

Friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean. Bathroom was nice size. Hotel was in a safe and well lit area. I would stay at the Academy Hotel again. I was a bit disappointed that there was daytime construction going on at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lagos, Nigeria
Aug 10, 2011

Nice location, but not much of a hotel

The hotel has a reasonably nice reception and outdoor patio. Otherwise things are fairly nondescript. The single room was reasonably sized, but the bathroom wasn't particularly nice (no place to put soap or shampoo while you are taking a shower for example). The room was relatively drab and uninteresting. The air conditioning also didn't cool, which made the room fairly uncomfortable. The hotel was willing to switch me too a different room, but that meant repacking everything so I didn't. For a hotel that charges a healthy rate, though, these kinds of things shouldn't be issues. There was definitely not an atmosphere of excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Academy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 13, 2010

As advertised....

Had a 24-hour layover in London and chose the Academy. Room was quiet, comfortable, with all amenities promised. Library looking out on the garden (and complimentary Internet connection) a nice bonus--definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Riverfront Restaurant (next to the National Theatre)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top