$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Animal Advocate
Business
Hagerstown, Maryland
Aug 14, 2014

Strand Palace Experience

This was a first-time experience. My single room was perfectly adequate for me. All the amenities were at hand. Staff was always helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Taxi availability was fine; location was convenient for walking to theatres and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mon Placir near Shaftsbury Theatre is very good. The concierge said he had no recommendations for dining in that area. We found Mon Placir many years ago and have always liked it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaceNYC
Business
New York, New York
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value, Great Location

Overall a nice experience- but beware, not all rooms have A/C; not usually needed but hit a warm week. Breakfast is not special- if it's included in price that's fine, but not worth paying extra for it. Staff is accommodating , great central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time London Traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 30, 2014

Good location- friendly staff

I would recommend the Strand Palace, its conveniently located to public transportation & walking distance to Soho & Buckingham Palace walk provides a nice walking tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daveteas
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 19, 2014

Great Location

Very serviceable hotel with great location with easy access to the best sights in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lozzz1
Business
Jalisco, Mexico
Jul 14, 2014

Experience In London

I enjoy my first time in London, and I will come back because is an excellent option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jaocat travel bug
Business
Yakima, WA
Jun 19, 2014

High price for Low quality, but centrally located.

Extremely tight room without view and tub that didn't drain. Breakfast was good, but dinner at Strand Carvery was horrible - buffet food (dry meats and tasteless potatoes. Location is the best thing about this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

London EYE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raquel S
Business
Toronto
Jun 10, 2014

Easy Location

If you want an easy to find hotel, in a location near covent garden, near all the theatres and good walking anywhere, shopping and restaurants and underground, this was it. Its a very simple hotel with a great helpful staff. Clean and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London Annually
Business
USA
May 27, 2014

great location - average experience

Paper thin walls. Only three quite small elevators for each large floor. Slow response to plumbing problem and unhelpful and curt telephone staff. Housekeeping staff excellent. Location saves time and transport money for theatre, museums. shopping, and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many West End theaters within easy and safe walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDude
Business
Maryland, USA
May 3, 2014

A Perfect Location, Almost Five Stars

As a single traveler and older person, I would heartily recommend the Strand Palace. It's location near Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens and local transportation options make it a perfect area for theatre-goers and people who like bus travel. Concierge, Sen, couldn't have been more thorough in changing Euros to Pounds, getting theatre tickets, strategizing about what type of travel pass I should buy, suggesting bus routes and helping me with change. Other staff members were fine, but Sen was outstanding. The free ATMs, bar, lounge area and full-service restaurant added greatly to the convenience of staying in this hotel. The room was a single and, albeit small, was more than adequate for one person. I loved the shutters on the windows. There was no bureau but the closet shelf and my suitcase were enough room. The raised bath tub could be a problem for people with climbing issues and there wasn't much counter space for personal items. Not a problem, but the hair dryer was located in a space in the desk where clothes could have lived. Although free wi-fi was great, I was bummed that TV was almost ₤20! Also, I brought the wrong electric adaptors and had to purchase (at ₤5 each) replacements. The NH Paseo del Prado in Madrid cheerfully lent them to me. Perhaps other people aren't so good about returning them? After I lost my magazine with the map, I was informed there were no others until the first of May. Since it was only 23 or 24 April, it was a disappointment and seemed strange. Most hotels do charge extra for breakfast and it's almost always much more expensive than small places, but I do wish it was included in the price of the room. One lift had intermittent problems during my stay. As there were 2 others, it wasn't terrible. I would have given Strand Palace Hotel 4 and a half stars above if that had been an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Single travelers can often get that last theatre ticket or restaurant table. I didn't know my daily schedule well enough to buy tickets in advance but was able to get same day tickets at the box offices of 2 theatres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinklady1967
Business
Cambridge
Apr 23, 2014

City Break

This was my 2nd stay at the Strand Palace Hotel and once again I was made welcome and very comfortable. The location is so central and everything so easy to get to, making it ideal for sightseeing around London. I look forward to my next stay and would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top