$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCphoto
Business
Tomball TX
Jul 2, 2012

A quck getaway

I stopped in London for a few days.The Strand Hotel was extremely convenient to bus and tub transportations for everything I needed to do. The staff was outstanding. The room was smallish (as is normal for outside the US) but very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Jul 12, 2012

Great location at a fair price!

I'd stayed at the Strand Palace before, and came back for its proximity to Covent Garden/Trafalgar Square/the River/Soho and so on. The rooms are typical size for London, but well arranged and appointed. The hotel is very big, so your room may be a long walk from the lift; however, nothing ever felt crowded (lobby, lift, hallways). We had a corner room - great for quiet, but wish there had been a second window for more ventilation. The price jumps up and down at the Strand Palace, but if you search well and patiently, you can usually get a good, fair price...especially for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chor Bizarre...best and most unusual Indian restaurant in London. I go every trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarynS
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2012

Centralized London Hotel

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Strand Palace. The location couldn't have been more perfect for the sites we wanted to visit. We felt as though we were in the heart of the city with easy access the the Underground and major attractions. The check-in process was laborious to say the least. Once we finally got to an employee, it took 20 minutes for us to check-in. We had pre-paid for our room and there were no issues with our booking. Why it took this long is a mystery. Our room was larger than I expected after reading previous reviews. It really was a comfortable amount of space. Keep in mind, we had just completed several cruises with impossibly small cabins so our perspective may be a bit skewed. We did not have air conditioning - although a fan was provided it was quite warm. Our window faced an inward courtyard which provided no breeze to refresh the room. Additionally, the pillows were terrible. I resorted to using a neck pillow I purchased for the flight to sleep throughout the night. We ate at the hotel the first evening we were there (at the Johnston's Restaurant), the food was excellent and certainly something I would recommend if you're looking for a convenient place to eat. Overall we had a wonderful vacation and spent little time in the hotel. There wasn't much to do but sleep, but that was fine with us. The staff was friendly (albeit slow as described) but they always had smiles which created a welcoming environment. We would be glad to stay at the Strand Palace in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over 60
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Great Location

We were allowed to check in as soon as we arrived- on other days,I noticed that travellers were allowed to store their bags in a secure luggage room. The weather was really hot for London and there was no air conditioning in the room but a fan was provided which worked well. We used the restaurant and the Lounge in the hotel for entertaining, the service was a little slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Borough Market near Southwark is walking distance from this hotel. The third Saturday of the month, all the vendors show up and the food choices are endless.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student UNH
Business
Stamford CT
Sep 18, 2012

Great Location at unbeatable price

The rooms while traditionally small, were fine; recently refurbished so nice. Two points, though not a problem for us: Shower is low so anyone abobe 6-3 will bang his/her head in the ceiling(!) and the beds are of the hard variety. No AC, but a fan is provided. Location is hard to beat and we got a the rooms at a very nice price.Strongly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying Kangaroo
Business
San Diego
Sep 18, 2012

Central Hotel

So the room I was in was TINY!! But later found most single rooms in London are like this... room was always clean, and the showers are nice and hot.. you have to pay for internet and TV, so make sure you can work a deal when you book...No alarm clock, so you'll have to use your phone.. morning paper not complimentary, but the water bottle is...This hotel location is great, right across from the Savoy.. Covent Garden Markets are a few steps away, and you have your choice of Charing Cross or Covent Garden tube stations.. Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace (through St James Park) are only minutes away... Best way to get here from Heathrow is to get the Heathrow Express to Paddington, then get a cab to the hotel -its about 20 pounds...Don't go to Covent Garden tube stop.. if its anytime during the day, it will be busy and you'll have cobblestone to contend with!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure you try the paella in the markets... all services are a short 5 minute walk (tessco, banks, vodafone/orange/3, etc)...Hunt one of the numerous breakfast places/pubs outside the hotel - much better value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ILTT
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 6, 2012

Exploring London

Enjoyed my stay here. Great location. Clean rooms. Helpful staff. Walls are thin so rooms can be noisy. Beds are good but not great. Nice bathroom space. 24 hour grocery store across the street. Pharmacy and great eating establishments. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdwatcher
Business
Newcastle upon Tyne
Oct 13, 2012

Excellent mini-break

An impressive hotel, well located with excellent facilities. Staff were pleasant, helpful and professional. Room was small and basic but clean and comfortable. Bathroom facilites good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City girl from the sticks
Business
Norfolk England
Oct 25, 2012

Excellent weekend getaway.

Went to this Hotel for a weekend and was very pleased, staff were excellent and could not have asked for a better location. Overall fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emms
Business
Teesside
Nov 24, 2012

Great hotel

Convenient for tube and buses, great breakfast small but comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top