$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
92612
Business
Irvine CA
Nov 9, 2011

Great location - hard beds - crummy pillows

The individual room I had was lovely, small but more than adequate. Bathroom was perfect. The location is fabulous, just across from the Savoy and near theaters. I wanted walking distance to the British Museum so it had seemed worth the extra money. Unfortunately, I arrived with a terrible head cold and spent my time in bed. Yikes, I couldn't believe how hard the bed was and the pillows were thin and hard as well. Maybe it is American vs British standards, or that I was in an individual room. I ate at Johnson's, one of their restaurants, what a mistake. Overpriced and terrible food - the pan fried mullet was inedible and the 'specialty bread' was greasy with butter. The replacement was marginally better so I gave up. (Or maybe I just forgot how bad English 'cuisine' is - this wasn't my first time). The prepaid breakfast was expensive but excellent (after two sick days I could finally eat). 15.3 pound cab ride from Paddington Station, not the 10 pounds I was told. The cost was not justified for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
r888
Business
London, UK
Jan 3, 2012

nice location

the room was very noisy , like some machinery working out of the window.Windows did not open for ventilation as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SHOrbitz
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Just a place to sleep

The room was fine, but cramped and covering only the bare minimum; the main advantage of this hotel is the location, walking distance from so much of West End London. This is a hotel for people who aren't planning to spend much time in their hotel room, but want a convenient location for touristing around London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MomDina
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Good for the price, nice location, but ...

crazy smell of poison against cockroaches in the hall! You can barely hold your breath. I had really bad headache because of that. The hotel was getting ready for the Olympics I guess, was all covered by plastic, from outside it was just not looking good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pret a Manger is located in less 5 minutes walk. Small grocery stores are around. ALso number of theaters around, and great location for main historical landmarks of the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
g4sandman
Business
Sheffield, UK
May 5, 2012

Too expensive

Booked this for a business trip because it was near the location I needed. Quite expensive considering the tiny room. The room itself couldn't have been more than 12 foot by 6 foot, with an inward facing window. The hotel was having an exterior facelift so was covered in scaffolding. Disappointing. The staff were great however, courteous and polite. Free wifi with the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRFZOOM
Business
Sebastopol, CA. USA
Jun 20, 2012

First time in London

I chose the Strand Palace Hotel for it's location and price. My stay of 4 nights were the last nights of a two week trip to the UK & Ireland. By this time I was traveling alone and wanted a Hotel's location to centered enough so I can walk to every attraction I had plan to see. The Strand provided this. The price was fair and as I went to the Hotel to check it out, I could see why. The Hotel was surrounded by scaffold and covered in shrink-wrap, so obviously there was no exterior view to be had. I spoke with a employee at the reception desk and requested a room on the highest floor possible with a possible interior view. I was told I could, the room would have a "courtyard view" . Upon my return and after checking in, receiving my room key and other instruction I went to my room and quickly discovered that the "courtyard view" was in reality a 7 story mechanical well offering up views of neighboring Hotel rooms. Disappointing, not for the lack of a view, but for the staff member not quite telling the truth. My stay there overall was pleasant, the rooms were cleaned by a great staff, customer service was very helpful and the location enabled me to get around London by foot. My only complaint is the fact that the room was very warm and very stuffy, due to the windows for reasons listed, only could be opened very little, providing no fresh air. The hotel did supply a fan which I used constantly. For a Hotel with "Palace" in it, should do better. Also, environmentally speaking the use of plastic wrapped plastic cups in lieu of re-usable glass containers is embarrassing. Plastic glasses are typical at Motel-6' not Hotels. I stayed in 7 different Hotels during my trip and the Strand Palace was the only one to do this. Lastly I asked a staff member if the Hotel provided a clothes drop-off site to be used by travelers who want to leave clothes behind for home-less shelters, the Hotel did not have one....maybe they can incorporate one. When we do return to London, a stay at the Strand Palace Hotel will be a possibility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pick a Hotel centralized and walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cathy London Fan
Business
Westchester, N Y
Oct 2, 2012

Great centrally Located Hotel

Perfectly adequate room with newly renovated bathroom. Helpful staff and great conseirge service. The location is the best part . On the Strand around the corner from Covent Garden, SoHo and the theaters. Very well priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
worldtravel12223366
Business
USA
Oct 29, 2012

Nice hotel, GREAT location!

Easy to get to from Heathrow. Small room. Would stay here again. Love Covent Garden area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gustaloon
Business
Nassau, Bahamas
Dec 2, 2012

Overall

The location was fantastic for me. It's in the heart of all the happenings and just a short walk from the underground. I loved it. On the downside, when I walked into the room I thought it was a bit small. I know it was a single room but if I was a little taller my foot would have hang out of the bed, it was that short and I could not roll. I was forced to sleep in one position, not good at all. My first night I was awaken VERY! VERY! early to the sounds of construction hammering and power tools noises. This is after travelling in excess of 11 hours and when I complained about it they could not change my room because I was staying there for 11 days. I was not happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Punjab, an excellant Indian resturant, wonderful food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roy Fellowes
Business
Bermuda
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent location

Good hotel in super central location. Single room very small but clean and comfortable. Great value as room was on special offer. Not sure I'd feel the same way paying full price. Would definitely consider this hotel again if needing a central hotel for a couple of nights and I was able to get another good room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Coventry Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top