$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramentan
Folsom, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Location!

Very nice hotel at an excellent location, just several minutes walk from Covent Garden. 5 minute walk from Trafalgar sq.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pwalsh
Business
Wexford, Ireland
Aug 27, 2014

Decent hotel, but prepare to wait for check in.

Everything that you would expect from a central London hotel, Good location, clean, rooms were comfortable but small and dark. Window couldn't open. Was the cheapest hotel i could find in the area but still very highly priced when you consider any other major city (New York, LA, Chicago, Dublin). The major grip was how long it took to check in spent about 45 mins with the desk staff checking in. It took her forever. And after the 45 mins she said the rooms were not ready yet and that we would have to wait. This was 2.10pm. So after sitting around for another 30 mins we were called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Garfunkles, only 2 mins walk on Strand street, great food at decent prices for breakfast, lunch and Dinner.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hammer S
Business
Cleveland
Aug 23, 2014

London trip

Hotel has a great location in the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graziellla
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Strand Palace - Great Hotel

I find the SP to be a terrific 3 Star hotel. If it were up to me I would rate if definitely 4. By US standards the rooms are smaller, but you are not in the US. I was in an Exective Single and it was spotless. The cleaning staff are always there and its slightly larger than a regular standard. The Receiption has lovely people who will try to accommodate whatever you request. As for the Concierge there are 3 who rotate and all are exemplary. The flood at the Indian Restaurant Daawat is very good and the 25% discount with the executive room is very nice. The Strand Carvery also has a lovely buffet. I am not a breakfast person so cannot comment on that but it must be good going by the other restaurants. As for location, you can get anywhere from here on the Strand. You area few minuets walk to the tube and train and there are many buses right outside your door Covent Garden is right behind you to go shopping and seeing the live performances.. Everything you need for a great stay. Also the noon checkout is a definite plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are like me and not a big breakfast eater, you can ro right downstars to their little storefront restaurant for a quick bite and not bother with having to get up to make breakfast.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Part time European
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 17, 2014

Weekend get away

I booked a spontaneous trip to London and found this place to be great. Totally affordable and centrally located, I would certainly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Animal Advocate
Business
Hagerstown, Maryland
Aug 14, 2014

Strand Palace Experience

This was a first-time experience. My single room was perfectly adequate for me. All the amenities were at hand. Staff was always helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Taxi availability was fine; location was convenient for walking to theatres and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mon Placir near Shaftsbury Theatre is very good. The concierge said he had no recommendations for dining in that area. We found Mon Placir many years ago and have always liked it.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaceNYC
Business
New York, New York
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value, Great Location

Overall a nice experience- but beware, not all rooms have A/C; not usually needed but hit a warm week. Breakfast is not special- if it's included in price that's fine, but not worth paying extra for it. Staff is accommodating , great central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time London Traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 30, 2014

Good location- friendly staff

I would recommend the Strand Palace, its conveniently located to public transportation & walking distance to Soho & Buckingham Palace walk provides a nice walking tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daveteas
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 19, 2014

Great Location

Very serviceable hotel with great location with easy access to the best sights in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lozzz1
Business
Jalisco, Mexico
Jul 14, 2014

Experience In London

I enjoy my first time in London, and I will come back because is an excellent option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jaocat travel bug
Business
Yakima, WA
Jun 19, 2014

High price for Low quality, but centrally located.

Extremely tight room without view and tub that didn't drain. Breakfast was good, but dinner at Strand Carvery was horrible - buffet food (dry meats and tasteless potatoes. Location is the best thing about this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

London EYE

Back to menu Return to top