$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Your Friendly Vacationer
St Louis, USA
Nov 21, 2012

My kinda hotel

Great hotel!! Location unbeatable (esp. if you like theatre), price fabulous, room service excellent, bed nice and firm. The only possible drawback is that the room was quite small. Really only barely fit the bed and desk. But for this location at this price it was totally worth it!! Would definitely recommend and frequent again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the main theatres!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Davis traveler
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 4, 2013

Great value

The room was rather small and did not have an iron and ironing board, but the location could to have been better. It was a fantastic find and I would absolutely go back on my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is in extremely close proximity to the covent garden and soho night life. If night life is a high priority, this hotel is perfect!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roy Fellowes
Business
Bermuda
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent location

Good hotel in super central location. Single room very small but clean and comfortable. Great value as room was on special offer. Not sure I'd feel the same way paying full price. Would definitely consider this hotel again if needing a central hotel for a couple of nights and I was able to get another good room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Coventry Garden

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Greta
Business
Swampscott MA
Aug 17, 2013

Great hotel for vacations and business

I have stayed here several times for both business trips and vacations. Excellent value, superb location, most helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying at the Strand Palace gives you an overwhelming number of amazing options for all levels of dining and entertainment on Covent Garden.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Italophile
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 1, 2013

Location, location, location - and good people

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Close to major tube stops, you have easy access to the whole city. The hotel is large enough to accommodate groups but also gives good value to a solo traveler. Concierge services and several restaurant and lounge options means you can get a bite or advice at just about any time of the day or night. The amenities are food.mfor a traveler from the US, the lack of air conditioning in the rooms may be unusual, but it's common to many European hotels and England's summer "heat" isn't likely to be all that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WestEnd Afficianado
Business
St. Pete, FL USA
Jul 27, 2013

Location and price-- tops at Strand Palace

Cannot beat location and price for visit to London. Staff is friendly and helpful. Just that rooms are small, and of course not air conditioned... but who stays in the room? They do provide a fan. I have found my hotel in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to London for Theatre, it is at your feet from the Strand Palace... The National is right across the Waterloo Bridge.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmLev
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2013

Disappointing Experience

My friend and I had reserved a stay with the Hotel Stand Palace for six nights. When we arrived, we were told that we wouldn't be able to stay in the same room for all six nights, and that we'd have to switch rooms for our last night in the hotel. They then offered a room upgrade of 25 pounds per night to stay in a slightly larger room for all six nights. We decided to go for the upgrade for less hassle. The room was very spacious and had decent amenities (comfy bed, a couch, etc). The bathroom, however, was straight out of a time capsule from decades ago. The bathroom did not look or feel thoroughly cleaned, from the shower to the counter top to the toilet to the floors. It was really rather unpleasant. The hotel's location, on the other hand, was really great. Close proximity to plenty of great dining and shopping, and a large cluster of West End Theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The West End Musical "The Bodyguard" is playing just a few doors down from the hotel. Its a fantastic show - go see it!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zerozeroufo
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 5, 2013

Great London Location

I had an 'Executive' room, which I think is moderately nicer than the normal rooms. The bed was comfortable, nothing extraordinary. The shower and bathroom were nice (except the one day they shut hot water off to work on the building's plumbing). Great shutters on the windows kept most of the street noise out and the room was pretty quiet for being on The Strand. Overall, I was pleased and will definitely try to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first timer in Europe
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 25, 2013

great value

Hotel is under renovations, so I don't know if I had an updated room or a to be updated room...probably already updated. Room was very nice...single with single bed, but room enough to move around without problem and a nice bathroom with full tub and shower. Everything was clean, bed comfortable, nice towels. Location was outstanding...could not have been better...within walking distance of many places to eat and theatres as well as some historical sites. Easy access to Piccadilly line to Heathrow. Very helpful staff (although buy tickets outside the hotel, they are cheaper). And with my discount code, the room was steal for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Purchase your sight seeing trips directly from tour companies...or at least check around. Hotel prices for tours (same companies) tended to be around 20% higher...which I learned after buying at the hotel and getting to the pick up point and finding out I could have saved a lot by purchasing direct.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BusinessTravelMom
Business
Boston, ma
Jun 23, 2013

Perfect city hotel

Great hotel right in the Strand. The room was tiny, but exactly what I expected for size when I booked it. Was actually much nicer and cleaner than I even expected. Nice little extras - free wifi, bottle of water in the room, cookies with in- room coffee & tea, etc. would definitely recommend and stay again. Only negative was slow elevators - but not to the extent that it was a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mattgator
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 23, 2013

Would stay here again when in London.

On the positive side: the staff were very attentive and helpful, the hotel restaurant had good food, and the location was fantastic! The hotel is within walking distance of many sights and just a few minutes from the tube. On the negative side: my room was quite small and had no window/view to speak of. Overall, the Strand Palace Hotel was a wonderful place to stay and I would like to return on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top