$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmLev
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2013

Disappointing Experience

My friend and I had reserved a stay with the Hotel Stand Palace for six nights. When we arrived, we were told that we wouldn't be able to stay in the same room for all six nights, and that we'd have to switch rooms for our last night in the hotel. They then offered a room upgrade of 25 pounds per night to stay in a slightly larger room for all six nights. We decided to go for the upgrade for less hassle. The room was very spacious and had decent amenities (comfy bed, a couch, etc). The bathroom, however, was straight out of a time capsule from decades ago. The bathroom did not look or feel thoroughly cleaned, from the shower to the counter top to the toilet to the floors. It was really rather unpleasant. The hotel's location, on the other hand, was really great. Close proximity to plenty of great dining and shopping, and a large cluster of West End Theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The West End Musical "The Bodyguard" is playing just a few doors down from the hotel. Its a fantastic show - go see it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zerozeroufo
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 5, 2013

Great London Location

I had an 'Executive' room, which I think is moderately nicer than the normal rooms. The bed was comfortable, nothing extraordinary. The shower and bathroom were nice (except the one day they shut hot water off to work on the building's plumbing). Great shutters on the windows kept most of the street noise out and the room was pretty quiet for being on The Strand. Overall, I was pleased and will definitely try to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first timer in Europe
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 25, 2013

great value

Hotel is under renovations, so I don't know if I had an updated room or a to be updated room...probably already updated. Room was very nice...single with single bed, but room enough to move around without problem and a nice bathroom with full tub and shower. Everything was clean, bed comfortable, nice towels. Location was outstanding...could not have been better...within walking distance of many places to eat and theatres as well as some historical sites. Easy access to Piccadilly line to Heathrow. Very helpful staff (although buy tickets outside the hotel, they are cheaper). And with my discount code, the room was steal for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Purchase your sight seeing trips directly from tour companies...or at least check around. Hotel prices for tours (same companies) tended to be around 20% higher...which I learned after buying at the hotel and getting to the pick up point and finding out I could have saved a lot by purchasing direct.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BusinessTravelMom
Business
Boston, ma
Jun 23, 2013

Perfect city hotel

Great hotel right in the Strand. The room was tiny, but exactly what I expected for size when I booked it. Was actually much nicer and cleaner than I even expected. Nice little extras - free wifi, bottle of water in the room, cookies with in- room coffee & tea, etc. would definitely recommend and stay again. Only negative was slow elevators - but not to the extent that it was a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mattgator
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 23, 2013

Would stay here again when in London.

On the positive side: the staff were very attentive and helpful, the hotel restaurant had good food, and the location was fantastic! The hotel is within walking distance of many sights and just a few minutes from the tube. On the negative side: my room was quite small and had no window/view to speak of. Overall, the Strand Palace Hotel was a wonderful place to stay and I would like to return on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuboy
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jun 6, 2013

Can't beat the location

Undergoing a facelift, this hotel has a super location, 15 minutes' walk to many of London's best cultural destinations such as Covent Garden and the British Museum. No need to take the Tube. Some great restaurants nearby too. My room was tiny but immaculate and quiet, which is what counts. Staff helpful. The concierge was nothing special, and supplied a wretched photocopied city map that was illegible. The overpriced breakfast looked tasty, but you are not allowed to order a la carte, and one cup of coffee cost me 3 pounds! Go out for breakfast! A lot of travelers have discovered this well-priced hotel, so it is pretty crowded, but I think it's a fine choice and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

So many good things within 15 mins. walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roundtheworld21
Business
USA
May 13, 2013

Great location

The hotel isn't the fanciest, but they are making improvements. The room was clean and while somewhat small, it did the trick. The hotel is in a great location located close to tube and train stations, so it makes getting to and from either Heathrow or Gatwick very easy. The free wifi signal was also pretty strong, and I didn't have any issues surfing the net like I have in other hotels. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carmen1248
Business
San Carlos, CA
May 7, 2013

horrible hotel, location is NOT everything!

yes, it is in the middle of everything you want to see in London, however: - incredibly overpriced: I paid $175/night for a glorified broom closet (if you're over 6 ft tall, you will hit the ceiling in the shower) - holes in sheets - there is construction so you cannot sleep beyond 8:30 am - rude staff - they will charge you for every single thing they can, e.g. TV, internet, local calls, holding your luggage at the front desk (first time I have heard of this at any hotel) - as depressing as can be I will NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ironandy
Business
Vilters, Switzerland
Apr 3, 2013

city trip

this is the perfect hotel for a city trip. very close too everything. rooms are clean and the staff is gentle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leicester Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hounslow Visitor
Business
Marina Del Rey, California
Mar 26, 2013

Excellent location; reasonable rates

I very much enjoyed staying at the Strand Palace for 8 nights recently. The hotel is a little dated -- the common areas look like they haven't changed much from the early 1970's. But the location is exceptional. If one is in London to enjoy the West End and take in some shows, there is no better place to stay. My room was London, like many in London, but it was well organized, had ample closet space, and a bathroom that was decent sized. Plus, the hotel had the things I was looking for: free WiFi, a safe, and a gym. I would stay at the Strand Palace again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top