$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
237 reviews
Single student

Rooms are comfortable and friendly staff. The localization is perfect, all important places are... See full review

  • Harlequin
  • Dec 4, 2014
Perfect for Individual traveller

Perfect for 1 person, close to tourist area and just one block from Covent Garden and walking... See full review

  • USCTraveler
  • Sep 29, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay. Dining options include on-site restaurants Carvery and Daawat. Other amenities include nine meeting rooms and property-wide Wi-Fi access.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The decor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, and tea and coffee making facilities. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30
Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
The Nook
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Daawat at Johnston's
Daawat is serving up authentic indian food menus. Dawaat has gained a reputation for authentic Indian food London specialities where the street food trend meets quality dining and first-class flavours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amuneek
Business
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
May 13, 2012

Dissapointed

The hotel looks good. Several problems arose though. I use crutches and a wheelchair and they kept me standing at check in for about 20 mins while they checked what room to give me. Once in the room, I needed to use an iron and board, it took 3 requests before I got it. I also had to ask twice for the tea and coffee to be replenished and even then they brought the wrong things. I was woken at 8 am by the housekeeping staff talking very loudly outside my room. The bed was rock hard. I have had better service and treatment from Travelodge and Premier Inn hotels. I WILL NOT be returning to The Strand Palace again, I will look for a different hotel for my next visit to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carmen1248
Business
San Carlos, CA
Jan 26, 2013

horrible hotel!

I'll try to keep this short, as I could go on and on about his horrible hotel: - ridiculously expensive, I paid $175 a night for a single room with a twin bed! - room is claustrophobic, it's incredibly small, as a fellow traveler called it, it's "a glorified broom closet" - view to the inner courtyard is appalling, all you see is mold and dirt - bathroom is clean, but tiny; if you're over 6ft tall, good luck fitting into the shower - sheets have holes in them, seriously?!? - you have to pay for TV and internet. My first time in a hotel where you have to pay for TV, and I'm not talking about pay-per-view, just regular TV. Normally I wouldn't care as I don't watch TV anyway, but it's so petty giving how much they charge per night. - when I was there (early November), there was construction work, so I couldn't sleep past 8-8:30 a.m. because of the noise. - rude staff at check-in, they demanded my passport! I am a citizen of an EU country, so I can travel with just my national ID card. - elevators take forever! I took the stairs down a few times as the wait got ridiculous. The only good thing about this place is the location, supposedly, it's pretty much right next to Trafalgar Square. I'm really annoyed with other people who reviewed this place and gave it 5 stars overall because of the location. Location is NOT everything! That's why you have multiple ratings to give, with location being just one of them. This way you are misleading fellow travelers into thinking is is a good hotel, when in fact it's horrible. It got so depressing to stay there overnight, that I spent two nights out of the 5 I had booked over at a friend's place out of London. To summarize it, if I hadn't booked an non-refundable stay, I would NOT have stayed here, and I'm definitely not staying here again, I would rather stay out of London and take the tube than set foot in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

high tea at Langham Hotel was absolutely great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carmen1248
Business
San Carlos, CA
May 7, 2013

horrible hotel, location is NOT everything!

yes, it is in the middle of everything you want to see in London, however: - incredibly overpriced: I paid $175/night for a glorified broom closet (if you're over 6 ft tall, you will hit the ceiling in the shower) - holes in sheets - there is construction so you cannot sleep beyond 8:30 am - rude staff - they will charge you for every single thing they can, e.g. TV, internet, local calls, holding your luggage at the front desk (first time I have heard of this at any hotel) - as depressing as can be I will NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmLev
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2013

Disappointing Experience

My friend and I had reserved a stay with the Hotel Stand Palace for six nights. When we arrived, we were told that we wouldn't be able to stay in the same room for all six nights, and that we'd have to switch rooms for our last night in the hotel. They then offered a room upgrade of 25 pounds per night to stay in a slightly larger room for all six nights. We decided to go for the upgrade for less hassle. The room was very spacious and had decent amenities (comfy bed, a couch, etc). The bathroom, however, was straight out of a time capsule from decades ago. The bathroom did not look or feel thoroughly cleaned, from the shower to the counter top to the toilet to the floors. It was really rather unpleasant. The hotel's location, on the other hand, was really great. Close proximity to plenty of great dining and shopping, and a large cluster of West End Theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The West End Musical "The Bodyguard" is playing just a few doors down from the hotel. Its a fantastic show - go see it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shelleyinseattle
Business
seattle, Washington
Jun 29, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Our room was in terrible shape, peeling wallpaper, stained toilet bowl, we were only there one night to see Lion King so we didn't complain. However we got up the next morning to NO HOT WATER!!!! They had a boiler problem, they offered to let us have a late check out but we didn't want to spend another minute here. They ended up giving us a free breakfast. Spoke to another couple they were in a remodeled room but it was extremely tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Globezipper
Business
Minnesota
Feb 16, 2010

Highly Overrated

This hotel is highly overrated and over-priced. After standing in line for a significant time, checked in to this "non-smoking" hotel and given room that reeked of smoke. After standing in line again, given another room that wasn't very clean, carpet thread-bare and tiny. Free internet service in the lobby turns out to be 30 minutes total. More problems when trying to use business center. "Fresh" towels were dirty and had hair (not mine) on them. Rooms, at least mine, badly in need of renovation. Only thing going for it is its location and history. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Covent Garden was a wonderful area full of shops, food and free entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester
Jun 13, 2011

Great location, but...

I previously stayed in this hotel 6 months ago, and found my outway-facing room relatively comfortable. The big selling point for me is the location, as your literally minutes away from Covent Garden, and just a short walk away from Charing Cross tube, so you can get all over London in no time. So when I stayed this time, I expected much of the same... wrong! The check-in staff are very courteous, and even found that I had stayed before, so I assumed that I would be given a room at the same standard (or hopefully better) - what a wrong assumption! I was given a room that faced inwards into one of the courtyards, and you could have raised tropical plants in the room it way that hot! I attempted to open the windows to get some fresh air circulating, but one of the windows would not open at all, and the other one only 3 inches. To make matters worse, the shutters that you close at night completely seal the room off from outside, so even if you do have the windows open, any air that might blow in is totally prevented by these wooden shutters. You are provided with a small desk fan, but the lack of plug sockets in the room means that you can't place them anywhere near the bed. Out of three nights, I only had one with any sleep, and that was due to a dose of Nytol! The rooms otherwise are modern, but very small. you may also have a problem in the showers if you are tall - I'm 6' 2" and I had to crouch in the shower as my head was against the ceiling (and also to dodge the extremely hot downlight that's in the shower cubicle!) Upon checkout, I discovered that if you complain about the windows, they will get housekeeping to 'adjust' the windows so that they can be opened further - although what they would do about the shutters I don't know. In brief, if you are after a hotel that is in the centre of it all, with good links to the rest of the city (and can get an outway-facing room), then the hotel is good value for money. However, if you get an inside room, then ask for a change of room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jack Liczkowski
Business
Poznan, Poland
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect location in the theater district but for food go somewhere else.

Excellent location, next to Savoy, Elevators (lifts) need replacement., as well as most of furnishings. But the price is good and for drinks one can go to American Bar in the Savoy or for a good dinner to close by Rules on Maiden St., the oldest restaurant in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rules

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d. wells
Business
Denmark
Jan 3, 2014

Pricey and average

The hotel was nothing special. The rooms were clean, but very small. The price we paid was far too much for what they offered. Our main complaint was with the hotel's inability to professionally handle a problem that arose with our booking. We booked as a family and asked for twin beds in one room. They gave us one double bed and blamed it on the bookers, but then said they couldn't solve the problem. They also put us on different floors which made our stay less than satisfactory. The overall atmosphere wasn't very friendly. Our stay was great, but next time I'll choose a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Apr 5, 2010

OK, but not great!

Staff was unfriendly and I was given one of the old, un-renovated rooms.Room was dusty and the bathroom floor was dirty when I arrived to my room. The single room was incredibly small and uncomfortable. I would not recommend it to anyone although the price was reasonable by London standards.I also would not stay in one of the single rooms again. Maybe one of the newer, renovated rooms, but I would be specific and request it beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top