$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Strand Palace Hotel London

3 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
339 reviews
City Break

This was my 2nd stay at the Strand Palace Hotel and once again I was made welcome and very... See full review

  • Pinklady1967
  • Apr 23, 2014
Very GOOD

Highly Recommended, very clean and Kind, Trafalgar square at walking distance. See full review

  • gyckoo
  • Mar 29, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay and the on-site bar and restaurant serves various European dishes and a traditional British carvery. Wi-Fi is free of charge and available throughout the entire hotel.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The décor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities and 24 hour room service. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Hotel Map

51.5107 -0.1207
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Great Central Location close to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the River Thames.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
Hops
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Johnston's Brasserie
Serving modern international dishes, Johnston's Brasserie is a contemporary and stylish restaurant, it is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-theatre dinner or a business lunch. Opening Times: Monday - Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
May 10, 2010

good location - over priced room

the hotel was nice along with the staff. i booked a club room double that was smaller than the room my sister had - a club room single. the pictures shown on the website are not photos of the rooms they give people. woke up with a back ache from the mattress everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Covent Street Market very close to the hotel

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Germany
Apr 5, 2010

OK, but not great!

Staff was unfriendly and I was given one of the old, un-renovated rooms.Room was dusty and the bathroom floor was dirty when I arrived to my room. The single room was incredibly small and uncomfortable. I would not recommend it to anyone although the price was reasonable by London standards.I also would not stay in one of the single rooms again. Maybe one of the newer, renovated rooms, but I would be specific and request it beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Apr 4, 2010

Strand Palace Hotel

The room was not ready at checkin, i had to wait for more than 2 hours, also the room furniture is not as shown in pictures, it is old design, and very small rooms. No air-condition, no refrigerator. you pay more than you get. the best thing about the hotel is its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Germany
Apr 5, 2010

OK, but not great!

Staff was unfriendly and I was given one of the old, un-renovated rooms.Room was dusty and the bathroom floor was dirty when I arrived to my room. The single room was incredibly small and uncomfortable. I would not recommend it to anyone although the price was reasonable by London standards.I also would not stay in one of the single rooms again. Maybe one of the newer, renovated rooms, but I would be specific and request it beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jack Liczkowski
Poznan, Poland
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect location in the theater district but for food go somewhere else.

Excellent location, next to Savoy, Elevators (lifts) need replacement., as well as most of furnishings. But the price is good and for drinks one can go to American Bar in the Savoy or for a good dinner to close by Rules on Maiden St., the oldest restaurant in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rules

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d. wells
Denmark
Jan 3, 2014

Pricey and average

The hotel was nothing special. The rooms were clean, but very small. The price we paid was far too much for what they offered. Our main complaint was with the hotel's inability to professionally handle a problem that arose with our booking. We booked as a family and asked for twin beds in one room. They gave us one double bed and blamed it on the bookers, but then said they couldn't solve the problem. They also put us on different floors which made our stay less than satisfactory. The overall atmosphere wasn't very friendly. Our stay was great, but next time I'll choose a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester
Jun 13, 2011

Great location, but...

I previously stayed in this hotel 6 months ago, and found my outway-facing room relatively comfortable. The big selling point for me is the location, as your literally minutes away from Covent Garden, and just a short walk away from Charing Cross tube, so you can get all over London in no time. So when I stayed this time, I expected much of the same... wrong! The check-in staff are very courteous, and even found that I had stayed before, so I assumed that I would be given a room at the same standard (or hopefully better) - what a wrong assumption! I was given a room that faced inwards into one of the courtyards, and you could have raised tropical plants in the room it way that hot! I attempted to open the windows to get some fresh air circulating, but one of the windows would not open at all, and the other one only 3 inches. To make matters worse, the shutters that you close at night completely seal the room off from outside, so even if you do have the windows open, any air that might blow in is totally prevented by these wooden shutters. You are provided with a small desk fan, but the lack of plug sockets in the room means that you can't place them anywhere near the bed. Out of three nights, I only had one with any sleep, and that was due to a dose of Nytol! The rooms otherwise are modern, but very small. you may also have a problem in the showers if you are tall - I'm 6' 2" and I had to crouch in the shower as my head was against the ceiling (and also to dodge the extremely hot downlight that's in the shower cubicle!) Upon checkout, I discovered that if you complain about the windows, they will get housekeeping to 'adjust' the windows so that they can be opened further - although what they would do about the shutters I don't know. In brief, if you are after a hotel that is in the centre of it all, with good links to the rest of the city (and can get an outway-facing room), then the hotel is good value for money. However, if you get an inside room, then ask for a change of room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pcook
Virginia
Nov 10, 2010

Good tourist hotel in central location

This is a reasonably priced hotel which is centrally-located, with helpful, pleasant staff. A 10-minute walk from most West End theatres, so after a show you won't need to fight for scarce taxis with the other play-goers, nor take a late-night tube ride. Walk to museums, Westminster, Covent Garden and shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eco-man
switzerland
Jul 23, 2009

Nice Hotel, Location Great

Very nice people. Very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cramped on London
El Cerrito
Jul 25, 2010

Small rooms - no air - nothing special

Staff was fine. location is good if not very good. My first time to london and I hear all rooms are tiny so I find it difficult to compare. That said, this room did not have any air except for the ability to pry open a very old window to the alley. If we had been on the street it would have been noisey. The lobby guest computers were out of order - which is a pain if you don't have a labtop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top