$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
g4sandman
Business
Sheffield, UK
May 5, 2012

Too expensive

Booked this for a business trip because it was near the location I needed. Quite expensive considering the tiny room. The room itself couldn't have been more than 12 foot by 6 foot, with an inward facing window. The hotel was having an exterior facelift so was covered in scaffolding. Disappointing. The staff were great however, courteous and polite. Free wifi with the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRFZOOM
Business
Sebastopol, CA. USA
Jun 20, 2012

First time in London

I chose the Strand Palace Hotel for it's location and price. My stay of 4 nights were the last nights of a two week trip to the UK & Ireland. By this time I was traveling alone and wanted a Hotel's location to centered enough so I can walk to every attraction I had plan to see. The Strand provided this. The price was fair and as I went to the Hotel to check it out, I could see why. The Hotel was surrounded by scaffold and covered in shrink-wrap, so obviously there was no exterior view to be had. I spoke with a employee at the reception desk and requested a room on the highest floor possible with a possible interior view. I was told I could, the room would have a "courtyard view" . Upon my return and after checking in, receiving my room key and other instruction I went to my room and quickly discovered that the "courtyard view" was in reality a 7 story mechanical well offering up views of neighboring Hotel rooms. Disappointing, not for the lack of a view, but for the staff member not quite telling the truth. My stay there overall was pleasant, the rooms were cleaned by a great staff, customer service was very helpful and the location enabled me to get around London by foot. My only complaint is the fact that the room was very warm and very stuffy, due to the windows for reasons listed, only could be opened very little, providing no fresh air. The hotel did supply a fan which I used constantly. For a Hotel with "Palace" in it, should do better. Also, environmentally speaking the use of plastic wrapped plastic cups in lieu of re-usable glass containers is embarrassing. Plastic glasses are typical at Motel-6' not Hotels. I stayed in 7 different Hotels during my trip and the Strand Palace was the only one to do this. Lastly I asked a staff member if the Hotel provided a clothes drop-off site to be used by travelers who want to leave clothes behind for home-less shelters, the Hotel did not have one....maybe they can incorporate one. When we do return to London, a stay at the Strand Palace Hotel will be a possibility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pick a Hotel centralized and walk.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cathy London Fan
Business
Westchester, N Y
Oct 2, 2012

Great centrally Located Hotel

Perfectly adequate room with newly renovated bathroom. Helpful staff and great conseirge service. The location is the best part . On the Strand around the corner from Covent Garden, SoHo and the theaters. Very well priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
worldtravel12223366
Business
USA
Oct 29, 2012

Nice hotel, GREAT location!

Easy to get to from Heathrow. Small room. Would stay here again. Love Covent Garden area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roy Fellowes
Business
Bermuda
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent location

Good hotel in super central location. Single room very small but clean and comfortable. Great value as room was on special offer. Not sure I'd feel the same way paying full price. Would definitely consider this hotel again if needing a central hotel for a couple of nights and I was able to get another good room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Coventry Garden

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lackner family
Business
Bern, Switzerland
Oct 2, 2013

Location very central

The hotel was nice and the room was very clean. The hotel staff is not very friendly and the breakfast is average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfers
Business
England
Nov 20, 2013

Theatre break

Great location, very helpful staff. Cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaraunts, bars and theatres nearby

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ali M.
Business
Denver
Dec 10, 2013

Good location, THIN WALLS!!

I stayed at the Strand Palace for 3 nights in December and overall, it was a good experience. Breakfast was inclusive and they have a decent buffet, you may need to wait a little on weekends since the dining room is small, but within 15-20 mins, you'll sit down and enjoy a nice breakfast. The room itself was nice, clean, cozy, small! But if you want a bigger room, upgrade! The small room I've got didn't have A/C "wasn't needed" but the heater was more than efficient, and there was no fridge/cooler. The walls are thin!! I could hear the guests next to me what they were doing, or when someone was talking while walking through the aisle ... Location wise, you're close to Big Ben and the Parliament building, close to Leicester square and tons of shops and bars in Soho. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for a group of friends of single travelers for fun. If you're on business or a family, either upgrade your room or find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timbucktoo
Business
Chicago
Dec 11, 2013

Decent place; great location

This hotel was an ordinary place with ordinary amenities. The location was great and close to Parliament Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London Annually
Business
USA
May 27, 2014

great location - average experience

Paper thin walls. Only three quite small elevators for each large floor. Slow response to plumbing problem and unhelpful and curt telephone staff. Housekeeping staff excellent. Location saves time and transport money for theatre, museums. shopping, and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many West End theaters within easy and safe walk.

Back to menu Return to top