$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramentan
Folsom, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Location!

Very nice hotel at an excellent location, just several minutes walk from Covent Garden. 5 minute walk from Trafalgar sq.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USCTraveler
Business
MEXICO Traveler
Sep 29, 2014

Perfect for Individual traveller

Perfect for 1 person, close to tourist area and just one block from Covent Garden and walking distance to underground station. Staff is great and very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron Vegas Visitor
Business
San Clemente, CA
Sep 18, 2014

Conveniently Small

Spent 6 days, Sept 2014 for business trip. Very good central location to Trafalgar Square, Theatre District. Close to shopping, plenty of restaurants. Staff very helpful with directions, recommendations. Hotel room was small, but adequate for a single traveler. Room had been updated with new bath features, carpeting, paint. Only real complaint was that it had no air conditioning. Weather was warm and humid and only air movement was a small fan provided. Ok for me, glad the wife wasn't there !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thursday nights, just 2 blocks behind hotel, there is a wonderful market square. Really good Jamie Oliver restaurant inside the 'market building'. On Thursday's in the plaza area there are food vendors serving great street food, smoked salmon, empanadas, etc. Really good, inexpensive.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Cool Maro
Business
Tipperary, Ireland
Sep 2, 2014

Loved it, loved it, loved it :-)

The central location is absolutely second to none! I found the staff so courteous, friendly & helpful. Nothing was too much bother. I will most definitely stay here again & I can't wait!!!! Roll on my next trip to London :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the heart of the West End so you've no excuse not to avail of one of London's 5 star musical or theatre productions.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Lily
Business
NYC
Sep 1, 2014

I will be coming back

For it being my first trip overseas, I didn't know what to expect. The entire experience was very good! The location of the hotel was perfect. I was able to walk to almost all locations to sightsee. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful with reccommendations to questions that I had and service was neat and quick. The hotel food was very good and the room was perfect for my stay. I will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dawaat restaurant had excellent Indian food and the staff are very attentive. The atmosphere is comfortable and you can enjoy your meal without a lot going on around you.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pwalsh
Business
Wexford, Ireland
Aug 27, 2014

Decent hotel, but prepare to wait for check in.

Everything that you would expect from a central London hotel, Good location, clean, rooms were comfortable but small and dark. Window couldn't open. Was the cheapest hotel i could find in the area but still very highly priced when you consider any other major city (New York, LA, Chicago, Dublin). The major grip was how long it took to check in spent about 45 mins with the desk staff checking in. It took her forever. And after the 45 mins she said the rooms were not ready yet and that we would have to wait. This was 2.10pm. So after sitting around for another 30 mins we were called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Garfunkles, only 2 mins walk on Strand street, great food at decent prices for breakfast, lunch and Dinner.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hammer S
Business
Cleveland
Aug 23, 2014

London trip

Hotel has a great location in the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graziellla
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Strand Palace - Great Hotel

I find the SP to be a terrific 3 Star hotel. If it were up to me I would rate if definitely 4. By US standards the rooms are smaller, but you are not in the US. I was in an Exective Single and it was spotless. The cleaning staff are always there and its slightly larger than a regular standard. The Receiption has lovely people who will try to accommodate whatever you request. As for the Concierge there are 3 who rotate and all are exemplary. The flood at the Indian Restaurant Daawat is very good and the 25% discount with the executive room is very nice. The Strand Carvery also has a lovely buffet. I am not a breakfast person so cannot comment on that but it must be good going by the other restaurants. As for location, you can get anywhere from here on the Strand. You area few minuets walk to the tube and train and there are many buses right outside your door Covent Garden is right behind you to go shopping and seeing the live performances.. Everything you need for a great stay. Also the noon checkout is a definite plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are like me and not a big breakfast eater, you can ro right downstars to their little storefront restaurant for a quick bite and not bother with having to get up to make breakfast.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Part time European
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 17, 2014

Weekend get away

I booked a spontaneous trip to London and found this place to be great. Totally affordable and centrally located, I would certainly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Animal Advocate
Business
Hagerstown, Maryland
Aug 14, 2014

Strand Palace Experience

This was a first-time experience. My single room was perfectly adequate for me. All the amenities were at hand. Staff was always helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Taxi availability was fine; location was convenient for walking to theatres and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mon Placir near Shaftsbury Theatre is very good. The concierge said he had no recommendations for dining in that area. We found Mon Placir many years ago and have always liked it.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaceNYC
Business
New York, New York
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value, Great Location

Overall a nice experience- but beware, not all rooms have A/C; not usually needed but hit a warm week. Breakfast is not special- if it's included in price that's fine, but not worth paying extra for it. Staff is accommodating , great central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top