$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Strand Palace Hotel London

3 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
229 reviews
Loved it, loved it, loved it :-)

The central location is absolutely second to none! I found the staff so courteous, friendly &... See full review

  • Super Cool Maro
  • Sep 2, 2014
Strand Palace Experience

This was a first-time experience. My single room was perfectly adequate for me. All the amenities... See full review

  • Animal Advocate
  • Aug 14, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay. Dining options include on-site restaurants Carvery and Daawat. Other amenities include nine meeting rooms and property-wide Wi-Fi access.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The decor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, and tea and coffee making facilities. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Hotel Map

51.5107 -0.1207
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Great Central Location close to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the River Thames.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
The Nook
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Daawat at Johnston's
Daawat is serving up authentic indian food menus. Dawaat has gained a reputation for authentic Indian food London specialities where the street food trend meets quality dining and first-class flavours.
The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roundtheworld21
USA
May 13, 2013

Great location

The hotel isn't the fanciest, but they are making improvements. The room was clean and while somewhat small, it did the trick. The hotel is in a great location located close to tube and train stations, so it makes getting to and from either Heathrow or Gatwick very easy. The free wifi signal was also pretty strong, and I didn't have any issues surfing the net like I have in other hotels. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carmen1248
San Carlos, CA
May 7, 2013

horrible hotel, location is NOT everything!

yes, it is in the middle of everything you want to see in London, however: - incredibly overpriced: I paid $175/night for a glorified broom closet (if you're over 6 ft tall, you will hit the ceiling in the shower) - holes in sheets - there is construction so you cannot sleep beyond 8:30 am - rude staff - they will charge you for every single thing they can, e.g. TV, internet, local calls, holding your luggage at the front desk (first time I have heard of this at any hotel) - as depressing as can be I will NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ironandy
Vilters, Switzerland
Apr 3, 2013

city trip

this is the perfect hotel for a city trip. very close too everything. rooms are clean and the staff is gentle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leicester Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hounslow Visitor
Marina Del Rey, California
Mar 26, 2013

Excellent location; reasonable rates

I very much enjoyed staying at the Strand Palace for 8 nights recently. The hotel is a little dated -- the common areas look like they haven't changed much from the early 1970's. But the location is exceptional. If one is in London to enjoy the West End and take in some shows, there is no better place to stay. My room was London, like many in London, but it was well organized, had ample closet space, and a bathroom that was decent sized. Plus, the hotel had the things I was looking for: free WiFi, a safe, and a gym. I would stay at the Strand Palace again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony's Grampa
Evanston, IL USA
Mar 17, 2013

A fine stay

This is not my first time staying at the Strand. It is very convenient to the theatres and several buses stop close by. The staff is always very helpful and I like having free internet service. I will probably always stay at the Strand because I have only had pleasant experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

And there are several buses if the weather bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt0101
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 4, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful!

Having stayed many times in London, I can say this was by far the best experience I have thus far had. From the doorman to the breakfast staff, they hotel truly make you feel at home. I will certainly be staying here again next time I come to London. For all that, it wasn't awfully expensive either. Additionally, this location was particularly convenient for me as I had an engagement at the High Court only a ten minute walk away. I would highly recommend the Strand Palace not only for its intrinsic comfort but also for its superb location right on on the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down Whitehall, perhaps a ten minute walk from the hotel is Old Shades, a lovely little pub/restaurant with table service. You may pay a little more there than at other places, £15 per entrée, but WELL worth it for the intimate atmosphere and lovely food and craft beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carmen1248
San Carlos, CA
Jan 26, 2013

horrible hotel!

I'll try to keep this short, as I could go on and on about his horrible hotel: - ridiculously expensive, I paid $175 a night for a single room with a twin bed! - room is claustrophobic, it's incredibly small, as a fellow traveler called it, it's "a glorified broom closet" - view to the inner courtyard is appalling, all you see is mold and dirt - bathroom is clean, but tiny; if you're over 6ft tall, good luck fitting into the shower - sheets have holes in them, seriously?!? - you have to pay for TV and internet. My first time in a hotel where you have to pay for TV, and I'm not talking about pay-per-view, just regular TV. Normally I wouldn't care as I don't watch TV anyway, but it's so petty giving how much they charge per night. - when I was there (early November), there was construction work, so I couldn't sleep past 8-8:30 a.m. because of the noise. - rude staff at check-in, they demanded my passport! I am a citizen of an EU country, so I can travel with just my national ID card. - elevators take forever! I took the stairs down a few times as the wait got ridiculous. The only good thing about this place is the location, supposedly, it's pretty much right next to Trafalgar Square. I'm really annoyed with other people who reviewed this place and gave it 5 stars overall because of the location. Location is NOT everything! That's why you have multiple ratings to give, with location being just one of them. This way you are misleading fellow travelers into thinking is is a good hotel, when in fact it's horrible. It got so depressing to stay there overnight, that I spent two nights out of the 5 I had booked over at a friend's place out of London. To summarize it, if I hadn't booked an non-refundable stay, I would NOT have stayed here, and I'm definitely not staying here again, I would rather stay out of London and take the tube than set foot in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

high tea at Langham Hotel was absolutely great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yellow1265
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Dec 16, 2012

Great location, low price

Hotel is center of London. Location is very convenient for attraction. My room was small but it is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gustaloon
Nassau, Bahamas
Dec 2, 2012

Overall

The location was fantastic for me. It's in the heart of all the happenings and just a short walk from the underground. I loved it. On the downside, when I walked into the room I thought it was a bit small. I know it was a single room but if I was a little taller my foot would have hang out of the bed, it was that short and I could not roll. I was forced to sleep in one position, not good at all. My first night I was awaken VERY! VERY! early to the sounds of construction hammering and power tools noises. This is after travelling in excess of 11 hours and when I complained about it they could not change my room because I was staying there for 11 days. I was not happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Punjab, an excellant Indian resturant, wonderful food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebbieK
New York, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2012

In the center of it all

Can't beat the location right near Covent Garden. Our room was a bit snug, but very quiet, having been on the inner court side. Amenities were good, except perhaps the remote for the TV could haved used new batteries. Front desk staff very efficient and friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant, so cannot comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search