$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JulieHA
Seattle, WA
Nov 2, 2012

Holiday Break in London

Had a wonderful stay, have been at this hotel before and keep coming back. Location is great, rooms are clean and nights were quiet. Staff was also accomodating and friendly. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Liberty's for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony's Grampa
Business
Evanston, IL USA
Mar 17, 2013

A fine stay

This is not my first time staying at the Strand. It is very convenient to the theatres and several buses stop close by. The staff is always very helpful and I like having free internet service. I will probably always stay at the Strand because I have only had pleasant experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

And there are several buses if the weather bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt0101
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 4, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful!

Having stayed many times in London, I can say this was by far the best experience I have thus far had. From the doorman to the breakfast staff, they hotel truly make you feel at home. I will certainly be staying here again next time I come to London. For all that, it wasn't awfully expensive either. Additionally, this location was particularly convenient for me as I had an engagement at the High Court only a ten minute walk away. I would highly recommend the Strand Palace not only for its intrinsic comfort but also for its superb location right on on the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down Whitehall, perhaps a ten minute walk from the hotel is Old Shades, a lovely little pub/restaurant with table service. You may pay a little more there than at other places, £15 per entrée, but WELL worth it for the intimate atmosphere and lovely food and craft beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carmen1248
Business
San Carlos, CA
Jan 26, 2013

horrible hotel!

I'll try to keep this short, as I could go on and on about his horrible hotel: - ridiculously expensive, I paid $175 a night for a single room with a twin bed! - room is claustrophobic, it's incredibly small, as a fellow traveler called it, it's "a glorified broom closet" - view to the inner courtyard is appalling, all you see is mold and dirt - bathroom is clean, but tiny; if you're over 6ft tall, good luck fitting into the shower - sheets have holes in them, seriously?!? - you have to pay for TV and internet. My first time in a hotel where you have to pay for TV, and I'm not talking about pay-per-view, just regular TV. Normally I wouldn't care as I don't watch TV anyway, but it's so petty giving how much they charge per night. - when I was there (early November), there was construction work, so I couldn't sleep past 8-8:30 a.m. because of the noise. - rude staff at check-in, they demanded my passport! I am a citizen of an EU country, so I can travel with just my national ID card. - elevators take forever! I took the stairs down a few times as the wait got ridiculous. The only good thing about this place is the location, supposedly, it's pretty much right next to Trafalgar Square. I'm really annoyed with other people who reviewed this place and gave it 5 stars overall because of the location. Location is NOT everything! That's why you have multiple ratings to give, with location being just one of them. This way you are misleading fellow travelers into thinking is is a good hotel, when in fact it's horrible. It got so depressing to stay there overnight, that I spent two nights out of the 5 I had booked over at a friend's place out of London. To summarize it, if I hadn't booked an non-refundable stay, I would NOT have stayed here, and I'm definitely not staying here again, I would rather stay out of London and take the tube than set foot in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

high tea at Langham Hotel was absolutely great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yellow1265
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Dec 16, 2012

Great location, low price

Hotel is center of London. Location is very convenient for attraction. My room was small but it is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gustaloon
Business
Nassau, Bahamas
Dec 2, 2012

Overall

The location was fantastic for me. It's in the heart of all the happenings and just a short walk from the underground. I loved it. On the downside, when I walked into the room I thought it was a bit small. I know it was a single room but if I was a little taller my foot would have hang out of the bed, it was that short and I could not roll. I was forced to sleep in one position, not good at all. My first night I was awaken VERY! VERY! early to the sounds of construction hammering and power tools noises. This is after travelling in excess of 11 hours and when I complained about it they could not change my room because I was staying there for 11 days. I was not happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Punjab, an excellant Indian resturant, wonderful food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebbieK
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2012

In the center of it all

Can't beat the location right near Covent Garden. Our room was a bit snug, but very quiet, having been on the inner court side. Amenities were good, except perhaps the remote for the TV could haved used new batteries. Front desk staff very efficient and friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant, so cannot comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emms
Business
Teesside
Nov 24, 2012

Great hotel

Convenient for tube and buses, great breakfast small but comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Your Friendly Vacationer
Business
St Louis, USA
Nov 21, 2012

My kinda hotel

Great hotel!! Location unbeatable (esp. if you like theatre), price fabulous, room service excellent, bed nice and firm. The only possible drawback is that the room was quite small. Really only barely fit the bed and desk. But for this location at this price it was totally worth it!! Would definitely recommend and frequent again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the main theatres!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JulieHA
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 2, 2012

Holiday Break in London

Had a wonderful stay, have been at this hotel before and keep coming back. Location is great, rooms are clean and nights were quiet. Staff was also accomodating and friendly. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Liberty's for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
worldtravel12223366
Business
USA
Oct 29, 2012

Nice hotel, GREAT location!

Easy to get to from Heathrow. Small room. Would stay here again. Love Covent Garden area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top