$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Strand Palace Hotel London

3 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
339 reviews
City Break

This was my 2nd stay at the Strand Palace Hotel and once again I was made welcome and very... See full review

  • Pinklady1967
  • Apr 23, 2014
Very GOOD

Highly Recommended, very clean and Kind, Trafalgar square at walking distance. See full review

  • gyckoo
  • Mar 29, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay and the on-site bar and restaurant serves various European dishes and a traditional British carvery. Wi-Fi is free of charge and available throughout the entire hotel.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The décor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities and 24 hour room service. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Hotel Map

51.5107 -0.1207
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Great Central Location close to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the River Thames.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
Hops
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Johnston's Brasserie
Serving modern international dishes, Johnston's Brasserie is a contemporary and stylish restaurant, it is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-theatre dinner or a business lunch. Opening Times: Monday - Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarynS
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2012

Centralized London Hotel

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Strand Palace. The location couldn't have been more perfect for the sites we wanted to visit. We felt as though we were in the heart of the city with easy access the the Underground and major attractions. The check-in process was laborious to say the least. Once we finally got to an employee, it took 20 minutes for us to check-in. We had pre-paid for our room and there were no issues with our booking. Why it took this long is a mystery. Our room was larger than I expected after reading previous reviews. It really was a comfortable amount of space. Keep in mind, we had just completed several cruises with impossibly small cabins so our perspective may be a bit skewed. We did not have air conditioning - although a fan was provided it was quite warm. Our window faced an inward courtyard which provided no breeze to refresh the room. Additionally, the pillows were terrible. I resorted to using a neck pillow I purchased for the flight to sleep throughout the night. We ate at the hotel the first evening we were there (at the Johnston's Restaurant), the food was excellent and certainly something I would recommend if you're looking for a convenient place to eat. Overall we had a wonderful vacation and spent little time in the hotel. There wasn't much to do but sleep, but that was fine with us. The staff was friendly (albeit slow as described) but they always had smiles which created a welcoming environment. We would be glad to stay at the Strand Palace in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 5, 2010

Excellent location, very nice hotel

Very nice hotel. The bedroom was a bit small by American standards but conveniently furnished. The bathroom was a generous size. The best part for me, as a single woman traveler, was the location. It is near two tube stops, Covent Garden and Charing Cross (which is also a train station). I could get anywhere easily and felt perfectly safe walking to and from the hotel late in the evenings. There are many theaters and restaurants (all types) nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 11, 2010

Smack dab in the middle of everything.

I have been to London twice before and when I realized the closest Underground stop to this hotel was at the center of Trafalgar Square I was shocked. This may be a 100 year old hotel, but it was well kept, clean, and the staff was friendly. I stayed in the least expensive single room. It was definitely not huge, but had everything I needed with a full sized bathroom and a rather large tub. The location was fantastic. Close to the Underground, shopping, theaters, and the Soho gay area. I will definitely stay here next time. Very good price for central London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cat91
CA
Jan 23, 2010

nice hotel

Great location and very helpful staff. NO fitness center. Rooms small, but very clean.Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Apr 5, 2009

Incredible location and comfortable room

If you are looking for a room to rest your head in and not worry about paying for services you don't actually need, the Strand Palace Hotel is perfect. I really had no problems at all and was quite comfortable despite a small room. The location could NOT be more ideal and you will be within walking distance to most sites, and there are bus stops within site of the hotel entrance and multiple tube stations also close. The concierge service was extremely helpful and very nice! I would highly recommend this hotel to someone wanting to truly go see the city, not stay in the hotel all day, but I would recommend the Club Package, as it did seem to offer a few more services! Being a single traveler, it was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All sites that you really want to see are within walking distance. Buckingham Palace is just a few blocks away, along with Piccadilly Circus, British Museum, National Gallery and all the shopping you could want.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Dimas, California
Oct 1, 2009

Great Location!

Since we were only able to be in London for three days, the location of our hotel to the center of most activities was very important. The Strand is located only a five minute walk to Trafalger Square! And Covent Gardens is right behind the hotel! Although our room was small, the bathroom was a good size. All was clean and comfortable. We did not use other amenities at the hotel because of time but we did enjoy the Doorman! I would definitely recommend this hotel to other friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just behind the hotel is Covent Gardens. It is a must for shopping stalls, outdoor eating, music and just fun! Get there early to enjoy the markets.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLB LL
Georgetown, TX
Dec 22, 2013

Great Location and Place to Stay

It was great: super location, very comfortable, clean, good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roundtheworld21
USA
May 13, 2013

Great location

The hotel isn't the fanciest, but they are making improvements. The room was clean and while somewhat small, it did the trick. The hotel is in a great location located close to tube and train stations, so it makes getting to and from either Heathrow or Gatwick very easy. The free wifi signal was also pretty strong, and I didn't have any issues surfing the net like I have in other hotels. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDude
Maryland, USA
May 3, 2014

A Perfect Location, Almost Five Stars

As a single traveler and older person, I would heartily recommend the Strand Palace. It's location near Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens and local transportation options make it a perfect area for theatre-goers and people who like bus travel. Concierge, Sen, couldn't have been more thorough in changing Euros to Pounds, getting theatre tickets, strategizing about what type of travel pass I should buy, suggesting bus routes and helping me with change. Other staff members were fine, but Sen was outstanding. The free ATMs, bar, lounge area and full-service restaurant added greatly to the convenience of staying in this hotel. The room was a single and, albeit small, was more than adequate for one person. I loved the shutters on the windows. There was no bureau but the closet shelf and my suitcase were enough room. The raised bath tub could be a problem for people with climbing issues and there wasn't much counter space for personal items. Not a problem, but the hair dryer was located in a space in the desk where clothes could have lived. Although free wi-fi was great, I was bummed that TV was almost ₤20! Also, I brought the wrong electric adaptors and had to purchase (at ₤5 each) replacements. The NH Paseo del Prado in Madrid cheerfully lent them to me. Perhaps other people aren't so good about returning them? After I lost my magazine with the map, I was informed there were no others until the first of May. Since it was only 23 or 24 April, it was a disappointment and seemed strange. Most hotels do charge extra for breakfast and it's almost always much more expensive than small places, but I do wish it was included in the price of the room. One lift had intermittent problems during my stay. As there were 2 others, it wasn't terrible. I would have given Strand Palace Hotel 4 and a half stars above if that had been an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Single travelers can often get that last theatre ticket or restaurant table. I didn't know my daily schedule well enough to buy tickets in advance but was able to get same day tickets at the box offices of 2 theatres.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 17, 2009

Excellent location, great value

Fantastic, almost unbeatable, location with decent restaurant attached. This was a great value. Extremely small rooms by American standards but all that one needed and clean. Great water pressure and no wait for hot water. Much from the hotel is à la carte and pricey but would I would absolutely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You're a 10-min walk from dozens of West End theatres.

Back to menu Return to top