Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jura
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jan 18, 2014

Great location

Small but very clean room. Great location. I had little interaction with the staff but they were helpful Hotel does not have air conditioning which might be an issue in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbautraveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 27, 2014

Convenient Location... Good value

2 blocks from Trafalgar Square and near lots of tube stations. Very clean and nice decor, but the bed and pillow were hard. If you don't mind that, the value is terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roundtheworld21
Business
USA
Feb 12, 2014

3rd Stay at Strand Palace

The hotel is the perfect location and walkable to many attractions. I arrived in London early and was allowed or check in by 1 pm. The rooms are small, but modern and sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Covent Garden and Charing Cross stations are a short walk away, making getting to and from the hotel easy.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dancingzads
Business
NY
Mar 10, 2014

Perfect Location

Perfect location, close to everything. Friendly staff. Arrived at 8 am but check in wasn't until 3pm. Room was ready so they let me check in at 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Tsugaru Prof
Business
Japan
Mar 5, 2014

Business trip

Centrally located hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. A very large hotel busy with many customers. The room though had no view but at the price was not really expecting one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
les c
Business
ireland
Mar 9, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

Stayed here in Feburary for 5 nights.Nice comfortable hotel in a great location only a short walk from 3 tube stations and bus stops across the road.Room was small but comfortable,clean,well equipped exactly what I paid for.Overall great base for sightseeing, theatres and traveling around at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDude
Business
Maryland, USA
May 3, 2014

A Perfect Location, Almost Five Stars

As a single traveler and older person, I would heartily recommend the Strand Palace. It's location near Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens and local transportation options make it a perfect area for theatre-goers and people who like bus travel. Concierge, Sen, couldn't have been more thorough in changing Euros to Pounds, getting theatre tickets, strategizing about what type of travel pass I should buy, suggesting bus routes and helping me with change. Other staff members were fine, but Sen was outstanding. The free ATMs, bar, lounge area and full-service restaurant added greatly to the convenience of staying in this hotel. The room was a single and, albeit small, was more than adequate for one person. I loved the shutters on the windows. There was no bureau but the closet shelf and my suitcase were enough room. The raised bath tub could be a problem for people with climbing issues and there wasn't much counter space for personal items. Not a problem, but the hair dryer was located in a space in the desk where clothes could have lived. Although free wi-fi was great, I was bummed that TV was almost ₤20! Also, I brought the wrong electric adaptors and had to purchase (at ₤5 each) replacements. The NH Paseo del Prado in Madrid cheerfully lent them to me. Perhaps other people aren't so good about returning them? After I lost my magazine with the map, I was informed there were no others until the first of May. Since it was only 23 or 24 April, it was a disappointment and seemed strange. Most hotels do charge extra for breakfast and it's almost always much more expensive than small places, but I do wish it was included in the price of the room. One lift had intermittent problems during my stay. As there were 2 others, it wasn't terrible. I would have given Strand Palace Hotel 4 and a half stars above if that had been an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Single travelers can often get that last theatre ticket or restaurant table. I didn't know my daily schedule well enough to buy tickets in advance but was able to get same day tickets at the box offices of 2 theatres.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelamary
Business
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Jul 4, 2010

Great hotel, great location

I booked the Strand Palace because we were going to The Adelphi Theatre on our first evening and I googled for a hotel close by. The location could not have been better, as it was only a three minute walk to The Adelphi. In fact it was close to many theatres and only a five minute walk to Trafalgar Square, ten minutes to Leicester Square. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with a very nice entrance foyer and lounge and friendly staff on reception. Although we arrived more than an hour before the time for check-in, we were able to get our room immediately. With our booking we had a club room and full breakfast included, so it was excellent value for a hotel in the heart of London. The Carvery Restaurant was excellent. My husband has to follow a gluten and wheat-free diet and it was very easy for him to do so, as he could choose what he wanted from the carvery roasts and vegetables. Breakfast was very good, with an extensive selection of hot/cold buffet. The room was exceptionally clean and well appointed with a lovely ensuite bathroom. All in all we enjoyed our two night stay at The Strand Palace and definitely intend to go back there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to many theatres and attractions

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol
Apr 19, 2011

Good location, clean comfortable room

I just stayed for one night as I had a meeting about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. It had a nice en suite bathroom. I would certainly use the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is near the national gallery and there are some good quality restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harriesj
Business
Swansea
Oct 11, 2011

Lovely hotel - Very central

We stayed for a long weekend after our wedding. On check in we were upgraded to a bigger room which was lovely. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and I really cant find any fault. The location was perfect for us - 2 mins from Covent Garden, lots to see and do within walking distance. Couldnt fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top