$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
239 reviews
5*

absolute quality. can't fault one bit, and can't beat location. See full review

  • JCouto
  • Dec 21, 2014
Single student

Rooms are comfortable and friendly staff. The localization is perfect, all important places are... See full review

  • Harlequin
  • Dec 4, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay. Dining options include on-site restaurants Carvery and Daawat. Other amenities include nine meeting rooms and property-wide Wi-Fi access.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The decor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, and tea and coffee making facilities. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30
Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
The Nook
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Daawat at Johnston's
Daawat is serving up authentic indian food menus. Dawaat has gained a reputation for authentic Indian food London specialities where the street food trend meets quality dining and first-class flavours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over 60
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Great Location

We were allowed to check in as soon as we arrived- on other days,I noticed that travellers were allowed to store their bags in a secure luggage room. The weather was really hot for London and there was no air conditioning in the room but a fan was provided which worked well. We used the restaurant and the Lounge in the hotel for entertaining, the service was a little slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Borough Market near Southwark is walking distance from this hotel. The third Saturday of the month, all the vendors show up and the food choices are endless.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarynS
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2012

Centralized London Hotel

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Strand Palace. The location couldn't have been more perfect for the sites we wanted to visit. We felt as though we were in the heart of the city with easy access the the Underground and major attractions. The check-in process was laborious to say the least. Once we finally got to an employee, it took 20 minutes for us to check-in. We had pre-paid for our room and there were no issues with our booking. Why it took this long is a mystery. Our room was larger than I expected after reading previous reviews. It really was a comfortable amount of space. Keep in mind, we had just completed several cruises with impossibly small cabins so our perspective may be a bit skewed. We did not have air conditioning - although a fan was provided it was quite warm. Our window faced an inward courtyard which provided no breeze to refresh the room. Additionally, the pillows were terrible. I resorted to using a neck pillow I purchased for the flight to sleep throughout the night. We ate at the hotel the first evening we were there (at the Johnston's Restaurant), the food was excellent and certainly something I would recommend if you're looking for a convenient place to eat. Overall we had a wonderful vacation and spent little time in the hotel. There wasn't much to do but sleep, but that was fine with us. The staff was friendly (albeit slow as described) but they always had smiles which created a welcoming environment. We would be glad to stay at the Strand Palace in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Jul 12, 2012

Great location at a fair price!

I'd stayed at the Strand Palace before, and came back for its proximity to Covent Garden/Trafalgar Square/the River/Soho and so on. The rooms are typical size for London, but well arranged and appointed. The hotel is very big, so your room may be a long walk from the lift; however, nothing ever felt crowded (lobby, lift, hallways). We had a corner room - great for quiet, but wish there had been a second window for more ventilation. The price jumps up and down at the Strand Palace, but if you search well and patiently, you can usually get a good, fair price...especially for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chor Bizarre...best and most unusual Indian restaurant in London. I go every trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCphoto
Business
Tomball TX
Jul 2, 2012

A quck getaway

I stopped in London for a few days.The Strand Hotel was extremely convenient to bus and tub transportations for everything I needed to do. The staff was outstanding. The room was smallish (as is normal for outside the US) but very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jack Liczkowski
Business
Poznan, Poland
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect location in the theater district but for food go somewhere else.

Excellent location, next to Savoy, Elevators (lifts) need replacement., as well as most of furnishings. But the price is good and for drinks one can go to American Bar in the Savoy or for a good dinner to close by Rules on Maiden St., the oldest restaurant in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rules

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRFZOOM
Business
Sebastopol, CA. USA
Jun 20, 2012

First time in London

I chose the Strand Palace Hotel for it's location and price. My stay of 4 nights were the last nights of a two week trip to the UK & Ireland. By this time I was traveling alone and wanted a Hotel's location to centered enough so I can walk to every attraction I had plan to see. The Strand provided this. The price was fair and as I went to the Hotel to check it out, I could see why. The Hotel was surrounded by scaffold and covered in shrink-wrap, so obviously there was no exterior view to be had. I spoke with a employee at the reception desk and requested a room on the highest floor possible with a possible interior view. I was told I could, the room would have a "courtyard view" . Upon my return and after checking in, receiving my room key and other instruction I went to my room and quickly discovered that the "courtyard view" was in reality a 7 story mechanical well offering up views of neighboring Hotel rooms. Disappointing, not for the lack of a view, but for the staff member not quite telling the truth. My stay there overall was pleasant, the rooms were cleaned by a great staff, customer service was very helpful and the location enabled me to get around London by foot. My only complaint is the fact that the room was very warm and very stuffy, due to the windows for reasons listed, only could be opened very little, providing no fresh air. The hotel did supply a fan which I used constantly. For a Hotel with "Palace" in it, should do better. Also, environmentally speaking the use of plastic wrapped plastic cups in lieu of re-usable glass containers is embarrassing. Plastic glasses are typical at Motel-6' not Hotels. I stayed in 7 different Hotels during my trip and the Strand Palace was the only one to do this. Lastly I asked a staff member if the Hotel provided a clothes drop-off site to be used by travelers who want to leave clothes behind for home-less shelters, the Hotel did not have one....maybe they can incorporate one. When we do return to London, a stay at the Strand Palace Hotel will be a possibility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pick a Hotel centralized and walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trivia Buff
Business
Colorado
Jun 7, 2012

Fit the bill

Room small. Could easily hear occupants in next room. Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff very helpful, Location was geat! All in all, would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amuneek
Business
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
May 13, 2012

Dissapointed

The hotel looks good. Several problems arose though. I use crutches and a wheelchair and they kept me standing at check in for about 20 mins while they checked what room to give me. Once in the room, I needed to use an iron and board, it took 3 requests before I got it. I also had to ask twice for the tea and coffee to be replenished and even then they brought the wrong things. I was woken at 8 am by the housekeeping staff talking very loudly outside my room. The bed was rock hard. I have had better service and treatment from Travelodge and Premier Inn hotels. I WILL NOT be returning to The Strand Palace again, I will look for a different hotel for my next visit to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
g4sandman
Business
Sheffield, UK
May 5, 2012

Too expensive

Booked this for a business trip because it was near the location I needed. Quite expensive considering the tiny room. The room itself couldn't have been more than 12 foot by 6 foot, with an inward facing window. The hotel was having an exterior facelift so was covered in scaffolding. Disappointing. The staff were great however, courteous and polite. Free wifi with the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunchsr
Business
southern California
May 1, 2012

NIce place, great location

This hotel is in a great location, walking to distance to most attractions and theatres. Staff was friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. My only complaint of the place was that they charge a media charge to watch tv. This really should be included in the cost of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay centerally located so you are close to attractions and entertainment. It really saves time and you don't have to use transportation if you don't want to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top