$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
234 reviews
Single student

Rooms are comfortable and friendly staff. The localization is perfect, all important places are... See full review

  • Harlequin
  • Dec 4, 2014
Perfect for Individual traveller

Perfect for 1 person, close to tourist area and just one block from Covent Garden and walking... See full review

  • USCTraveler
  • Sep 29, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay. Dining options include on-site restaurants Carvery and Daawat. Other amenities include nine meeting rooms and property-wide Wi-Fi access.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The decor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, and tea and coffee making facilities. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.
Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym. Information: The price for breakfast directly paid in the restaurant is 18.95 per person and for Executive breakfast to 22.95 per person. If the upgrade is paid at reception desk, 12 will be charged.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
The Nook
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Daawat at Johnston's
Daawat is serving up authentic indian food menus. Dawaat has gained a reputation for authentic Indian food London specialities where the street food trend meets quality dining and first-class flavours.
The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. lawyer mom
Business
Smalltown, Michigan
Sep 16, 2009

Small town girl in the big city

I went to London to see my son graduate from the Univ. of London. He chose this hotel for me because it was located within walking distance of his school and major tourists attractions like, The Eye, Buckingham Palace and Westminster. There was great shopping and restaurants nearby. For those reasons, the hotel has a great location. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. They assisted me in arranging day trips to Paris and touring London. The hotel has an onsite restaurant that for a few extra bucks serves up a nice breakfast buffet. I enjoyed it for the most part except for the day I unknowingly put blood sausage in my mouth. That's not something we usually eat here in the Midwest. Being from a small town, I was not used to the nonstop 24 hour traffic noise and city lights. I guess I'm used to hearing frogs and seeing stars. I had difficulty sleeping most nights because of the traffic noise, people on the streets and lights from the adjacent building. Don't they sleep over there? So for me, it was a bad location. It was a great experience and as far as my European trips (this was my 4th trip) the hotel and its staff was pretty good. For the price, it was a good deal and a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes as most places you go to will require walking 20 minutes or more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelamary
Business
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Jul 4, 2010

Great hotel, great location

I booked the Strand Palace because we were going to The Adelphi Theatre on our first evening and I googled for a hotel close by. The location could not have been better, as it was only a three minute walk to The Adelphi. In fact it was close to many theatres and only a five minute walk to Trafalgar Square, ten minutes to Leicester Square. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with a very nice entrance foyer and lounge and friendly staff on reception. Although we arrived more than an hour before the time for check-in, we were able to get our room immediately. With our booking we had a club room and full breakfast included, so it was excellent value for a hotel in the heart of London. The Carvery Restaurant was excellent. My husband has to follow a gluten and wheat-free diet and it was very easy for him to do so, as he could choose what he wanted from the carvery roasts and vegetables. Breakfast was very good, with an extensive selection of hot/cold buffet. The room was exceptionally clean and well appointed with a lovely ensuite bathroom. All in all we enjoyed our two night stay at The Strand Palace and definitely intend to go back there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to many theatres and attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JV
Business
Calexico, CA
Jul 26, 2010

simple, nice and practical

I was staying there during the Farnborough Air Show 2010 and the hotel was very good, have a good restaurants, bar, service, basically good amenities but the only thing that I did not like was that the room was warm, these guys don't have A/C in rooms, I don't know if was only in my room, but was a little bit hot in the room and I asked about an extra fan and they told me that they couldn't give me an extra one. But in a general way the hotel was OK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have a great time and dinner at Convent Garden that is a couple blocks away from the Strand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
memphis connection
Business
Albacete, Spain
Aug 18, 2010

Ideal location for any activity

I no doubt recommend this hotel. Not only incredibly close to the city centre, also high quality in any aspect we mention; except for noise. Next time I am back to London I will try and accomodate at Strand Palace Hotel London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Best price for best location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Russia
Sep 29, 2010

Good quality for good price

Very good hotel with excellent location! Free internet (ask on reception). But room was expected more. In reality it's small, but nice and cosy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ames
Business
miami fl
Feb 7, 2011

Great

Great location. Felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

theatre shows nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol
Apr 19, 2011

Good location, clean comfortable room

I just stayed for one night as I had a meeting about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. It had a nice en suite bathroom. I would certainly use the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is near the national gallery and there are some good quality restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oldtimes3
Business
Chatsworth,CA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Great Place to Stay & See Everything on Foot

Able to check in early at no extra charge. Friendly staff able to answer questions. Room was small by American standards but probably normal in London. In-house dining for breakfast rather high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 10 minutes to Trafalger by foot and even shorter time from tube exit on ride from Heathrow. Overall in the middle of the live play district and near all major tourist spots all on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harriesj
Business
Swansea
Oct 11, 2011

Lovely hotel - Very central

We stayed for a long weekend after our wedding. On check in we were upgraded to a bigger room which was lovely. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and I really cant find any fault. The location was perfect for us - 2 mins from Covent Garden, lots to see and do within walking distance. Couldnt fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr RAL
Business
.............................N.J.
Oct 18, 2011

Great Location

Best point is the location. Can walk to many attractions and subway. Safe. Helpful staff. Clean rooms w/ new linens. Newly remodeled bathroom. Quiet. No bugs. In room coffee. Great value and quality in hotel buffett. Stayed for four nights. Overall very satisfied. Complaints: You only get a half hour a day of free internet connection. You have to pay for more time. The bedroom is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Flea market around the corner. Small supermarket down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top