$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roundtheworld21
Single
USA
May 13, 2013

Great location

The hotel isn't the fanciest, but they are making improvements. The room was clean and while somewhat small, it did the trick. The hotel is in a great location located close to tube and train stations, so it makes getting to and from either Heathrow or Gatwick very easy. The free wifi signal was also pretty strong, and I didn't have any issues surfing the net like I have in other hotels. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first timer in Europe
Single
St. Louis, MO
Jun 25, 2013

great value

Hotel is under renovations, so I don't know if I had an updated room or a to be updated room...probably already updated. Room was very nice...single with single bed, but room enough to move around without problem and a nice bathroom with full tub and shower. Everything was clean, bed comfortable, nice towels. Location was outstanding...could not have been better...within walking distance of many places to eat and theatres as well as some historical sites. Easy access to Piccadilly line to Heathrow. Very helpful staff (although buy tickets outside the hotel, they are cheaper). And with my discount code, the room was steal for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Purchase your sight seeing trips directly from tour companies...or at least check around. Hotel prices for tours (same companies) tended to be around 20% higher...which I learned after buying at the hotel and getting to the pick up point and finding out I could have saved a lot by purchasing direct.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mattgator
Single
Rochester, NY
Jun 23, 2013

Would stay here again when in London.

On the positive side: the staff were very attentive and helpful, the hotel restaurant had good food, and the location was fantastic! The hotel is within walking distance of many sights and just a few minutes from the tube. On the negative side: my room was quite small and had no window/view to speak of. Overall, the Strand Palace Hotel was a wonderful place to stay and I would like to return on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zerozeroufo
Single
San Francisco, CA
Jul 5, 2013

Great London Location

I had an 'Executive' room, which I think is moderately nicer than the normal rooms. The bed was comfortable, nothing extraordinary. The shower and bathroom were nice (except the one day they shut hot water off to work on the building's plumbing). Great shutters on the windows kept most of the street noise out and the room was pretty quiet for being on The Strand. Overall, I was pleased and will definitely try to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuboy
Sarasota, FL
Jun 6, 2013

Can't beat the location

Undergoing a facelift, this hotel has a super location, 15 minutes' walk to many of London's best cultural destinations such as Covent Garden and the British Museum. No need to take the Tube. Some great restaurants nearby too. My room was tiny but immaculate and quiet, which is what counts. Staff helpful. The concierge was nothing special, and supplied a wretched photocopied city map that was illegible. The overpriced breakfast looked tasty, but you are not allowed to order a la carte, and one cup of coffee cost me 3 pounds! Go out for breakfast! A lot of travelers have discovered this well-priced hotel, so it is pretty crowded, but I think it's a fine choice and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

So many good things within 15 mins. walk.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WestEnd Afficianado
Friends
St. Pete, FL USA
Jul 27, 2013

Location and price-- tops at Strand Palace

Cannot beat location and price for visit to London. Staff is friendly and helpful. Just that rooms are small, and of course not air conditioned... but who stays in the room? They do provide a fan. I have found my hotel in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to London for Theatre, it is at your feet from the Strand Palace... The National is right across the Waterloo Bridge.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Italophile
Single
Houston, TX
Aug 1, 2013

Location, location, location - and good people

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Close to major tube stops, you have easy access to the whole city. The hotel is large enough to accommodate groups but also gives good value to a solo traveler. Concierge services and several restaurant and lounge options means you can get a bite or advice at just about any time of the day or night. The amenities are food.mfor a traveler from the US, the lack of air conditioning in the rooms may be unusual, but it's common to many European hotels and England's summer "heat" isn't likely to be all that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Davis traveler
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Sep 4, 2013

Great value

The room was rather small and did not have an iron and ironing board, but the location could to have been better. It was a fantastic find and I would absolutely go back on my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is in extremely close proximity to the covent garden and soho night life. If night life is a high priority, this hotel is perfect!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Annually
Single
USA
Oct 9, 2013

Location, location, location

Location accounts for price higher than similar accommodations. Paper thin walls, poor lighting, and loud door closings, but otherwise comfortable and quite clean. Staff helpful but unobtrusive. Had fire evacuation in middle of the nights on a previous stay, but this time it was during the morning. No explanation as to cause for either fire. However, can't beat location for theatre and museums. Other nearby hotels were a lot more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BENTLEY DOCTOR
Business
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Oct 16, 2013

NICE PLACE, THIN WALLS

THE HOTEL IS NICE BUT THE WALLS ARE THIN. GOOD LOCATION CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top